Automatic update or Automatic fake?



SoZay
07-09-2005, 11:42 PM
64.4.23.220 and 64.4.23.156 addreses fake?
Anyone know whether these are genuine windows update addresses?

i logged onto Windows (XP Pro) today and noticed my system make a connection
to this address and began trasnfering data. Although i do have windowsupdate
turned on, a quick trace turns up with:
-----------
Name: Unknown
IP Address: 64.4.23.220
Location: San Francisco (37.778N, 122.417W)
Network: HOTMAIL
Registrant contact information is not available.
----------
HOTMAIL network? i thought that was a bit odd so tried entering the address
into Internet Explorer and it came up with:

"[Error number: 0x800C0002]
Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested
page. Try refreshing the page, clearing your Internet Explorer Temporary
Internet Files.....etc etc"

On tracing windowsupdate.microsoft.com, i got:
---------
Name: windowsupdate.microsoft.com
IP Address: 207.46.205.190
Location: Seattle (47.611N, 122.333W)
Network: MICROSOFT-GLOBAL-NET
See Registrant Pane for registrant contact information.
---------
Seems a bit odd to me. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Unk
07-09-2005, 11:42 PM
On Thu, 16 Jun 2005 09:34:10 -0700, "SoZay" <trueblissfantasy@h0tm@il.com> wrote:

>64.4.23.220 and 64.4.23.156 addreses fake?
>Anyone know whether these are genuine windows update addresses?
>
>i logged onto Windows (XP Pro) today and noticed my system make a connection
>to this address and began trasnfering data. Although i do have windowsupdate
>turned on, a quick trace turns up with:
>-----------
>Name: Unknown
>IP Address: 64.4.23.220
>Location: San Francisco (37.778N, 122.417W)
>Network: HOTMAIL
>Registrant contact information is not available.
>----------
>HOTMAIL network? i thought that was a bit odd so tried entering the address
>into Internet Explorer and it came up with:
>
>"[Error number: 0x800C0002]
>Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested
>page. Try refreshing the page, clearing your Internet Explorer Temporary
>Internet Files.....etc etc"
>
>On tracing windowsupdate.microsoft.com, i got:
>---------
>Name: windowsupdate.microsoft.com
>IP Address: 207.46.205.190
>Location: Seattle (47.611N, 122.333W)
>Network: MICROSOFT-GLOBAL-NET
>See Registrant Pane for registrant contact information.
>---------
>Seems a bit odd to me. Can anyone shed some light on this?


This is a link to a small FREE program by McAfee Anti-virus named Stinger.
It will scan your system for 53 known viruses and trojans and repair them.
You don't need McAfee anti-virus installed on your computer... this is a
stand alone program. http://vil.nai.com/vil/stinger/ or
http://us.mcafee.com/virusInfo/default.asp?id=stinger
Direct download: http://download.nai.com/products/mcafee-avert/stinger.exe

Microsoft provides free anti-virus software that can be used for 1 year.
http://www.my-etrust.com/microsoft/


Free online virus scanners
http://housecall.antivirus.com/
http://www3.ca.com/virusinfo/virusscan.aspx
http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/default.asp
http://security.norton.com/default.asp?langid=us&venid=sym
http://security2.norton.com/us/home.asp
http://www.freedom.net/viruscenter/onlineviruscheck.html
http://www.pandasoftware.com/activescan/
http://www.dials.ru/english/www_av/
http://www.kaspersky.com/remoteviruschk.html
http://www.ravantivirus.com/scan/


Automatic update or Automatic fake?