Re: Internet Explorer Hang



Robert Aldwinckle
07-09-2005, 11:03 PM
> The only way out is to reboot the pc via the power button,
> shutdown does not manage to shutdown explorer.

Have you tried taskkill? (from XP Support tools)

Can you start another task with iexplore.exe which does run?


---


"Greg V" <Greg V@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:B6C1F214-7E71-4A40-B104-DFFDA4B928E0@microsoft.com...
> Hi, I have a simular problem on a brand new system, preloaded Windows XP sp2.
> Its an IBM 8143-38u - Thinkcentre with 1gb ram, sata hard drive, 3.4ghz
> intel processor. The only additional components installed is MS Office and
> Trend OfficeScan AV.
>
> Internet explorer hangs, particularly easily on yahoos finance forums. The
> problem can be recreated on the system by randomly browsing the entire web
> until internet explorer locks. Once the browser is locked, going into task
> manager and selecting end task, it is recognized as a nonresponsive
> application, however, it will not actually end task, it does go through the
> motions of reporting the error to microsoft, but internet explorer does not
> close. Interestingly the cpu is showing 50 in task manager and memory at
> 22,396 in task manager and remains there. The only way out is to reboot the
> pc via the power button, shutdown does not manage to shutdown explorer.
>
> The error logs report iexplore.exe appver 6.0.2900.2180, modname hungapp,
> modver 0.0.0.0 offset 00000000. Fault bucket 126637809.
>
> This has occurred since the pc was purchased, to my best knowledge in
> scanning tasks and registry entries there is no spyware installed.
>
> If you can help with this let me know. ps. I've just tried the "netsh
> winsock reset" command and am awaiting the results of that.
>
> "Frank Saunders, MS-MVP IE/OE" wrote:
>
>> "KM1" <KM1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:91ECECFF-04D4-47C2-84AC-AEF58DF9B744@microsoft.com
>> > Isn't there anyone that will help and reply to our specific concerns. Had
>> > another creash today, this time, all of a suddent (after surfing for about
>> > an
>> > hour trouble free) could not get into a site. Hit stop, tried again, no
>> > go.
>> > Tried other sites no go, nothing, nata. Closed out of IE got an error,
>> > checked in event viewer, this time no error reported in there. Error said
>> > to
>> > click OK if I wanted to close program, did not copy down numbers on this
>> > one,
>> > funny it did not appear in event viewer. Once I had closed out of IE,
>> > went
>> > back on and was fine. Did not have to delete anything, worked as before.
>> > As
>> > I mentioned in my first post, clear all cookies, temp files, History, SSL
>> > certificates, and all autocompletes all the time. Sometimes more than
>> > twice
>> > a day. Run Adware Se with updated definetions and Webroot free scanner
>> > all
>> > the time and never find even a cookie, all deleted before scan. Have
>> > Lynksis
>> > router with good firewall, Mcafee security center with viruscan, firewall
>> > plus, and privacy service which contains popup blocker, add blocker, and
>> > web
>> > bug blocker. All popup blockers enabled in IE. Do not download anything
>> > from internet except updates and do not ever click on adds. Unlikely it
>> > is
>> > spyware problem. Would really like some help. Is something corrupt in
>> > my
>> > IE? Should I lower TIF from 252? If I delete all temp files like I do
>> > does
>> > this make a difference? Is my Content IE5 folder corrupt? What gives?
>> > Any
>> > help would be appreciated.
>> >
>> > "KM1" wrote:
>> >
>> >> Is it normal for an application hang to occur every once and awhile when
>> >> accessing pages on the internet. For example, I was accessing a support
>> >> page
>> >> on Mcafee's website regarding some set-up info in their tech support data
