Application Display Order on Desktop



Graeme
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Hi all

Does anyone know how to force an application to always display on top of
other applications in the same way as the Windows Task Manager?

I am currently using AutoCAD (always full screen) but need to refer to an
electronic catalogue for part sizes.

Thanks to anyone who can help with this.

Doug Knox MS-MVP
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
This is a function of the application, not the operating system. You need to check the specific application's options. You can also try a web search for phrases like:

keep selected app "always on top"

One such example is: http://www.sharewareconnection.com/wintopmost-disable-close.htm

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display\Security
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Graeme" <Graeme@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:07090BF6-1A8D-4482-AA11-FA33A0287EA2@microsoft.com...
> Hi all
>
> Does anyone know how to force an application to always display on top of
> other applications in the same way as the Windows Task Manager?
>
> I am currently using AutoCAD (always full screen) but need to refer to an
> electronic catalogue for part sizes.
>
> Thanks to anyone who can help with this.

David Candy
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Software that comes with NVidia video cards can do this - see Disaplay in Control Panel. If I know the titlebar text I can write a 2 line program for you.

--
----------------------------------------------------------

"Graeme" <Graeme@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:07090BF6-1A8D-4482-AA11-FA33A0287EA2@microsoft.com...
> Hi all
>
> Does anyone know how to force an application to always display on top of
> other applications in the same way as the Windows Task Manager?
>
> I am currently using AutoCAD (always full screen) but need to refer to an
> electronic catalogue for part sizes.
>
> Thanks to anyone who can help with this.

Graeme
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Hi David,
Thanks for the response, I'll get our IT bods to have a look into this - I
may get back to you.

Thanks again


"David Candy" wrote:

> Software that comes with NVidia video cards can do this - see Disaplay in Control Panel. If I know the titlebar text I can write a 2 line program for you.
>
> --
> ----------------------------------------------------------
>
> "Graeme" <Graeme@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:07090BF6-1A8D-4482-AA11-FA33A0287EA2@microsoft.com...
> > Hi all
> >
> > Does anyone know how to force an application to always display on top of
> > other applications in the same way as the Windows Task Manager?
> >
> > I am currently using AutoCAD (always full screen) but need to refer to an
> > electronic catalogue for part sizes.
> >
> > Thanks to anyone who can help with this.
>


Application Display Order on Desktop