Microsoft VM with Windows XP SP2



Yvon
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
Hello!
here is my problem with MS VM. I am trying to have it running on a machine
but for whatever reason I cannot see the options under
IE/tools/options/advanced options.

I have installed on another machine the same software provided to me by a
bank and everything went fine. But with the other machine, I can see that
software is being installed and I can see the "installation complete" message
but I never get the prompt asking me to reboot.

I have executed the JView command and I was able to see that version 3810 is
installed. I have compared the AdvancedOptions\JAVA_VM section in the
registry between the machine I am having a problem with the one for which the
installation went fine and I can see significant differences.

I don't know what to do next other than using a tool to remove VM and then
go through the installation with builds 3805,09,10. But before proceeding
with this, I would appreciate some advice.

Thanks

Sandi - Microsoft MVP
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM
Yvon,

We have to bow to the inevitable and install the Sun version of Java. You
can find it here:
http://www.java.com/en/index.jsp

Just make sure that you uninstall any old versions via Control Panel,
Add/Remove Programs:
http://msmvps.com/spywaresucks/archive/2005/03/25/39584.aspx

--

__________________________________________
Sandi's Site has changed - for instructions on how to
find old URLs, go here:
http://msmvps.com/spywaresucks/archive/2005/05/14/46971.aspx

Hyperlinks used to ensure advice is current
Sandi - Microsoft MVP since 1999
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org

Visit the Internet Explorer Community
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/community/default.mspx

"Yvon" <Yvon@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:711C5436-D9DA-4432-B567-FD4EF224BCAC@microsoft.com...
> Hello!
> here is my problem with MS VM. I am trying to have it running on a machine
> but for whatever reason I cannot see the options under
> IE/tools/options/advanced options.
>
> I have installed on another machine the same software provided to me by a
> bank and everything went fine. But with the other machine, I can see that
> software is being installed and I can see the "installation complete"
> message
> but I never get the prompt asking me to reboot.
>
> I have executed the JView command and I was able to see that version 3810
> is
> installed. I have compared the AdvancedOptions\JAVA_VM section in the
> registry between the machine I am having a problem with the one for which
> the
> installation went fine and I can see significant differences.
>
> I don't know what to do next other than using a tool to remove VM and then
> go through the installation with builds 3805,09,10. But before proceeding
> with this, I would appreciate some advice.
>
> Thanks

Yvon
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM
Hello Sandi!

This is not a choice of mine to use MS VM. I would prefer to go with Sun
knowing there is no future for MS VM but the bank requires MS VM. A rep from
the bank told me that they are working on a new version compatible with Sun
but it is not available yet. In the meantime, I am expected to move to the
new version of their utility, which requires MS VM.

"Sandi - Microsoft MVP" wrote:

> Yvon,
>
> We have to bow to the inevitable and install the Sun version of Java. You
> can find it here:
> http://www.java.com/en/index.jsp
>
> Just make sure that you uninstall any old versions via Control Panel,
> Add/Remove Programs:
> http://msmvps.com/spywaresucks/archive/2005/03/25/39584.aspx
>
> --
>
> __________________________________________
> Sandi's Site has changed - for instructions on how to
> find old URLs, go here:
> http://msmvps.com/spywaresucks/archive/2005/05/14/46971.aspx
>
> Hyperlinks used to ensure advice is current
> Sandi - Microsoft MVP since 1999
> http://inetexplorer.mvps.org
>
> Visit the Internet Explorer Community
> http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/community/default.mspx
>
> "Yvon" <Yvon@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:711C5436-D9DA-4432-B567-FD4EF224BCAC@microsoft.com...
> > Hello!
> > here is my problem with MS VM. I am trying to have it running on a machine
> > but for whatever reason I cannot see the options under
> > IE/tools/options/advanced options.
> >
> > I have installed on another machine the same software provided to me by a
> > bank and everything went fine. But with the other machine, I can see that
> > software is being installed and I can see the "installation complete"
> > message
> > but I never get the prompt asking me to reboot.
> >
> > I have executed the JView command and I was able to see that version 3810
> > is
> > installed. I have compared the AdvancedOptions\JAVA_VM section in the
> > registry between the machine I am having a problem with the one for which
> > the
> > installation went fine and I can see significant differences.
> >
> > I don't know what to do next other than using a tool to remove VM and then
> > go through the installation with builds 3805,09,10. But before proceeding
> > with this, I would appreciate some advice.
> >
> > Thanks
>
>
>

Catti
07-09-2005, 10:04 PM
Hi Yvon,

I am curious, is the bank you're dealing with in Canada? I ask because I do
tech support for a major bank in Canada, and one of our corporate banking
sites (the one I support) does support Sun JVM (in fact if you don't have it,
you can't log in), another one does not. This causes conflicts for many of
our customers who use both sites. We've tried convincing the site owners to
change their coding for the non-Sun-java site but so far, no dice.

Banks are real Luddites when it comes to things technical anyway. People
have more trouble with bank sites than any others, unfortunately. All because
most of them won't update their sites to match what their customers are
running on their systems today. Too cheap to pay for the upgrades to servers
not to mention software and site coding. Sometimes you have to just grin and
bear it, or change to another bank that's got its sites out of the stone age.

Good luck,

Catti


"Yvon" wrote:

> Hello Sandi!
>
> This is not a choice of mine to use MS VM. I would prefer to go with Sun
> knowing there is no future for MS VM but the bank requires MS VM. A rep from
> the bank told me that they are working on a new version compatible with Sun
> but it is not available yet. In the meantime, I am expected to move to the
> new version of their utility, which requires MS VM.
>

Yvon
07-09-2005, 10:05 PM
Hi Catti!

yes, indeed it is a Canadian bank. Tech support from the bank was useless
even going to so called "level 2". Changing for another bank is easier said
than done when you rely on it for your business. Anyhow, I have managed to
get this issue resolved by removing VM and reinstalling from build 3809 and
on. Case is now closed

"Catti" wrote:

> Hi Yvon,
>
> I am curious, is the bank you're dealing with in Canada? I ask because I do
> tech support for a major bank in Canada, and one of our corporate banking
> sites (the one I support) does support Sun JVM (in fact if you don't have it,
> you can't log in), another one does not. This causes conflicts for many of
> our customers who use both sites. We've tried convincing the site owners to
> change their coding for the non-Sun-java site but so far, no dice.
>
> Banks are real Luddites when it comes to things technical anyway. People
> have more trouble with bank sites than any others, unfortunately. All because
> most of them won't update their sites to match what their customers are
> running on their systems today. Too cheap to pay for the upgrades to servers
> not to mention software and site coding. Sometimes you have to just grin and
> bear it, or change to another bank that's got its sites out of the stone age.
>
> Good luck,
>
> Catti
>
>
> "Yvon" wrote:
>
> > Hello Sandi!
> >
> > This is not a choice of mine to use MS VM. I would prefer to go with Sun
> > knowing there is no future for MS VM but the bank requires MS VM. A rep from
> > the bank told me that they are working on a new version compatible with Sun
> > but it is not available yet. In the meantime, I am expected to move to the
> > new version of their utility, which requires MS VM.
> >
>


Microsoft VM with Windows XP SP2