>> >> base and upon clicking on a page the hour class just held. I waited for
>> >> a
>> >> while, no change. Clicked the red X to close and it closed down IE.
>> >> Checked
>> >> the Event Viewer in program area and found two errors. The first was
>> >> Hanging
>> >> application IExplore.EXE hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang
>> >> address
>> >> 0x00000000. The second said Fault Bucket 126637809.
>> >>
>> >> My question, what is this error? Is it something that may occur every
>> >> once
>> >> in a while when accessing a website? Is there something wrong or corrupt
>> >> with my IE? I re-entered IE and went back to Mcafee's site and executed
>> >> the
>> >> same choices with no problem. Information came right up. I am running
>> >> Windows XP w/SP2 installed from factory. Run Mcafee Security Center with
>> >> Firewall Plus, Viruscan, and Privacy Service all up-to-date. Also have a
>> >> Linksys Router w/good firewall. Run Adware Se w/current definitions
>> >> along
>> >> with a free scanner from Webroot regularly (daily) and never find a
>> >> thing.
>> >> Always delet cookies, Intenet Temp Files, History, SSL certificates, and
>> >> all
>> >> autocompletes everytime I finish work on internet and before shutting
>> >> down.
>> >> Probably why my Spyware checks find nothing. Any information regarding
>> >> this
>> >> would be greatly appreciated.
>> >>
>> >> --
>> >> KM1
>>
>> First eliminate any spyware.
>> What You Should Know About Spyware
>> http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/devioussoftware.mspx
>>
>> CAUTION!!!!! Removing some spyware can damage the Winsock stact. Before
>> you try to remove spyware using any of these programs , download a copy of
>> LSP-Fix - a free program to repair damaged Winsock 2 stacks (all Windows
>> versions)
>> http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
>> Winsockfix for W95, W98, ME, NT, 2000, XP
>> http://www.tacktech.com/pub/winsockfix/WinsockFix.zip
>> Directions here: http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=257
>> WinXP:
>> Get WinSockxpFix
>> http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html
>> How to Reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) in Windows XP
>> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
>> In WinXP SP2: You can fix Winsock by going to Start | Run and typing
>> CMD
>> In the command window type
>> netsh winsock reset
>>
>> See
>> Dealing with Unwanted Malware, Parasites, Toolbars and Search Engines
>> http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/unwanted.htm
>>
>> Note that AdAware and SpyBot S & D will each catch some things the other
>> won't. Also, each needs to be updated with the program's update function
>> before every use, even when just downloaded. There's also a lot more to do
>> than just those two programs. CWShredder is also available here:
>> http://www.intermute.com/products/cwshredder
>> **Post your HijackThis log to
>> http://forums.spywareinfo.com/
>> http://forums.tomcoyote.org/
>> http://castlecops.com/forum67.html
>> http://www.wilderssecurity.com/ or the Spyware forum at
>> http://forum.aumha.org/viewforum.php?f=30 for expert analysis, not here.**
>> Alternative download pages for Ad-Aware, Spybot, HijackThis and CWShredder
>> may be found on this page:
>> http://aumha.org/a/parasite.htm.
>>
>> See this link for information about malware:
>> http://arstechnica.com/articles/paedia/malware.ars
>>
>> If nothing there helps, please post back to this thread.
>>
>> --
>> Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
>> Please respond in Newsgroup only. Do not send email
>> http://www.fjsmjs.com
>> Protect your PC
>> http://www.microsoft.com./athome/security/protect/default.aspx
>> http://defendingyourmachine.blogspot.com/
>>
>>
>>

