Remote poroblem



Bruce
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
(I am trying to figure out how to put Microsoft office on my sons computer
from mine. How do I install it, I moved all the files over with an external
HDD. I am hooked up remotely to it. Is there something I am missing, I cant
see a setup file
Thanks for any help
Bruce

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Hi Bruce,

The program has to be installed from the original installation media, simply
copying over the program folder from an existing installation is not going
to work. The install routine creates needed registry entries (sometimes
there are hundreds), and places supporting files in the various system
folders. The only way this can be done is with the install disk.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Bruce" <blaray@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:eaEAg%23FWFHA.376@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> (I am trying to figure out how to put Microsoft office on my sons computer
> from mine. How do I install it, I moved all the files over with an
> external HDD. I am hooked up remotely to it. Is there something I am
> missing, I cant see a setup file
> Thanks for any help
> Bruce
>

Sam Tsang
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Well, simple copy all office files will not work out. You should use
Microsoft Office CD to do the installation instead. Also, if you should
uninstall your Microsoft Office from your computer after successful
installing Microsoft Office to your son's PC.

"Bruce" wrote:

> (I am trying to figure out how to put Microsoft office on my sons computer
> from mine. How do I install it, I moved all the files over with an external
> HDD. I am hooked up remotely to it. Is there something I am missing, I cant
> see a setup file
> Thanks for any help
> Bruce
>
>
>


Remote poroblem