AutoText



Terry
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one (Please tell
me where may be better).

Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and Autotext.
Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some were 700+
characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully inserted
the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.

We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis. However, we
cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext. What
has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose all my
hair!!!

If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically entering
text using a code?

Many thanks

Terry

Margaret Aldis
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the content
first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText >
AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the AutoText.
The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and have never
tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I think.

As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not the
short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store the
AutoText in.

--
Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org



"Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one (Please
> tell
> me where may be better).
>
> Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and Autotext.
> Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some were
> 700+
> characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully inserted
> the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
> template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
>
> We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis. However, we
> cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext.
> What
> has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose all my
> hair!!!
>
> If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically entering
> text using a code?
>
> Many thanks
>
> Terry
>
>

Terry
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Margaret, thanks for replying.

We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext entries here'
part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it is going wrong - but
has definately worked previously. We then give this text a code (4 or 5
letters) using Templates & Add ins/organiser. This is what worked 2 years
ago (I think) on the same machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) - no
changes as far as I'm aware (may have downloaded an update). This original
template still works using the original autotext; however, trying to add a
new autotext entry does not.

Terry


"Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
content
> first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText >
> AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the
AutoText.
> The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and have
never
> tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I think.
>
> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not the
> short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store the
> AutoText in.
>
> --
> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>
>
>
> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> > Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one (Please
> > tell
> > me where may be better).
> >
> > Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
Autotext.
> > Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some were
> > 700+
> > characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
inserted
> > the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
> > template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
> >
> > We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis. However,
we
> > cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext.
> > What
> > has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose all
my
> > hair!!!
> >
> > If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
entering
> > text using a code?
> >
> > Many thanks
> >
> > Terry
> >
> >
>
>

d.libera@gmx.de
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Terry wrote:
>
> Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one (Please tell
> me where may be better).
>
> Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and Autotext.
> Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some were 700+
> characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully inserted
> the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
> template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
>
> We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis. However, we
> cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext. What
> has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose all my
> hair!!!
>
> If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically entering
> text using a code?
>
> Many thanks
>
> Terry

Graham Mayor
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Frankly I don't recall that method ever having worked, and I am not
surprised that the dialog box has a character limit - I am surprised it's as
big as 255 characters. I would have thought 30 would have been nearer the
mark :(

Type the text in the document - pages of it if you like - select the text
then ALT+F3. Type your autotext name in the box.

If you make a lot of use of autotext, then you might like to investigate
GhostTyper XML, which will work in all applications including Word - you can
even have two entries with the same name without conflict, or use an
assortment of data files for different tasks. I use it for storing web links
for reproduction here :)


--
<>>< ><<> ><<> <>>< ><<> <>>< <>><<>
Graham Mayor - Word MVP

My web site www.gmayor.com
Word MVP web site http://word.mvps.org
<>>< ><<> ><<> <>>< ><<> <>>< <>><<>




Terry wrote:
> Margaret, thanks for replying.
>
> We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext
> entries here' part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it
> is going wrong - but has definitely worked previously. We then give
> this text a code (4 or 5 letters) using Templates & Add
> ins/organiser. This is what worked 2 years ago (I think) on the same
> machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) - no changes as far as I'm
> aware (may have downloaded an update). This original template still
> works using the original autotext; however, trying to add a new
> autotext entry does not.
>
> Terry
>
>
> "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote
> in message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
>> content first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert >
>> AutoText > AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code)
>> for the AutoText. The content can be very long and complex (I don't
>> know limits and have never tripped over any) but the name you type
>> is limited to 255 chars I think.
>>
>> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not
>> the short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to
>> store the AutoText in.
>>
>> --
>> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
>> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
>> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>>
>>
>>
>> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
>> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>> Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one
>>> (Please tell
>>> me where may be better).
>>>
>>> Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
>>> Autotext. Sentences (from a different document) were added to
>>> autotext (some were 700+
>>> characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
>>> inserted the text into the table (of the template and 'new'
>>> documents). This template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
>>>
>>> We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis.
>>> However, we cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version)
>>> into autotext. What
>>> has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose
>>> all my hair!!!
>>>
>>> If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
>>> entering text using a code?
>>>
>>> Many thanks
>>>
>>> Terry

Margaret Aldis
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Hi Terry

You are entering the text of the AutoText in the wrong place - that field is
for the name of the AutoText and you can type your "code" in there
directly - no need to rename in Organizer. Do make sure you are saving in
the template though (select template name from Look in: dropdown.)

