IE Security Zone buttons greyed out



Gil Theissen
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95 with ie4
(I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect to some
websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones) it won't connect
to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I think the sysadmin
locked the browser down real good. The Content Advisor was enabled and
password protected, but I found the reg hack to disable it, but the problem
still persists and I think it may involve the "Security Zones" setting.
However under the Security Tab, the "custom level" and "default level"
radio buttons are grey out in all the zones (internet, intranet, trusted,
restricted) and I can't make any changes to any of the zones.
Upgrading to IE5 didn't help and I can't find anything on the web. Can
someone here could tell me if there's a reg hack to re-enable these settings
or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
Thanks - Gil
Theissen

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Is Spybot installed on the machine?

Custom Level and Default Level buttons in Internet Options Security tab are
grayed out:
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/secchangesettings.htm

"Sites" button and "Custom Level" slider are grayed out in Internet
Options - Security tab?:
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/flags.htm
--

IE5-specific newsgroup:
news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie5.browser

New IE General newsgroup:
news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.internetexplorer.general

~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE) & Security, AH-VSOP

Gil Theissen wrote:
> Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95 with
> ie4 (I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect to some
> websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones) it won't connect
> to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I think the
> sysadmin locked the browser down real good. The Content Advisor was
> enabled and password protected, but I found the reg hack to disable it,
> but the problem still persists and I think it may involve the "Security
> Zones" setting. However under the Security Tab, the "custom level" and
> "default level" radio buttons are grey out in all the zones (internet,
> intranet, trusted, restricted) and I can't make any changes to any of the
> zones. Upgrading to IE5 didn't help and I can't find anything on the
> web. Can someone here could tell me if there's a reg hack to re-enable
> these settings or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
> Thanks -
> Gil Theissen

Gil Theissen
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Thanks for the reply. I managed to re-enable the radio buttons through the
registry, but unfortuantely that didnt solve the p[roblem. To give an
example of urls I can and can't open, I went to Google News and made a list
of the links I could open and the links I could not.
================
NO:
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/28/AR2005062801178.html

http://www.guardian.co.uk/worldlatest/story/0,1280,-5105278,00.html

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1414843,0050.htm

http://www.planet-f1.com/news/story_20076.shtml

http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/nation/20050628-1446-scotus-tencommandments.html

http://www.earthtimes.org/articles/show/3361.html
==================================
YES:
http://www.nctimes.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/top_stories/15_46_356_28_05.txt

http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=topNews&storyID=8919701

http://cbs2chicago.com/topstories/local_story_179184849.html

http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/fusion.php
==============
if the url ends in html, htm or shtml, I can't open it. The only exception
was the CBS link and there I could open it, but none of the pictures
displayed.
Another example, I can got to www.yahoo.com, but none of the pictures
display (red x's) and I can't sign in or open any links. I can also go to
www.ebay.com, and then open the site map, but once there none of the links
to the sub-categories will open.
I'm stumped. Any ideas?
Thanks - Gil Theissen

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Please include all of previous message in your replies, Gil.

Do these links not work at all or do the resulting IE windows give you a
"Page not found" or "Page cannot be displayed; Server or DNS error" error?
For the latter, see http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/archive/answers.htm#dns.

If you revert back to IE4, do the problems persist?
--
~PA Bear

Gil Theissen wrote:
> Thanks for the reply. I managed to re-enable the radio buttons through the
> registry, but unfortuantely that didnt solve the p[roblem. To give an
> example of urls I can and can't open, I went to Google News and made a
> list of the links I could open and the links I could not.
> ================
> NO:
> http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/28/AR2005062801178.html
> <snippage>
> http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1414843,0050.htm
>
> http://www.planet-f1.com/news/story_20076.shtml
>
> ==================================
> YES:
> http://www.nctimes.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/top_stories/15_46_356_28_05.txt
>
> http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=topNews&storyID=8919701
>
> http://cbs2chicago.com/topstories/local_story_179184849.html
>
> http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/fusion.php
> ==============
> if the url ends in html, htm or shtml, I can't open it. The only exception
> was the CBS link and there I could open it, but none of the pictures
> displayed.
> Another example, I can got to www.yahoo.com, but none of the pictures
> display (red x's) and I can't sign in or open any links. I can also go to
> www.ebay.com, and then open the site map, but once there none of the links
> to the sub-categories will open.
> I'm stumped. Any ideas?
> Thanks - Gil Theissen
<paste>
PA Bear wrote:
> Is Spybot installed on the machine?
>
> Custom Level and Default Level buttons in Internet Options Security tab
> are grayed out:
> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/secchangesettings.htm
>
> "Sites" button and "Custom Level" slider are grayed out in Internet
> Options - Security tab?:
> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/flags.htm
>
> Gil Theissen wrote:
> > Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95 with
> > ie4 (I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect to
> > some websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones) it won't
> > connect to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I think
> > the sysadmin locked the browser down real good. The Content Advisor was
> > enabled and password protected, but I found the reg hack to disable it,
> > but the problem still persists and I think it may involve the "Security
> > Zones" setting. However under the Security Tab, the "custom level"
> > and "default level" radio buttons are grey out in all the zones
> > (internet, intranet, trusted, restricted) and I can't make any changes
> > to any of the zones. Upgrading to IE5 didn't help and I can't find
> > anything on the web. Can someone here could tell me if there's a reg
> > hack to re-enable
> > these settings or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
> > Thanks -
> > Gil Theissen

