160GB HD recognised at 127GB !



andy
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
127GB. What can i do to put this right ?

I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung HD.

I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was causing
problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)

Cheers
Andy

Bill Martin -- (Remove NOSPAM from address)
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
andy wrote:

>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
>127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>
>I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung HD.
>
>I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was causing
>problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>
>Cheers
>Andy
>

What makes you think you have a 160GB disk? There's GB and then there's
GB. Is it possible Samsung sells it as 160GB gross, but it only has
127GB after being formatted? Lots of storage is lost in formatting and
possibly also in bad sectors being tagged during the formatting
process. Losing 20% during formatting doesn't seem that unlikely.

Or maybe it's something completely different.

Bill

Walter Clayton
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
You might be facing a hardware limitation. To address anything over 128G you
need 48b EIDE. Unfortunately that means SP2 to have native support, as well
as having the requirements in the hardware.

What size does the BIOS report?

--
Walter Clayton
Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.


"andy" <nobody@nospam.com> wrote in message
news:d60j5g$3uq$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>
> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
> HD.
>
> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
> causing
> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>
> Cheers
> Andy
>
>

Miss Perspicacia Tick
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
Bill Martin -- (Remove NOSPAM from address) wrote:
> andy wrote:
>
>> I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as
>> being 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>>
>> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133
>> Samsung HD. I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as
>> it was
>> causing problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it
>> earlier !) Cheers
>> Andy
>>
>
> What makes you think you have a 160GB disk? There's GB and then
> there's GB. Is it possible Samsung sells it as 160GB gross, but it
> only has 127GB after being formatted? Lots of storage is lost in
> formatting and possibly also in bad sectors being tagged during the
> formatting process. Losing 20% during formatting doesn't seem that
> unlikely.
> Or maybe it's something completely different.
>
> Bill

Yes, it's very unlikely because it does not happen. Next time *THINK* before
putting fingers to keys - you could have checked your hypothesis by looking
at your own disk(s). You know what size they were sold at (decimal) you know
what size Windows tells you they are (binary).

Example - I have a 400GB secondary drive. Windows is telling me the binary
capacity is 372GB. Now, if you think that 28GB is a fifth, then I suggest
you go back to school.

It has nothing whatsoever to do with decimal vs binary and everything to do
with the fact that the BIOS does not support 48-bit LBA. The following
conditions are necessary for the correct functioning of 48-bit LBA under
Windows XP (also applies to 2000)

Windows XP Service Pack 1 (SP1) or Windows 2000 Service Pack 3 (SP3) must be
installed and the system must have a 48-bit LBA-compatible Basic
Input/Output System (BIOS) installed. This includes EIDE controller card
BIOSs. The OP needs to determine whether the BIOS supports 48-bit
addressing. If not, he will have to determine whether there's an update
available which will enable it to do so. If not, he will have to purchase a
controller card, if the driver didn't ship with one.


--
In memory of MS MVP Alex Nichol: http://www.dts-l.org/

nor
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
I have seen this question asked several times. Is there an easy way to tell
whether the BIOS uses 48b processing? I am running SP2 and all seems to be
well. A 200GB driver reports 186, an 80 GB drive reports 74.5. These numbers
seem reasonable to me.

"Walter Clayton" <w-claytonNO@SPmvpsAM.org> wrote in message
news:OZBvu$zVFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> You might be facing a hardware limitation. To address anything over 128G
> you need 48b EIDE. Unfortunately that means SP2 to have native support, as
> well as having the requirements in the hardware.
>
> What size does the BIOS report?
>
> --
> Walter Clayton
> Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
>
>
> "andy" <nobody@nospam.com> wrote in message
> news:d60j5g$3uq$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
>> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>>
>> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
>> HD.
>>
>> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
>> causing
>> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>>
>> Cheers
>> Andy
>>
>>
>

HillBillyBuddhist
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
"andy" <nobody@nospam.com> wrote in message
news:d60j5g$3uq$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>
> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
> HD.
>
> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
> causing
> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>
> Cheers
> Andy

Why can I only see 127 to 137 GBytes of my 160+ GB drive in Windows XP?
http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/disc/faq/137_winxp.html

It's a Seagate site but the limitation isn't manufacturer specific.

--
D

I'm not an MVP a VIP nor do I have ESP.
I was just trying to help.
Please use your own best judgment before implementing any suggestions or
advice herein.
No warranty is expressed or implied.
Your mileage may vary.
See store for details. :)

Remove shoes to E-mail.

Walter Clayton
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
If you see over 128G then you're running 48b EIDE.

The only way to tell in advance, that I'm aware of, is to simply look up the
specs of your hardware. Push come to shove if your motherboard doesn't
support 48b natively you can always add on a controller card that can.

--
Walter Clayton
Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.


"nor" <wnor@comcast.irc> wrote in message
news:O9cx%23O0VFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>I have seen this question asked several times. Is there an easy way to tell
>whether the BIOS uses 48b processing? I am running SP2 and all seems to be
>well. A 200GB driver reports 186, an 80 GB drive reports 74.5. These
>numbers seem reasonable to me.
>
> "Walter Clayton" <w-claytonNO@SPmvpsAM.org> wrote in message
> news:OZBvu$zVFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> You might be facing a hardware limitation. To address anything over 128G
>> you need 48b EIDE. Unfortunately that means SP2 to have native support,
>> as well as having the requirements in the hardware.
>>
>> What size does the BIOS report?
>>
>> --
>> Walter Clayton
>> Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
>>
>>
>> "andy" <nobody@nospam.com> wrote in message
>> news:d60j5g$3uq$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>>>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
>>> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>>>
>>> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
>>> HD.
>>>
>>> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
>>> causing
>>> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>>>
>>> Cheers
>>> Andy
>>>
>>>
>>
>
>

nor
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
Thank you for your answers, I guess I have 48bit.