See my previous post for the correct order of work - type what you want in
the document, then select it, then open the dialog. What is probably
confusing you is that when you select ordinary text you will see the same
text in the Preview field (the content of the AutoText) and suggested as the
default name for the new entry.

--
Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org



"Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
news:Op5G3wSXFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Margaret, thanks for replying.
>
> We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext entries
> here'
> part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it is going wrong - but
> has definately worked previously. We then give this text a code (4 or 5
> letters) using Templates & Add ins/organiser. This is what worked 2 years
> ago (I think) on the same machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) - no
> changes as far as I'm aware (may have downloaded an update). This
> original
> template still works using the original autotext; however, trying to add a
> new autotext entry does not.
>
> Terry
>
>
> "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
> message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
> content
>> first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText >
>> AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the
> AutoText.
>> The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and have
> never
>> tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I think.
>>
>> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not the
>> short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store the
>> AutoText in.
>>
>> --
>> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
>> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
>> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>>
>>
>>
>> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
>> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> > Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one (Please
>> > tell
>> > me where may be better).
>> >
>> > Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
> Autotext.
>> > Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some were
>> > 700+
>> > characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
> inserted
>> > the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
>> > template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
>> >
>> > We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis. However,
> we
>> > cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext.
>> > What
>> > has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose all
> my
>> > hair!!!
>> >
>> > If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
> entering
>> > text using a code?
>> >
>> > Many thanks
>> >
>> > Terry
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>
>

Terry
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Many thanks Margaret & Graham

However, neither method work when the text (to be used for autotext) is in
another document.

Yes, I realise the text could be copied to the template & then turned into
autotext (& then deleted) as you suggest. But this way could easily lead to
mistakes; ultimately it is not for me but for several (not particularly
computer literate) users (my wife's colleagues at School) and the template
and the phrases need to be in separate documents. (But I guess that's what
we will have to do if there is no other straight forward way.)

Oddly, I am *sure* we did it from a separate document first time round
without the intervening paste into the actual template but direct into
autotext, somehow!

Regards

Terry


"Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
message news:OwtUzgTXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Hi Terry
>
> You are entering the text of the AutoText in the wrong place - that field
is
> for the name of the AutoText and you can type your "code" in there
> directly - no need to rename in Organizer. Do make sure you are saving in
> the template though (select template name from Look in: dropdown.)
>
> See my previous post for the correct order of work - type what you want in
> the document, then select it, then open the dialog. What is probably
> confusing you is that when you select ordinary text you will see the same
> text in the Preview field (the content of the AutoText) and suggested as
the
> default name for the new entry.
>
> --
> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>
>
>
> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:Op5G3wSXFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> > Margaret, thanks for replying.
> >
> > We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext entries
> > here'
> > part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it is going wrong -
but
> > has definately worked previously. We then give this text a code (4 or 5
> > letters) using Templates & Add ins/organiser. This is what worked 2
years
> > ago (I think) on the same machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) - no
> > changes as far as I'm aware (may have downloaded an update). This
> > original
> > template still works using the original autotext; however, trying to add
a
> > new autotext entry does not.
> >
> > Terry
> >
> >
> > "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
> > message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> >> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
> > content
> >> first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText >
> >> AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the
> > AutoText.
> >> The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and have
> > never
> >> tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I
think.
> >>
> >> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not
the
> >> short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store the
> >> AutoText in.
> >>
> >> --
> >> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
> >> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
> >> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
> >> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> >> > Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one
(Please
> >> > tell
> >> > me where may be better).
> >> >
> >> > Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
> > Autotext.
> >> > Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some
were
> >> > 700+
> >> > characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
> > inserted
> >> > the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
> >> > template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
> >> >
> >> > We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis.
However,
> > we
> >> > cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into autotext.
> >> > What
> >> > has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose
all
> > my
> >> > hair!!!
> >> >
> >> > If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
> > entering
> >> > text using a code?
> >> >
> >> > Many thanks
> >> >
> >> > Terry
> >> >
> >> >
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

Suzanne S. Barnhill
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
If the document is based on the template, then the template will be
available in the dropdown. Also, to add to what Graham and Margaret have
said, once you have selected the appropriate template in the "Look in"
dropdown in the AutoText dialog, it will remain active until changed, so you
can use the Alt+F3 shortcut to add AutoText entries. They will be saved in
the selected template until you return to the dialog and change the "Look
in" setting back to "All active templates" (and don't forget to do this or
you'll be wondering why you can't access the "standard" AutoText entries).

