How do I get word to make hyperlinks that work



dnelson
07-10-2005, 12:00 AM
For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
link, I control click on the link and get the following error message

Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.

The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?

Charles Kenyon
07-10-2005, 12:00 AM
Because you are not connected to the Internet.
--
Charles Kenyon

Word New User FAQ & Web Directory: http://addbalance.com/word

Intermediate User's Guide to Microsoft Word (supplemented version of
Microsoft's Legal Users' Guide) http://addbalance.com/usersguide

See also the MVP FAQ: http://www.mvps.org/word which is awesome!
--------- --------- --------- --------- --------- ---------
This message is posted to a newsgroup. Please post replies
and questions to the newsgroup so that others can learn
from my ignorance and your wisdom.

"dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
> For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
> hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
> from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
> into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
> link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
>
> Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.
>
> The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
> and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?

JoAnn Paules [MSFT MVP]
07-10-2005, 12:00 AM
Try right-clicking on your hyperlink. Where is it looking for that URL?

--

JoAnn Paules
MVP Microsoft [Publisher]



"dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
> For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
> hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
> from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
> into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
> link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
>
> Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.
>
> The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
> and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?

Amedee Van Gasse
07-10-2005, 12:00 AM
Charles Kenyon shared this with us in microsoft.public.word.newusers:

> Because you are not connected to the Internet.

ASCII good question, get bad ANSI.

> > The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet
> > explorer and it goes directly there).

Check the properties of the hyperlink (right click)

--
Amedee Van Gasse using XanaNews 1.17.4.1
If it has an "X" in the name, it must be Linux?

TF
07-10-2005, 12:00 AM
Just as a test, try selecting and copying the URL from IE, then in Word use
Insert, Hyperlink (Ctrl+K) and paste the URL into the URL box (note: you
have to use the keyboard). Does that work?

--
Terry Farrell - Word MVP
http://word.mvps.org/

"dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
: For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
: hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
: from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
: into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
: link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
:
: Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.
:
: The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
: and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?

dnelson1
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
I tried your test. I copied the URL to Google from IE
(http://www.google.com). Didn't use the parenthesis. In a new word document,
I used Crtl+K and pasted the URL into the Address: box. Then I Crtl+click and
got same error message. I then went to right click on the hyperlink and chose
edit hyperlink. Typed google's URL directly in the address: box. checked to
see if it worked, no luck. Any other ideas?
dnelson

"TF" wrote:

> Just as a test, try selecting and copying the URL from IE, then in Word use
> Insert, Hyperlink (Ctrl+K) and paste the URL into the URL box (note: you
> have to use the keyboard). Does that work?
>
> --
> Terry Farrell - Word MVP
> http://word.mvps.org/
>
> "dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
> : For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
> : hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
> : from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
> : into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
> : link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
> :
> : Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.
> :
> : The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
> : and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?
>
>
>

dnelson1
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
Amedee,
I right clicked on the hyperlink to google, and chose open hyperlink and got
same error message. So, I tried right click, edit hyperlink and pasted the
URL directly from IE, no luck when I checked to see if it worked. I tried
edit hyperlink and directly typed the URL in, no luck. Any other ideas?

"Amedee Van Gasse" wrote:

> Charles Kenyon shared this with us in microsoft.public.word.newusers:
>
> > Because you are not connected to the Internet.
>
> ASCII good question, get bad ANSI.
>
> > > The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet
> > > explorer and it goes directly there).
>
> Check the properties of the hyperlink (right click)
>
> --
> Amedee Van Gasse using XanaNews 1.17.4.1
> If it has an "X" in the name, it must be Linux?
>

dnelson1
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
When I go to edit hyperlink I have the following:
Link to: Existing File or Web Page
Text to Display: Google
Address: http://www.google.com/

I do not change or select anything in the Look in:
since I don't want to look for the link on my computer but the internet

Do you see if I did anything wrong or missing?

"JoAnn Paules [MSFT MVP]" wrote:

> Try right-clicking on your hyperlink. Where is it looking for that URL?
>
> --
>
> JoAnn Paules
> MVP Microsoft [Publisher]
>
>
>
> "dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
> > For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
> > hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the url
> > from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically converted
> > into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check the
> > link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
> >
> > Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy server.
> >
> > The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet explorer
> > and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?
>
>
>

TF
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
Weird. I'm thinking about this...

tf

"dnelson1" <dnelson1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:698BD126-977A-4C77-96AF-FEA5631A67D0@microsoft.com...
:I tried your test. I copied the URL to Google from IE
: (http://www.google.com). Didn't use the parenthesis. In a new word
document,
: I used Crtl+K and pasted the URL into the Address: box. Then I Crtl+click
and
: got same error message. I then went to right click on the hyperlink and
chose
: edit hyperlink. Typed google's URL directly in the address: box. checked
to
: see if it worked, no luck. Any other ideas?
: dnelson
:
: "TF" wrote:
:
: > Just as a test, try selecting and copying the URL from IE, then in Word
use
: > Insert, Hyperlink (Ctrl+K) and paste the URL into the URL box (note: you
: > have to use the keyboard). Does that work?
: >
: > --
: > Terry Farrell - Word MVP
: > http://word.mvps.org/
: >
: > "dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
: > news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
: > : For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
: > : hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the
url
: > : from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically
converted
: > : into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check
the
: > : link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
: > :
: > : Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy
server.
: > :
: > : The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet
explorer
: > : and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?
: >
: >
: >

dnelson1
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
What is even more confusing is that I opened Excel and placed a hyperlink for
google in a cell and it worked fine