Gil Theissen
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Two things happen. The vast majority of the time, I get the standard "The
Page Cannot be displayed" (cannot find server or dns error) message but when
I get that message, it pops up almost instantaneaously after I click on
sites that I can't load. However, on some occasions - like when I try to
sign in to yahoo.com or try to select a 'search category' (news, images,
etc.) at www.msn.com, nothing happens and I just stay on the same page.
I haven't tried rolling back to IE4 yet, but the problem existed with
IE5 which is one of the reasons I upgraded to IE5.
Flushing cache and cookies didn't help, not did any of the suggestions
at the link you sent.

Gil Theissen
==================================
"PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:efXxyLFfFHA.3940@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Please include all of previous message in your replies, Gil.
>
> Do these links not work at all or do the resulting IE windows give you a
> "Page not found" or "Page cannot be displayed; Server or DNS error" error?
> For the latter, see http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/archive/answers.htm#dns.
>
> If you revert back to IE4, do the problems persist?
> --
> ~PA Bear
>
> Gil Theissen wrote:
>> Thanks for the reply. I managed to re-enable the radio buttons through
>> the
>> registry, but unfortuantely that didnt solve the p[roblem. To give an
>> example of urls I can and can't open, I went to Google News and made a
>> list of the links I could open and the links I could not.
>> ================
>> NO:
>> http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/28/AR2005062801178.html
>> <snippage>
>> http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1414843,0050.htm
>>
>> http://www.planet-f1.com/news/story_20076.shtml
>>
>> ==================================
>> YES:
>> http://www.nctimes.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/top_stories/15_46_356_28_05.txt
>>
>> http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=topNews&storyID=8919701
>>
>> http://cbs2chicago.com/topstories/local_story_179184849.html
>>
>> http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/fusion.php
>> ==============
>> if the url ends in html, htm or shtml, I can't open it. The only
>> exception
>> was the CBS link and there I could open it, but none of the pictures
>> displayed.
>> Another example, I can got to www.yahoo.com, but none of the pictures
>> display (red x's) and I can't sign in or open any links. I can also go to
>> www.ebay.com, and then open the site map, but once there none of the
>> links
>> to the sub-categories will open.
>> I'm stumped. Any ideas?
>> Thanks - Gil Theissen
> <paste>
> PA Bear wrote:
>> Is Spybot installed on the machine?
>>
>> Custom Level and Default Level buttons in Internet Options Security tab
>> are grayed out:
>> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/secchangesettings.htm
>>
>> "Sites" button and "Custom Level" slider are grayed out in Internet
>> Options - Security tab?:
>> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/flags.htm
>>
>> Gil Theissen wrote:
>> > Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95 with
>> > ie4 (I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect to
>> > some websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones) it won't
>> > connect to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I think
>> > the sysadmin locked the browser down real good. The Content Advisor was
>> > enabled and password protected, but I found the reg hack to disable it,
>> > but the problem still persists and I think it may involve the
>> > "Security
>> > Zones" setting. However under the Security Tab, the "custom level"
>> > and "default level" radio buttons are grey out in all the zones
>> > (internet, intranet, trusted, restricted) and I can't make any changes
>> > to any of the zones. Upgrading to IE5 didn't help and I can't find
>> > anything on the web. Can someone here could tell me if there's a reg
>> > hack to re-enable
>> > these settings or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
>> > Thanks -
>> > Gil Theissen
>