Greg V
07-09-2005, 11:03 PM
I haven't tried taskkill. I did try installing different ram, and reapplying
windows sp2 after this happened as well (both separately).

I can start another internet explorer window, it loads the default homepage,
since its new it loads the msn page, then that window locks as well.

I've also run internet explorer with task manager open, I noticed just as it
starts to fail & lock, the cpu time creeps up on iexplore and gets to 50 and
a few more minutes of browsing locks it. The memory varies, but the cpu is
always 50.

"Robert Aldwinckle" wrote:

> > The only way out is to reboot the pc via the power button,
> > shutdown does not manage to shutdown explorer.
>
> Have you tried taskkill? (from XP Support tools)
>
> Can you start another task with iexplore.exe which does run?
>
>
> ---
>
>
> "Greg V" <Greg V@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:B6C1F214-7E71-4A40-B104-DFFDA4B928E0@microsoft.com...
> > Hi, I have a simular problem on a brand new system, preloaded Windows XP sp2.
> > Its an IBM 8143-38u - Thinkcentre with 1gb ram, sata hard drive, 3.4ghz
> > intel processor. The only additional components installed is MS Office and
> > Trend OfficeScan AV.
> >
> > Internet explorer hangs, particularly easily on yahoos finance forums. The
> > problem can be recreated on the system by randomly browsing the entire web
> > until internet explorer locks. Once the browser is locked, going into task
> > manager and selecting end task, it is recognized as a nonresponsive
> > application, however, it will not actually end task, it does go through the
> > motions of reporting the error to microsoft, but internet explorer does not
> > close. Interestingly the cpu is showing 50 in task manager and memory at
> > 22,396 in task manager and remains there. The only way out is to reboot the
> > pc via the power button, shutdown does not manage to shutdown explorer.
> >
> > The error logs report iexplore.exe appver 6.0.2900.2180, modname hungapp,
> > modver 0.0.0.0 offset 00000000. Fault bucket 126637809.
> >
> > This has occurred since the pc was purchased, to my best knowledge in
> > scanning tasks and registry entries there is no spyware installed.
> >
> > If you can help with this let me know. ps. I've just tried the "netsh
> > winsock reset" command and am awaiting the results of that.
> >
> > "Frank Saunders, MS-MVP IE/OE" wrote:
> >
> >> "KM1" <KM1@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:91ECECFF-04D4-47C2-84AC-AEF58DF9B744@microsoft.com
> >> > Isn't there anyone that will help and reply to our specific concerns. Had
> >> > another creash today, this time, all of a suddent (after surfing for about
> >> > an
> >> > hour trouble free) could not get into a site. Hit stop, tried again, no
> >> > go.
> >> > Tried other sites no go, nothing, nata. Closed out of IE got an error,
> >> > checked in event viewer, this time no error reported in there. Error said
> >> > to
> >> > click OK if I wanted to close program, did not copy down numbers on this
> >> > one,
> >> > funny it did not appear in event viewer. Once I had closed out of IE,
> >> > went
> >> > back on and was fine. Did not have to delete anything, worked as before.
> >> > As
> >> > I mentioned in my first post, clear all cookies, temp files, History, SSL
> >> > certificates, and all autocompletes all the time. Sometimes more than
> >> > twice
> >> > a day. Run Adware Se with updated definetions and Webroot free scanner
> >> > all
> >> > the time and never find even a cookie, all deleted before scan. Have
> >> > Lynksis
> >> > router with good firewall, Mcafee security center with viruscan, firewall
> >> > plus, and privacy service which contains popup blocker, add blocker, and
> >> > web
> >> > bug blocker. All popup blockers enabled in IE. Do not download anything
> >> > from internet except updates and do not ever click on adds. Unlikely it
> >> > is
> >> > spyware problem. Would really like some help. Is something corrupt in
> >> > my
> >> > IE? Should I lower TIF from 252? If I delete all temp files like I do
> >> > does
> >> > this make a difference? Is my Content IE5 folder corrupt? What gives?
> >> > Any
> >> > help would be appreciated.
> >> >
> >> > "KM1" wrote:
> >> >
> >> >> Is it normal for an application hang to occur every once and awhile when
> >> >> accessing pages on the internet. For example, I was accessing a support
> >> >> page
> >> >> on Mcafee's website regarding some set-up info in their tech support data
> >> >> base and upon clicking on a page the hour class just held. I waited for
> >> >> a
> >> >> while, no change. Clicked the red X to close and it closed down IE.
> >> >> Checked
> >> >> the Event Viewer in program area and found two errors. The first was
> >> >> Hanging
> >> >> application IExplore.EXE hang module hungapp, version 0.0.0.0, hang
> >> >> address
> >> >> 0x00000000. The second said Fault Bucket 126637809.
> >> >>
> >> >> My question, what is this error? Is it something that may occur every
> >> >> once
> >> >> in a while when accessing a website? Is there something wrong or corrupt
> >> >> with my IE? I re-entered IE and went back to Mcafee's site and executed
> >> >> the
> >> >> same choices with no problem. Information came right up. I am running
> >> >> Windows XP w/SP2 installed from factory. Run Mcafee Security Center with
> >> >> Firewall Plus, Viruscan, and Privacy Service all up-to-date. Also have a
> >> >> Linksys Router w/good firewall. Run Adware Se w/current definitions
> >> >> along
> >> >> with a free scanner from Webroot regularly (daily) and never find a
> >> >> thing.
> >> >> Always delet cookies, Intenet Temp Files, History, SSL certificates, and
> >> >> all
> >> >> autocompletes everytime I finish work on internet and before shutting
> >> >> down.
> >> >> Probably why my Spyware checks find nothing. Any information regarding
> >> >> this
> >> >> would be greatly appreciated.
> >> >>
> >> >> --
> >> >> KM1
> >>
> >> First eliminate any spyware.
> >> What You Should Know About Spyware
> >> http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/devioussoftware.mspx
> >>
> >> CAUTION!!!!! Removing some spyware can damage the Winsock stact. Before
> >> you try to remove spyware using any of these programs , download a copy of
> >> LSP-Fix - a free program to repair damaged Winsock 2 stacks (all Windows
> >> versions)
> >> http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm
> >> Winsockfix for W95, W98, ME, NT, 2000, XP
> >> http://www.tacktech.com/pub/winsockfix/WinsockFix.zip
> >> Directions here: http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=257
> >> WinXP:
> >> Get WinSockxpFix
> >> http://www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html