"Walter Clayton" <w-claytonNO@SPmvpsAM.org> wrote in message
news:e5eJ2c0VFHA.2560@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> If you see over 128G then you're running 48b EIDE.
>
> The only way to tell in advance, that I'm aware of, is to simply look up
> the specs of your hardware. Push come to shove if your motherboard doesn't
> support 48b natively you can always add on a controller card that can.
>
> --
> Walter Clayton
> Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
>
>
> "nor" <wnor@comcast.irc> wrote in message
> news:O9cx%23O0VFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>I have seen this question asked several times. Is there an easy way to
>>tell whether the BIOS uses 48b processing? I am running SP2 and all seems
>>to be well. A 200GB driver reports 186, an 80 GB drive reports 74.5. These
>>numbers seem reasonable to me.
>>
>> "Walter Clayton" <w-claytonNO@SPmvpsAM.org> wrote in message
>> news:OZBvu$zVFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>>> You might be facing a hardware limitation. To address anything over 128G
>>> you need 48b EIDE. Unfortunately that means SP2 to have native support,
>>> as well as having the requirements in the hardware.
>>>
>>> What size does the BIOS report?
>>>
>>> --
>>> Walter Clayton
>>> Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
>>>
>>>
>>> "andy" <nobody@nospam.com> wrote in message
>>> news:d60j5g$3uq$1@newsg4.svr.pol.co.uk...
>>>>I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
>>>> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>>>>
>>>> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
>>>> HD.
>>>>
>>>> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
>>>> causing
>>>> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>>>>
>>>> Cheers
>>>> Andy
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>

Not Me
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
It may be as simple as downloading and applying Maxtor's Big Drive
Enabler, from here:
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/maxtor/menuitem.3c67e325e0a6b1f6294198b091346068/?channelpath=/en_us/Support/Software%20Downloads/ATA%20Hard%20Drives&downloadID=11

[sorry about the length of the link]. This program just applies changes
to the XP registry and is not manufacturer specific (i.e., will work
with any make hard drive. Worth a try.
Gene K

andy wrote:
> I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>
> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung HD.
>
> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was causing
> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>
> Cheers
> Andy
>
>

nor
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
Is this what you want? Drive>View>Change details

"Not Me" <nobody@nowhere.net> wrote in message
news:%23ZmMPRCWFHA.2540@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> It may be as simple as downloading and applying Maxtor's Big Drive
> Enabler, from here:
> http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/maxtor/menuitem.3c67e325e0a6b1f6294198b091346068/?channelpath=/en_us/Support/Software%20Downloads/ATA%20Hard%20Drives&downloadID=11
> [sorry about the length of the link]. This program just applies changes to
> the XP registry and is not manufacturer specific (i.e., will work with any
> make hard drive. Worth a try.
> Gene K
>
> andy wrote:
>> I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
>> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
>>
>> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
>> HD.
>>
>> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
>> causing
>> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
>>
>> Cheers
>> Andy
>>

andy
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
Thanks nor, i have just tried that with no luck !!! - it is still shown as
127GB (137GB true). However, the BIOS reports 160GB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fed up now !!!


Andy



"nor" <wnor@comcast.irc> wrote in message
news:eUYUtTIWFHA.132@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Is this what you want? Drive>View>Change details
>
> "Not Me" <nobody@nowhere.net> wrote in message
> news:%23ZmMPRCWFHA.2540@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> > It may be as simple as downloading and applying Maxtor's Big Drive
> > Enabler, from here:
> >
http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/maxtor/menuitem.3c67e325e0a6b1f6294198b091
346068/?channelpath=/en_us/Support/Software%20Downloads/ATA%20Hard%20Drives&
downloadID=11
> > [sorry about the length of the link]. This program just applies changes
to
> > the XP registry and is not manufacturer specific (i.e., will work with
any
> > make hard drive. Worth a try.
> > Gene K
> >
> > andy wrote:
> >> I have just got a 160GB Samsung HD, but WinXP only reports it as being
> >> 127GB. What can i do to put this right ?
> >>
> >> I am using WinXP PRO (SP1), Athlon 2200+, 620RAM, 160GB ATA-133 Samsung
> >> HD.
> >>
> >> I don't want to change to SP2 (if that is what is needed) as it was
> >> causing
> >> problems with some of my software and i had to un-install it earlier !)
> >>
> >> Cheers
> >> Andy
> >>
>

Sharon F
07-09-2005, 10:10 PM
On Sat, 14 May 2005 16:48:22 +0100, andy wrote:

> Thanks nor, i have just tried that with no luck !!! - it is still shown as
> 127GB (137GB true). However, the BIOS reports 160GB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
>
> Fed up now !!!
>
>
> Andy
>
>
What level of Service Pack for XP is installed? At the very least you'll
want SP1 installed to get Windows recognizing more of the drive. Preferably
SP2 (which includes SP1) if it installs without problems on your setup.

--
Sharon F
MS-MVP ~ Windows Shell/User


160GB HD recognised at 127GB !