adding a field that is underlined for text input



Bryce
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
I want to add a field that is underlined.

So the user can fill in a form and keep typing, and the underline will stay
there no matter how little or how much that person types on that line.

How can I do this?

Thanks

Bryce.

Anne Troy
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Hi, Bryce. The best way to do this is using table cells, IMHO. You can
select a form field and format it as underlined, but I like to put my
"label" in one table cell, with my form field in another. Then, you can put
a bottom border on that cell only.
*******************
~Anne Troy

www.OfficeArticles.com
www.MyExpertsOnline.com


"Bryce" <fukuzz@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:%23tD3$PqdFHA.584@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> I want to add a field that is underlined.
>
> So the user can fill in a form and keep typing, and the underline will
stay
> there no matter how little or how much that person types on that line.
>
> How can I do this?
>
> Thanks
>
> Bryce.
>
>

Charles Kenyon
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
http://www.word.mvps.org/FAQs/TblsFldsFms/LinesInForms.htm.

You might also want to look at what Word calls an "online form." Check this
in help. For more about online forms, follow the links at
http://addbalance.com/word/wordwebresources.htm#Forms or
http://word.mvps.org/FAQs/Customization/FillinTheBlanks.htm especially Dian
Chapman's series of articles.

Hope this helps,
--

Charles Kenyon

Word New User FAQ & Web Directory: http://addbalance.com/word

Intermediate User's Guide to Microsoft Word (supplemented version of
Microsoft's Legal Users' Guide) http://addbalance.com/usersguide

See also the MVP FAQ: http://www.mvps.org/word which is awesome!
--------- --------- --------- --------- --------- ---------
This message is posted to a newsgroup. Please post replies
and questions to the newsgroup so that others can learn
from my ignorance and your wisdom.
"Anne Troy" <ng@officearticles.com> wrote in message
news:4a027$42b88843$466eb880$21624@allthenewsgroups.com...
> Hi, Bryce. The best way to do this is using table cells, IMHO. You can
> select a form field and format it as underlined, but I like to put my
> "label" in one table cell, with my form field in another. Then, you can
> put
> a bottom border on that cell only.
> *******************
> ~Anne Troy
>
> www.OfficeArticles.com
> www.MyExpertsOnline.com
>
>
> "Bryce" <fukuzz@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:%23tD3$PqdFHA.584@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> I want to add a field that is underlined.
>>
>> So the user can fill in a form and keep typing, and the underline will
> stay
>> there no matter how little or how much that person types on that line.
>>
>> How can I do this?
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> Bryce.
>>
>>
>
>

Bryce
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Thanks!


"Anne Troy" <ng@officearticles.com> wrote in message
news:4a027$42b88843$466eb880$21624@allthenewsgroups.com...
> Hi, Bryce. The best way to do this is using table cells, IMHO. You can
> select a form field and format it as underlined, but I like to put my
> "label" in one table cell, with my form field in another. Then, you can
> put
> a bottom border on that cell only.
> *******************
> ~Anne Troy
>
> www.OfficeArticles.com
> www.MyExpertsOnline.com
>
>
> "Bryce" <fukuzz@hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:%23tD3$PqdFHA.584@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> I want to add a field that is underlined.
>>
>> So the user can fill in a form and keep typing, and the underline will
> stay
>> there no matter how little or how much that person types on that line.
>>
>> How can I do this?
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> Bryce.
>>
>>
>
>


adding a field that is underlined for text input