> >> How to Reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) in Windows XP
> >> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
> >> In WinXP SP2: You can fix Winsock by going to Start | Run and typing
> >> CMD
> >> In the command window type
> >> netsh winsock reset
> >>
> >> See
> >> Dealing with Unwanted Malware, Parasites, Toolbars and Search Engines
> >> http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/unwanted.htm
> >>
> >> Note that AdAware and SpyBot S & D will each catch some things the other
> >> won't. Also, each needs to be updated with the program's update function
> >> before every use, even when just downloaded. There's also a lot more to do
> >> than just those two programs. CWShredder is also available here:
> >> http://www.intermute.com/products/cwshredder
> >> **Post your HijackThis log to
> >> http://forums.spywareinfo.com/
> >> http://forums.tomcoyote.org/
> >> http://castlecops.com/forum67.html
> >> http://www.wilderssecurity.com/ or the Spyware forum at
> >> http://forum.aumha.org/viewforum.php?f=30 for expert analysis, not here.**
> >> Alternative download pages for Ad-Aware, Spybot, HijackThis and CWShredder
> >> may be found on this page:
> >> http://aumha.org/a/parasite.htm.
> >>
> >> See this link for information about malware:
> >> http://arstechnica.com/articles/paedia/malware.ars
> >>
> >> If nothing there helps, please post back to this thread.
> >>
> >> --
> >> Frank Saunders, MS-MVP, IE/OE
> >> Please respond in Newsgroup only. Do not send email
> >> http://www.fjsmjs.com
> >> Protect your PC
> >> http://www.microsoft.com./athome/security/protect/default.aspx
> >> http://defendingyourmachine.blogspot.com/
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>
>

Robert Aldwinckle
07-09-2005, 11:03 PM
"Greg V" <GregV@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:B5563B84-817F-49B3-8868-E40F258D0F94@microsoft.com...
>I haven't tried taskkill. I did try installing different ram, and reapplying
> windows sp2 after this happened as well (both separately).
>
> I can start another internet explorer window, it loads the default homepage,
> since its new it loads the msn page, then that window locks as well.

That's interesting. Check with netstat -a what connections still exist
with that site. It could be that you have more than 2 (an RFC mandated
limit) in which case you would be prevented from having any more until
those went away.

There is a registry hack circumvention for that case:

<title>KB183110 - INFO: WinInet Limits Connections Per Server</title>


Alternatively, especially for your second task, you could try changing
your Home page or just try starting another link either from the Start
menu (e.g. a Favorite from there) or use Run... with some other one.


