Are these genuine Automatic update addresses?



AlphaStat3
07-09-2005, 11:42 PM
64.4.23.220 and 64.4.23.156

Anyone know whether these are genuwine windows update addresses?

i logged onto Windows (XP Pro) today and noticed my system make a connection
to this address and begin trasnfering data. Although i do have windowsupdate
turned on, a quick trace using Neotrace turns up with:

Name: Unknown
IP Address: 64.4.23.220
Location: San Francisco (37.778N, 122.417W)
Network: HOTMAIL
Registrant contact information is not available.

HOTMAIL network? i thought that was a bit odd so tried entering the address
into Internet Explorer and it came up with:

"[Error number: 0x800C0002]
Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested
page. Try refreshing the page, clearing your Internet Explorer Temporary
Internet Files.....etc etc"

On tracing windowsupdate.microsoft.com, i get:

Name: windowsupdate.microsoft.com
IP Address: 207.46.205.190
Location: Seattle (47.611N, 122.333W)
Network: MICROSOFT-GLOBAL-NET
See Registrant Pane for registrant contact information.


Seems a kind of odd to me. Can anyone shed some light on this?


--
5 foot 3 at 80 kay-gee; If I tripped over I'd be on a roll!


Are these genuine Automatic update addresses?