--
Suzanne S. Barnhill
Microsoft MVP (Word)
Words into Type
Fairhope, Alabama USA
Word MVP FAQ site: http://word.mvps.org
Email cannot be acknowledged; please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup so
all may benefit.

"Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
news:e4tXfvTXFHA.2348@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Many thanks Margaret & Graham
>
> However, neither method work when the text (to be used for autotext) is in
> another document.
>
> Yes, I realise the text could be copied to the template & then turned into
> autotext (& then deleted) as you suggest. But this way could easily lead
to
> mistakes; ultimately it is not for me but for several (not particularly
> computer literate) users (my wife's colleagues at School) and the template
> and the phrases need to be in separate documents. (But I guess that's what
> we will have to do if there is no other straight forward way.)
>
> Oddly, I am *sure* we did it from a separate document first time round
> without the intervening paste into the actual template but direct into
> autotext, somehow!
>
> Regards
>
> Terry
>
>
> "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
> message news:OwtUzgTXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > Hi Terry
> >
> > You are entering the text of the AutoText in the wrong place - that
field
> is
> > for the name of the AutoText and you can type your "code" in there
> > directly - no need to rename in Organizer. Do make sure you are saving
in
> > the template though (select template name from Look in: dropdown.)
> >
> > See my previous post for the correct order of work - type what you want
in
> > the document, then select it, then open the dialog. What is probably
> > confusing you is that when you select ordinary text you will see the
same
> > text in the Preview field (the content of the AutoText) and suggested as
> the
> > default name for the new entry.
> >
> > --
> > Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
> > Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
> > Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
> >
> >
> >
> > "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
> > news:Op5G3wSXFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> > > Margaret, thanks for replying.
> > >
> > > We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext entries
> > > here'
> > > part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it is going wrong -
> but
> > > has definately worked previously. We then give this text a code (4 or
5
> > > letters) using Templates & Add ins/organiser. This is what worked 2
> years
> > > ago (I think) on the same machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) -
no
> > > changes as far as I'm aware (may have downloaded an update). This
> > > original
> > > template still works using the original autotext; however, trying to
add
> a
> > > new autotext entry does not.
> > >
> > > Terry
> > >
> > >
> > > "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote
in
> > > message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > >> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
> > > content
> > >> first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText
>
> > >> AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the
> > > AutoText.
> > >> The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and
have
> > > never
> > >> tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I
> think.
> > >>
> > >> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not
> the
> > >> short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store
the
> > >> AutoText in.
> > >>
> > >> --
> > >> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
> > >> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
> > >> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
> > >>
> > >>
> > >>
> > >> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
> > >> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> > >> > Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one
> (Please
> > >> > tell
> > >> > me where may be better).
> > >> >
> > >> > Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
> > > Autotext.
> > >> > Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some
> were
> > >> > 700+
> > >> > characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
> > > inserted
> > >> > the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents).
This
> > >> > template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
> > >> >
> > >> > We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis.
> However,
> > > we
> > >> > cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into
autotext.
> > >> > What
> > >> > has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose
> all
> > > my
> > >> > hair!!!
> > >> >
> > >> > If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
> > > entering
> > >> > text using a code?
> > >> >
> > >> > Many thanks
> > >> >
> > >> > Terry
> > >> >
> > >> >
> > >>
> > >>
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>

Margaret Aldis
07-09-2005, 11:01 PM
Hi Terry

OK, given the new information here's what I think you might have done the
first time.

In the document(s) containing the original text, selected and made new
AutoTexts, probably using the default method and ending up with everything
in your Normal.dot with long names looking like the text itself.

Used Organizer to change the names *and* to copy across to the template.

