SP2 not being offered by WU site



Dutch User
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
I'm running XP SP1 and to my surprise SP2 is not being offered
when I visit windowsupdate.com
http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=nl
(I'm using the Dutch version/ NL=Netherlands/Holland)

Recent XP patches are available though, even a driver update for my soundcard.

In the past SP2
(full-install, not through WU)
appeared to be incompatible with my hardware (2.0 Ghz P IV, 3yo
with lots of propriety drivers with no current updates available through my OEM -
Medion.com)

AFAIK there is no way for WU to know that a previous full-SP2 install failed
(I had to perform a clean XP install),
and still,
SP2 is no longer being offered through WU.

Any explaination for this WU behaviour is appreciated.

Rich Barry
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
See if this will work. I used it to create a slipstreamed WinXP + SP2
CD. It worked fine.
"Dutch User" <me@privacy.net> wrote in message
news:eObsnX%23VFHA.1384@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> I'm running XP SP1 and to my surprise SP2 is not being offered
> when I visit windowsupdate.com
> http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=nl
> (I'm using the Dutch version/ NL=Netherlands/Holland)
>
> Recent XP patches are available though, even a driver update for my
> soundcard.
>
> In the past SP2
> (full-install, not through WU)
> appeared to be incompatible with my hardware (2.0 Ghz P IV, 3yo
> with lots of propriety drivers with no current updates available through
> my OEM -
> Medion.com)
>
> AFAIK there is no way for WU to know that a previous full-SP2 install
> failed
> (I had to perform a clean XP install),
> and still,
> SP2 is no longer being offered through WU.
>
> Any explaination for this WU behaviour is appreciated.

TaurArian
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=885627
Windows XP Service Pack 2 is not available to install from Windows Update and is not
offered by Automatic Updates

Dutch User wrote:
> I'm running XP SP1 and to my surprise SP2 is not being offered
> when I visit windowsupdate.com
> http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=nl
> (I'm using the Dutch version/ NL=Netherlands/Holland)
>
> Recent XP patches are available though, even a driver update for my
> soundcard.
>
> In the past SP2
> (full-install, not through WU)
> appeared to be incompatible with my hardware (2.0 Ghz P IV, 3yo
> with lots of propriety drivers with no current updates available
> through my OEM - Medion.com)
>
> AFAIK there is no way for WU to know that a previous full-SP2 install
> failed (I had to perform a clean XP install),
> and still,
> SP2 is no longer being offered through WU.
>
> Any explaination for this WU behaviour is appreciated.

Dutch User
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
Thank you for your assistance.

The support article lists 4 possible reasons for the non delivery of SP2,
only one may apply, but it should have timed out

1. SP2 already installed= not true
2. http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/maintain/sp2aumng.mspx
= not true
(the MS do-not-install registry patch was installed, but
should have timed out)
"The "blocker" mechanism that temporarily disabled the delivery of Windows XP
Service Pack 2 (SP2)
through Windows Update and Automatic Updates has expired and is no longer
available."
3. Volocity City TV media installed = not true
4. Processor x86 Family 15 Model 3 Stepping 3= not true
(x86 Family 15 Model 2 stepping 4 Intel on board)

Is there any other way to check (eg the registry) why WU does not offer SP2?
Thanks.

(it's not a major problem, I just cannot explain the behaviour of WU)





"TaurArian" <taurarianREMOVECAPS@hotmail.com> schreef in bericht
news:eMplshAWFHA.2740@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=885627
> Windows XP Service Pack 2 is not available to install from Windows Update and is
not
> offered by Automatic Updates
>
> Dutch User wrote:
> > I'm running XP SP1 and to my surprise SP2 is not being offered
> > when I visit windowsupdate.com
> > http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=nl
> > (I'm using the Dutch version/ NL=Netherlands/Holland)
> >
> > Recent XP patches are available though, even a driver update for my
> > soundcard.
> >
> > In the past SP2
> > (full-install, not through WU)
> > appeared to be incompatible with my hardware (2.0 Ghz P IV, 3yo
> > with lots of propriety drivers with no current updates available
> > through my OEM - Medion.com)
> >
> > AFAIK there is no way for WU to know that a previous full-SP2 install
> > failed (I had to perform a clean XP install),
> > and still,
> > SP2 is no longer being offered through WU.
> >
> > Any explaination for this WU behaviour is appreciated.
>

Rich Barry
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
Here's the URL
http://tinyurl.com/5bobl


"Dutch User" <me@privacy.net> wrote in message
news:eObsnX%23VFHA.1384@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> I'm running XP SP1 and to my surprise SP2 is not being offered
> when I visit windowsupdate.com
> http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=nl
> (I'm using the Dutch version/ NL=Netherlands/Holland)
>
> Recent XP patches are available though, even a driver update for my
> soundcard.
>
> In the past SP2
> (full-install, not through WU)
> appeared to be incompatible with my hardware (2.0 Ghz P IV, 3yo
> with lots of propriety drivers with no current updates available through
> my OEM -
> Medion.com)
>
> AFAIK there is no way for WU to know that a previous full-SP2 install
> failed
> (I had to perform a clean XP install),
> and still,
> SP2 is no longer being offered through WU.
>
> Any explaination for this WU behaviour is appreciated.


SP2 not being offered by WU site