Gil Theissen
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
Correction....problem solved. Turns out I was using the wrong copy of
Wsock32.dll. I tried using the Win98 version and when I rolled it back to
the Win95 version, problem vanished.
That BTW, suggestion was at the very bottom of the page of the link you
sent me. I didn't scroll down far enough. Thanks for your help.
Gil Theissen
"Gil Theissen" <giltheissen@prod-a-gee.net> wrote in message
news:oCuwe.1966$RC6.6@newssvr33.news.prodigy.com...
> Two things happen. The vast majority of the time, I get the standard "The
> Page Cannot be displayed" (cannot find server or dns error) message but
> when I get that message, it pops up almost instantaneaously after I click
> on sites that I can't load. However, on some occasions - like when I try
> to sign in to yahoo.com or try to select a 'search category' (news,
> images, etc.) at www.msn.com, nothing happens and I just stay on the same
> page.
> I haven't tried rolling back to IE4 yet, but the problem existed with
> IE5 which is one of the reasons I upgraded to IE5.
> Flushing cache and cookies didn't help, not did any of the suggestions
> at the link you sent.
>
> Gil Theissen
> ==================================
> "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> wrote in message
> news:efXxyLFfFHA.3940@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> Please include all of previous message in your replies, Gil.
>>
>> Do these links not work at all or do the resulting IE windows give you a
>> "Page not found" or "Page cannot be displayed; Server or DNS error"
>> error? For the latter, see
>> http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/archive/answers.htm#dns.
>>
>> If you revert back to IE4, do the problems persist?
>> --
>> ~PA Bear
>>
>> Gil Theissen wrote:
>>> Thanks for the reply. I managed to re-enable the radio buttons through
>>> the
>>> registry, but unfortuantely that didnt solve the p[roblem. To give an
>>> example of urls I can and can't open, I went to Google News and made a
>>> list of the links I could open and the links I could not.
>>> ================
>>> NO:
>>> http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/28/AR2005062801178.html
>>> <snippage>
>>> http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1414843,0050.htm
>>>
>>> http://www.planet-f1.com/news/story_20076.shtml
>>>
>>> ==================================
>>> YES:
>>> http://www.nctimes.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/top_stories/15_46_356_28_05.txt
>>>
>>> http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=topNews&storyID=8919701
>>>
>>> http://cbs2chicago.com/topstories/local_story_179184849.html
>>>
>>> http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/fusion.php
>>> ==============
>>> if the url ends in html, htm or shtml, I can't open it. The only
>>> exception
>>> was the CBS link and there I could open it, but none of the pictures
>>> displayed.
>>> Another example, I can got to www.yahoo.com, but none of the pictures
>>> display (red x's) and I can't sign in or open any links. I can also go
>>> to
>>> www.ebay.com, and then open the site map, but once there none of the
>>> links
>>> to the sub-categories will open.
>>> I'm stumped. Any ideas?
>>> Thanks - Gil Theissen
>> <paste>
>> PA Bear wrote:
>>> Is Spybot installed on the machine?
>>>
>>> Custom Level and Default Level buttons in Internet Options Security tab
>>> are grayed out:
>>> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/secchangesettings.htm
>>>
>>> "Sites" button and "Custom Level" slider are grayed out in Internet
>>> Options - Security tab?:
>>> http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/flags.htm
>>>
>>> Gil Theissen wrote:
>>> > Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95
>>> > with
>>> > ie4 (I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect to
>>> > some websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones) it
>>> > won't
>>> > connect to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I think
>>> > the sysadmin locked the browser down real good. The Content Advisor
>>> > was
>>> > enabled and password protected, but I found the reg hack to disable
>>> > it,
>>> > but the problem still persists and I think it may involve the
>>> > "Security
>>> > Zones" setting. However under the Security Tab, the "custom level"
>>> > and "default level" radio buttons are grey out in all the zones
>>> > (internet, intranet, trusted, restricted) and I can't make any changes
>>> > to any of the zones. Upgrading to IE5 didn't help and I can't find
>>> > anything on the web. Can someone here could tell me if there's a reg
>>> > hack to re-enable
>>> > these settings or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
>>> > Thanks
>>> > -
>>> > Gil Theissen
>>
>
>

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 10:15 PM
YW & thanks for posting back.