Perhaps you'd find this safer and more direct, given that the documents
already exist. Do note that although you are keeping the phrases in separate
documents the AutoText won't update itself if you change the source
documents. (Actually you could if you wished build that from INCLUDETEXT
fields stored as AutoTexts, but I somehow think this is going to get way too
complicated ;-) )

--
Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org



"Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
news:e4tXfvTXFHA.2348@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Many thanks Margaret & Graham
>
> However, neither method work when the text (to be used for autotext) is in
> another document.
>
> Yes, I realise the text could be copied to the template & then turned into
> autotext (& then deleted) as you suggest. But this way could easily lead
> to
> mistakes; ultimately it is not for me but for several (not particularly
> computer literate) users (my wife's colleagues at School) and the template
> and the phrases need to be in separate documents. (But I guess that's what
> we will have to do if there is no other straight forward way.)
>
> Oddly, I am *sure* we did it from a separate document first time round
> without the intervening paste into the actual template but direct into
> autotext, somehow!
>
> Regards
>
> Terry
>
>
> "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote in
> message news:OwtUzgTXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> Hi Terry
>>
>> You are entering the text of the AutoText in the wrong place - that field
> is
>> for the name of the AutoText and you can type your "code" in there
>> directly - no need to rename in Organizer. Do make sure you are saving in
>> the template though (select template name from Look in: dropdown.)
>>
>> See my previous post for the correct order of work - type what you want
>> in
>> the document, then select it, then open the dialog. What is probably
>> confusing you is that when you select ordinary text you will see the same
>> text in the Preview field (the content of the AutoText) and suggested as
> the
>> default name for the new entry.
>>
>> --
>> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
>> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
>> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>>
>>
>>
>> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
>> news:Op5G3wSXFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> > Margaret, thanks for replying.
>> >
>> > We are entering the full autotext entry in the 'enter autotext entries
>> > here'
>> > part of the dialogue. I think it is at this point it is going wrong -
> but
>> > has definately worked previously. We then give this text a code (4 or
>> > 5
>> > letters) using Templates & Add ins/organiser. This is what worked 2
> years
>> > ago (I think) on the same machine & software (Win 98, Office 2000) - no
>> > changes as far as I'm aware (may have downloaded an update). This
>> > original
>> > template still works using the original autotext; however, trying to
>> > add
> a
>> > new autotext entry does not.
>> >
>> > Terry
>> >
>> >
>> > "Margaret Aldis" <Margaret.Aldis@mvps.(SpamStopper)org.invalid> wrote
>> > in
>> > message news:O284KXSXFHA.228@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> >> How are you "entering" the text? To add an AutoText, you select the
>> > content
>> >> first (in the document), open AutoText dialog with Insert > AutoText >
>> >> AutoText ..., then type in the name (your shorthand code) for the
>> > AutoText.
>> >> The content can be very long and complex (I don't know limits and have
>> > never
>> >> tripped over any) but the name you type is limited to 255 chars I
> think.
>> >>
>> >> As an aside, make sure also that you use the AutoText dialog and not
> the
>> >> short "New" dialog as you will need to select the template to store
>> >> the
>> >> AutoText in.
>> >>
>> >> --
>> >> Margaret Aldis - Microsoft Word MVP
>> >> Syntagma partnership site: http://www.syntagma.co.uk
>> >> Word MVP FAQ site: http://www.word.mvps.org
>> >>
>> >>
>> >>
>> >> "Terry" <terry@freeukisp.co.uk> wrote in message
>> >> news:uFoGyOSXFHA.3140@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> >> > Certainly not a new user but don't know where to post this one
> (Please
>> >> > tell
>> >> > me where may be better).
>> >> >
>> >> > Some time ago we prepared a Word 2000 template using a table and
>> > Autotext.
>> >> > Sentences (from a different document) were added to autotext (some
> were
>> >> > 700+
>> >> > characters) and each given a code. Typing the code successfully
>> > inserted
>> >> > the text into the table (of the template and 'new' documents). This
>> >> > template still works OK on Word 97, 2000, XP.
>> >> >
>> >> > We are now trying to set up new templates on the same basis.
> However,
>> > we
>> >> > cannot enter more than 255 characters (on any version) into
>> >> > autotext.
>> >> > What
>> >> > has gone wrong/are we doing differently. Please help before I lose
> all
>> > my
>> >> > hair!!!
>> >> >
>> >> > If the original was a 'quirk', any other ideas for automatically
>> > entering
>> >> > text using a code?
>> >> >
>> >> > Many thanks
>> >> >
>> >> > Terry
>> >> >
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >>
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>
>


AutoText