>
> I've also run internet explorer with task manager open, I noticed just as it
> starts to fail & lock, the cpu time creeps up on iexplore and gets to 50 and
> a few more minutes of browsing locks it. The memory varies, but the cpu is
> always 50.

I could be interesting to try to do some profiling of that activity.
One simple thing to try would be to use RegMon and FileMon.
First-guess filter for each would be: iexplore


Good luck

Robert
---

Greg V
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
Tried taskkill... reports the process id killed, but the window still open.
Also, firefox stops working when internet explorer hangs. Got that reported
back from one of the two users suffering through this that had an IE window
open along with firefox.

I didn't get a chance to run netstat-a... appologies for that.

The homepage is different on the pc's reporting.. one is our page, one is
msn, one is hgtv.

"Robert Aldwinckle" wrote:

> "Greg V" <GregV@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:B5563B84-817F-49B3-8868-E40F258D0F94@microsoft.com...
> >I haven't tried taskkill. I did try installing different ram, and reapplying
> > windows sp2 after this happened as well (both separately).
> >
> > I can start another internet explorer window, it loads the default homepage,
> > since its new it loads the msn page, then that window locks as well.
>
> That's interesting. Check with netstat -a what connections still exist
> with that site. It could be that you have more than 2 (an RFC mandated
> limit) in which case you would be prevented from having any more until
> those went away.
>
> There is a registry hack circumvention for that case:
>
> <title>KB183110 - INFO: WinInet Limits Connections Per Server</title>
>
>
> Alternatively, especially for your second task, you could try changing
> your Home page or just try starting another link either from the Start
> menu (e.g. a Favorite from there) or use Run... with some other one.
>
>
> >
> > I've also run internet explorer with task manager open, I noticed just as it
> > starts to fail & lock, the cpu time creeps up on iexplore and gets to 50 and
> > a few more minutes of browsing locks it. The memory varies, but the cpu is
> > always 50.
>
> I could be interesting to try to do some profiling of that activity.
> One simple thing to try would be to use RegMon and FileMon.
> First-guess filter for each would be: iexplore
>
>
> Good luck
>
> Robert
> ---
>
>
>
>

Greg V
07-09-2005, 11:04 PM
locked again... netstat -a is clean showing

tcp-epmap
tcp-microsoft-ds
tcp-59628
tcp-microsoft-ssn
tcp-1026
udp-microsoft-ds
udp-isakmp
udp-1035
udp-1054
udp-1081
udp-1082
udp-4500
udp-ntp
udp-netbios-ns
udp-netbios-dgm
udp-1900
udp-ntp
udp-1900
udp-3245

"Robert Aldwinckle" wrote:

> "Greg V" <GregV@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:B5563B84-817F-49B3-8868-E40F258D0F94@microsoft.com...
> >I haven't tried taskkill. I did try installing different ram, and reapplying
> > windows sp2 after this happened as well (both separately).
> >
> > I can start another internet explorer window, it loads the default homepage,
> > since its new it loads the msn page, then that window locks as well.
>
> That's interesting. Check with netstat -a what connections still exist
> with that site. It could be that you have more than 2 (an RFC mandated
> limit) in which case you would be prevented from having any more until
> those went away.
>
> There is a registry hack circumvention for that case:
>
> <title>KB183110 - INFO: WinInet Limits Connections Per Server</title>
>
>
> Alternatively, especially for your second task, you could try changing
> your Home page or just try starting another link either from the Start
> menu (e.g. a Favorite from there) or use Run... with some other one.
>
>
> >
> > I've also run internet explorer with task manager open, I noticed just as it
> > starts to fail & lock, the cpu time creeps up on iexplore and gets to 50 and
> > a few more minutes of browsing locks it. The memory varies, but the cpu is
> > always 50.
>
> I could be interesting to try to do some profiling of that activity.
> One simple thing to try would be to use RegMon and FileMon.
> First-guess filter for each would be: iexplore
>
>
> Good luck
>
> Robert
> ---
>
>
>
>


Re: Internet Explorer Hang