In future, it'd be better to post your queries about this machine to a
Win95- or IE5-specific newsgroup, Gil. They're still being monitored.
--
Win95-specific newsgroup:
news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.win95.general.discussion
IE5-specific newsgroup:
news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie5.browser
IE General newsgroup:
news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.internetexplorer.general

~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE) & Security, AH-VSOP

CC: Sandi


Gil Theissen wrote:
> Correction....problem solved. Turns out I was using the wrong copy of
> Wsock32.dll. I tried using the Win98 version and when I rolled it back to
> the Win95 version, problem vanished.
> That BTW, suggestion was at the very bottom of the page of the link you
> sent me. I didn't scroll down far enough. Thanks for your help.
> Gil
> Theissen "Gil Theissen" <giltheissen@prod-a-gee.net> wrote in message
> news:oCuwe.1966$RC6.6@newssvr33.news.prodigy.com...
> > Two things happen. The vast majority of the time, I get the standard
> > "The Page Cannot be displayed" (cannot find server or dns error)
> > message but when I get that message, it pops up almost instantaneaously
> > after I click on sites that I can't load. However, on some occasions -
> > like when I try to sign in to yahoo.com or try to select a 'search
> > category' (news, images, etc.) at www.msn.com, nothing happens and I
> > just stay on the same page.
> > I haven't tried rolling back to IE4 yet, but the problem existed with
> > IE5 which is one of the reasons I upgraded to IE5.
> > Flushing cache and cookies didn't help, not did any of the
> > suggestions at the link you sent.
> >
> > Gil Theissen
> > ==================================
> > "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> wrote in message
> > news:efXxyLFfFHA.3940@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> > > Please include all of previous message in your replies, Gil.
> > >
> > > Do these links not work at all or do the resulting IE windows give
> > > you a "Page not found" or "Page cannot be displayed; Server or DNS
> > > error" error? For the latter, see
> > > http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/archive/answers.htm#dns.
> > >
> > > If you revert back to IE4, do the problems persist?
> > > --
> > > ~PA Bear
> > >
> > > Gil Theissen wrote:
> > > > Thanks for the reply. I managed to re-enable the radio buttons
> > > > through the
> > > > registry, but unfortuantely that didnt solve the p[roblem. To give
> > > > an example of urls I can and can't open, I went to Google News and
> > > > made a list of the links I could open and the links I could not.
> > > > ================
> > > > NO:
> > > > http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/28/AR2005062801178.html
> > > > <snippage>
> > > > http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/181_1414843,0050.htm
> > > >
> > > > http://www.planet-f1.com/news/story_20076.shtml
> > > >
> > > > ==================================
> > > > YES:
> > > > http://www.nctimes.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/top_stories/15_46_356_28_05.txt
> > > >
> > > > http://www.reuters.com/newsArticle.jhtml?type=topNews&storyID=8919701
> > > >
> > > > http://cbs2chicago.com/topstories/local_story_179184849.html
> > > >
> > > > http://www.iht.com/articles/2005/06/29/news/fusion.php
> > > > ==============
> > > > if the url ends in html, htm or shtml, I can't open it. The only
> > > > exception
> > > > was the CBS link and there I could open it, but none of the pictures
> > > > displayed.
> > > > Another example, I can got to www.yahoo.com, but none of the
> > > > pictures display (red x's) and I can't sign in or open any links. I
> > > > can also go to
> > > > www.ebay.com, and then open the site map, but once there none of the
> > > > links
> > > > to the sub-categories will open.
> > > > I'm stumped. Any ideas?
> > > > Thanks - Gil Theissen
> > > <paste>
> > > PA Bear wrote:
> > > > Is Spybot installed on the machine?
> > > >
> > > > Custom Level and Default Level buttons in Internet Options Security
> > > > tab are grayed out:
> > > > http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/secchangesettings.htm
> > > >
> > > > "Sites" button and "Custom Level" slider are grayed out in Internet
> > > > Options - Security tab?:
> > > > http://windowsxp.mvps.org/ie/flags.htm
> > > >
> > > > Gil Theissen wrote:
> > > > > Bought an old thinkpad laptop at a yardsale. It's running win95
> > > > > with
> > > > > ie4 (I upgraded to ie5). Problem is that although it will connect
> > > > > to some websites, there are a bunch of websites (legitimate ones)
> > > > > it won't
> > > > > connect to (cannot find server). It was a corporate laptop and I
> > > > > think the sysadmin locked the browser down real good. The Content
> > > > > Advisor was
> > > > > enabled and password protected, but I found the reg hack to
> > > > > disable it,
> > > > > but the problem still persists and I think it may involve the
> > > > > "Security
> > > > > Zones" setting. However under the Security Tab, the "custom
> > > > > level" and "default level" radio buttons are grey out in all the
> > > > > zones (internet, intranet, trusted, restricted) and I can't make
> > > > > any changes to any of the zones. Upgrading to IE5 didn't help
> > > > > and I can't find anything on the web. Can someone here could tell
> > > > > me if there's a reg hack to re-enable
> > > > > these settings or how to otherwise undo or redo this setting?
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks -
> > > > > Gil Theissen


IE Security Zone buttons greyed out