"TF" wrote:

> Weird. I'm thinking about this...
>
> tf
>
> "dnelson1" <dnelson1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:698BD126-977A-4C77-96AF-FEA5631A67D0@microsoft.com...
> :I tried your test. I copied the URL to Google from IE
> : (http://www.google.com). Didn't use the parenthesis. In a new word
> document,
> : I used Crtl+K and pasted the URL into the Address: box. Then I Crtl+click
> and
> : got same error message. I then went to right click on the hyperlink and
> chose
> : edit hyperlink. Typed google's URL directly in the address: box. checked
> to
> : see if it worked, no luck. Any other ideas?
> : dnelson
> :
> : "TF" wrote:
> :
> : > Just as a test, try selecting and copying the URL from IE, then in Word
> use
> : > Insert, Hyperlink (Ctrl+K) and paste the URL into the URL box (note: you
> : > have to use the keyboard). Does that work?
> : >
> : > --
> : > Terry Farrell - Word MVP
> : > http://word.mvps.org/
> : >
> : > "dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> : > news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
> : > : For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
> : > : hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the
> url
> : > : from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically
> converted
> : > : into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check
> the
> : > : link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
> : > :
> : > : Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy
> server.
> : > :
> : > : The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet
> explorer
> : > : and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?
> : >
> : >
> : >
>
>
>

TF
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
Well I really have no idea what is happening here. You may have to call
Microsoft and bug this issue. I've certainly not seen this particular
problem (though there are other issues with hyperlinks in 2003).

Terry

"TF" <terryfarrell%40%6d%73%6e%2ecom> wrote in message
news:eHrcNNnVFHA.1040@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
: Weird. I'm thinking about this...
:
: tf
:
: "dnelson1" <dnelson1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
: news:698BD126-977A-4C77-96AF-FEA5631A67D0@microsoft.com...
::I tried your test. I copied the URL to Google from IE
:: (http://www.google.com). Didn't use the parenthesis. In a new word
: document,
:: I used Crtl+K and pasted the URL into the Address: box. Then I Crtl+click
: and
:: got same error message. I then went to right click on the hyperlink and
: chose
:: edit hyperlink. Typed google's URL directly in the address: box. checked
: to
:: see if it worked, no luck. Any other ideas?
:: dnelson
::
:: "TF" wrote:
::
:: > Just as a test, try selecting and copying the URL from IE, then in Word
: use
:: > Insert, Hyperlink (Ctrl+K) and paste the URL into the URL box (note:
you
:: > have to use the keyboard). Does that work?
:: >
:: > --
:: > Terry Farrell - Word MVP
:: > http://word.mvps.org/
:: >
:: > "dnelson" <dnelson@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
:: > news:6F0E1543-A75C-462E-BA85-2A66DB3D4127@microsoft.com...
:: > : For a class I'm taking I have to create a word document that contains
:: > : hyperlinks to different web pages(hotlist). When I copy and paste the
: url
:: > : from internet explorerinto the word document it is automatically
: converted
:: > : into a hyperlink (underlined and blue). So far so good. Now to check
: the
:: > : link, I control click on the link and get the following error message
:: > :
:: > : Unable to open (site name). Cannot locate internet server or proxy
: server.
:: > :
:: > : The URL is correctly entered (I just paste it back into internet
: explorer
:: > : and it goes directly there). So why can't word find the web site?
:: >
:: >
:: >
:
:

Bob Buckland ?:-\)
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
Hi D.,

Are you using a Firewall product? If so, does
it have Word set up as allowed to access the Internet?
If not, you'll get that message.

Compare your firewall settings for Excel and Word.

=====
<<"dnelson1" <dnelson1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:A7065137-5648-47BA-B584-7B2874B81F0A@microsoft.com...
What is even more confusing is that I opened Excel and placed a hyperlink for
google in a cell and it worked fine >>
--
Let us know if this helped you,

Bob Buckland ?:-)
MS Office System Products MVP

*Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*

Office 2003 Editions explained
http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx

dnelson1
07-10-2005, 12:01 AM
Thanks Bob,
That was what was causing the error message. For some reason McAfee firewall
decided to block Word but not Excel (I never set the block). After unblocking
word, it works. Thanks again!

"Bob Buckland ?:-)" wrote:

> Hi D.,
>
> Are you using a Firewall product? If so, does
> it have Word set up as allowed to access the Internet?
> If not, you'll get that message.
>
> Compare your firewall settings for Excel and Word.
>
> =====
> <<"dnelson1" <dnelson1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:A7065137-5648-47BA-B584-7B2874B81F0A@microsoft.com...
> What is even more confusing is that I opened Excel and placed a hyperlink for
> google in a cell and it worked fine >>
> --
> Let us know if this helped you,
>
> Bob Buckland ?:-)
> MS Office System Products MVP
>
> *Courtesy is not expensive and can pay big dividends*
>
> Office 2003 Editions explained
> http://www.microsoft.com/uk/office/editions.mspx
>
>
>


How do I get word to make hyperlinks that work