wuauclt.exe flaws



William
07-09-2005, 11:36 PM
Hello all...

I have a Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition system set up to provide
PC-only programs over Terminal Services to a group of Macintosh users. The
move to Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 was recently made in an effort to
keep this computer up to date.

Functionally, everything has been great so far. All of the applications have
worked with little or no changes and very little additional user education on
the changes have been needed.

Anyway, today I elected to apply an update for the Windows Installer 3.1 to
this system. This update mentioned that I might need to reboot my computer
for it to take effect and this much was the case. This much was not a problem.

However, I ran into trouble after the update. Apparently the updated
wuauclt.exe program behaves just as is does on Windows XP Service Pack 2 and
periodically posts a notification to the screen stating that a reboot is
required. I find this irritating and unnecessary and I would like a way to
turn this off permanently! Even then it isn't such a problem for the few
users with admin rights on the system. They've been told to ignore it until a
time to reboot can be scheduled.

The serious bug comes in the form of regular users (members of the Remote
Desktop Users group) getting this notice and being unable to do anything with
it at all. Both buttons on the dialog were greyed out as was the "X" button
at the upper right of the dialog.

If anyone can advise a way in the meantime to turn this notice off, I would
be really happy to know about it.

Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can offer.

William

Israel Disser
07-09-2005, 11:38 PM
"=?Utf-8?B?V2lsbGlhbQ==?=" <William@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
news:0E8043E5-C54E-4F4B-BE34-2AE17B74ECED@microsoft.com:

> Hello all...
>
> I have a Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition system set up to
> provide PC-only programs over Terminal Services to a group of
> Macintosh users. The move to Windows Server 2003 Service Pack 1 was
> recently made in an effort to keep this computer up to date.
>
> Functionally, everything has been great so far. All of the
> applications have worked with little or no changes and very little
> additional user education on the changes have been needed.
>
> Anyway, today I elected to apply an update for the Windows Installer
> 3.1 to this system. This update mentioned that I might need to reboot
> my computer for it to take effect and this much was the case. This
> much was not a problem.
>
> However, I ran into trouble after the update. Apparently the updated
> wuauclt.exe program behaves just as is does on Windows XP Service Pack
> 2 and periodically posts a notification to the screen stating that a
> reboot is required. I find this irritating and unnecessary and I would
> like a way to turn this off permanently! Even then it isn't such a
> problem for the few users with admin rights on the system. They've
> been told to ignore it until a time to reboot can be scheduled.
>
> The serious bug comes in the form of regular users (members of the
> Remote Desktop Users group) getting this notice and being unable to do
> anything with it at all. Both buttons on the dialog were greyed out as
> was the "X" button at the upper right of the dialog.
>
> If anyone can advise a way in the meantime to turn this notice off, I
> would be really happy to know about it.
>
> Thanks in advance for any help that anyone can offer.
>
> William
>

Have you set the "Allow non-administrators to receive update
notifications" local group policy to disabled?

-Israel

--

Israel Disser israel@<fun>hp.com

Remove the <fun> to reply.


wuauclt.exe flaws