Internet explorer running under explorer.exe process



niavlys
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM
Hi,
I've noticed that every Internet explorer instance is now running under
the explorer.exe process. No Iexplore.exe appears in task manager. Having
more than 1 browser window open slows down my system while loading up the
explorer.exe process. I'm running Windows XP SP2.

Does anybody have any idea?

Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM
Not true here. WinXP SP2

--
Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
Please respond in Newsgroup. Do not send email
http://www.fjsmjs.com
Protect your PC
http://www.microsoft.com/security/protect/


"niavlys" <niavlys@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:3AE2F257-25BB-4138-B019-2D983D7838D6@microsoft.com...
> Hi,
> I've noticed that every Internet explorer instance is now running under
> the explorer.exe process. No Iexplore.exe appears in task manager.
> Having
> more than 1 browser window open slows down my system while loading up the
> explorer.exe process. I'm running Windows XP SP2.
>
> Does anybody have any idea?
>

Bruno Collaer
07-09-2005, 10:08 PM
Same is happening to me so how do we fix it? wha tis causing this ?

Windows XP SP 2 and all latest fixes.

"Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE" wrote:

> Not true here. WinXP SP2
>
> --
> Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
> Please respond in Newsgroup. Do not send email
> http://www.fjsmjs.com
> Protect your PC
> http://www.microsoft.com/security/protect/
>
>
> "niavlys" <niavlys@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:3AE2F257-25BB-4138-B019-2D983D7838D6@microsoft.com...
> > Hi,
> > I've noticed that every Internet explorer instance is now running under
> > the explorer.exe process. No Iexplore.exe appears in task manager.
> > Having
> > more than 1 browser window open slows down my system while loading up the
> > explorer.exe process. I'm running Windows XP SP2.
> >
> > Does anybody have any idea?
> >
>
>
>

Bruno Collaer
07-09-2005, 10:08 PM
Hi,

Well after a day of searching i found the solution.

Check you rregistry :

HkeyCurrentUser/Software/Microsoft/CurrentVersion/Explorer/Browsenewprocess

Check there id BrowseNewProcess is set to YES .
in my case something and i dont know what at all changed this to NO and with
that setting IEXPLORE will always run as explorer.exe if you set it to YES
IEXPLORE.EXE appears as normal process again in Taskmanager.

Bruno


"niavlys" wrote:

> Hi,
> I've noticed that every Internet explorer instance is now running under
> the explorer.exe process. No Iexplore.exe appears in task manager. Having
> more than 1 browser window open slows down my system while loading up the
> explorer.exe process. I'm running Windows XP SP2.
>
> Does anybody have any idea?
>


Internet explorer running under explorer.exe process