Document loads in "wrong" version of Acrobat



Philip Herlihy
07-09-2005, 11:03 PM
My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
takes longer to load).

How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?

--
####################
## PH, London
####################

Don Varnau
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Hi,
Try, in Acrobat Reader> Edit> Preferences> Internet> [check] Display PDF in
browser.

Is there a similar option in Acrobat Professional that needs to be changed
(unchecked?)

Don
[MS MVP- IE/OE]


"Philip Herlihy" <foof8501[at]herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
news:udjQowAWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
> the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
> However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
> takes longer to load).
>
> How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
> an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?
>

Gary Smith
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Philip Herlihy <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote:
> My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
> the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
> However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
> takes longer to load).

> How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
> an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?

My experience with Acrobat indicates that with two versions, you'll never
have complete control. I tried every thing I could think of including
extensive tinkering with file associations and still was unable to get PDF
files to open in the Reader every time. The only thing that worked was to
keep Reader open all the time, and I found that unacceptable.

--
Gary L. Smith gls432@yahoo.com
Columbus, Ohio

Sandi - Microsoft MVP
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
If you have Acrobat Professional you do not need Acrobat Reader. Uninstall
the latter.

--

__________________________________________
Sandi's Site has changed - for instructions on how to
find old URLs, go here:
http://msmvps.com/spywaresucks/archive/2005/05/14/46971.aspx

Hyperlinks used to ensure advice is current
Sandi - Microsoft MVP since 1999
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org

Visit the Internet Explorer Community
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/community/default.mspx

"Philip Herlihy" <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
news:udjQowAWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
> the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
> However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
> takes longer to load).
>
> How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
> an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?
>
> --
> ####################
> ## PH, London
> ####################
>

Philip Herlihy
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Thanks, Don, Gary & Sandi,

I've tried the Acrobat suggestions Don put forward, but the problem
continues. I want to have both on my system because Acrobat Professional
takes an extravagant time to load, and I want to speed things up! Gary's
comments suggest I might have to live with it.

I'd have thought the association would be stored in the registry somewhere,
and could so be hacked. Any ideas where to look?

--
####################
## PH, London
####################
"Philip Herlihy" <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
news:udjQowAWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
> the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
> However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
> takes longer to load).
>
> How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
> an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?
>
> --
> ####################
> ## PH, London
> ####################
>

Tom Pepper Willett
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Both are *not* designed to work on the same system. Reader and Acrobat do
not coexist well, nor play well together.

Tom
"Philip Herlihy" <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
news:e2fsP9VWFHA.3636@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
| Thanks, Don, Gary & Sandi,
|
| I've tried the Acrobat suggestions Don put forward, but the problem
| continues. I want to have both on my system because Acrobat Professional
| takes an extravagant time to load, and I want to speed things up! Gary's
| comments suggest I might have to live with it.
|
| I'd have thought the association would be stored in the registry
somewhere,
| and could so be hacked. Any ideas where to look?
|
| --
| ####################
| ## PH, London
| ####################
| "Philip Herlihy" <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
| news:udjQowAWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
| > My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've
changed
| > the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by
default.
| > However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
| > takes longer to load).
| >
| > How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't
see
| > an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?
| >
| > --
| > ####################
| > ## PH, London
| > ####################
| >
|
|

Gary Smith
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
I think that the Adobe products change the registry settings, so hacking
them doesn't work for very long. If you're looking for a quick start, you
might try thr Foxit PDF Reader from http://www.foxitsoftware.com/.


Philip Herlihy <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote:
> Thanks, Don, Gary & Sandi,

> I've tried the Acrobat suggestions Don put forward, but the problem
> continues. I want to have both on my system because Acrobat Professional
> takes an extravagant time to load, and I want to speed things up! Gary's
> comments suggest I might have to live with it.

> I'd have thought the association would be stored in the registry somewhere,
> and could so be hacked. Any ideas where to look?

--
Gary L. Smith gls432@yahoo.com
Columbus, Ohio

Philip Herlihy
07-09-2005, 11:05 PM
Thanks, Tom, Gary: both contributions noted and appreciated.

--
####################
## PH, London
####################
"Philip Herlihy" <foof8501@herlihy.eu.veil.com> wrote in message
news:udjQowAWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> My system has both Acrobat Professional and Acrobat Reader. I've changed
> the file association for PDF files so that the Reader comes up by default.
> However, in IE6 (SP1) I still get the full (Professional) version (which
> takes longer to load).
>
> How can I control which version of Acrobat is loaded from IE? I can't see
> an option anywhere. How does this work, anyway?
>
> --
> ####################
> ## PH, London
> ####################
>


Document loads in "wrong" version of Acrobat