Re: Search features for IE in TweakUI



Robert Aldwinckle
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
You have to enable Search from the Address bar.
(Options, Advanced tab, Search from the Address bar section)
Radio button: Just display the results in the main window

Also, that machinery can be interfered with by third-party toolbars
and search sites (intentionally or not). So try uninstalling or disabling
such products if the above option is not sufficient.


---


"Kallemyran" <Kallemyran@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:17092F7E-DBFD-44E6-B08A-0855DF23E63B@microsoft.com...
> Hi!
> In TweakUi for xp there is an option were you can direct addresss bar
> searches in different search engins by making a prefix for the search engins
> URL.
> I can not get this to work at all. for example. if I enter a prefix "gogla"
> for the URL: http://www.google.se/search?hl=sv&q=%s It states that %s wil be
> replaced by the search string. So if I enter "gogla car" i would get search
> results from google for the word car.
> To put it simple....NO it does not!!
> Please help

Kallemyran
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
I have had search from addressbar enabled from start and I do not have any
toolbars or search sites. It still doesent work. I feel that I have missed
something obvious. Do you hav this feature up and running??

"Robert Aldwinckle" wrote:

> You have to enable Search from the Address bar.
> (Options, Advanced tab, Search from the Address bar section)
> Radio button: Just display the results in the main window
>
> Also, that machinery can be interfered with by third-party toolbars
> and search sites (intentionally or not). So try uninstalling or disabling
> such products if the above option is not sufficient.
>
>
> ---
>
>
> "Kallemyran" <Kallemyran@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:17092F7E-DBFD-44E6-B08A-0855DF23E63B@microsoft.com...
> > Hi!
> > In TweakUi for xp there is an option were you can direct addresss bar
> > searches in different search engins by making a prefix for the search engins
> > URL.
> > I can not get this to work at all. for example. if I enter a prefix "gogla"
> > for the URL: http://www.google.se/search?hl=sv&q=%s It states that %s wil be
> > replaced by the search string. So if I enter "gogla car" i would get search
> > results from google for the word car.
> > To put it simple....NO it does not!!
> > Please help
>
>
>
>
>

Robert Aldwinckle
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
"Kallemyran" <Kallemyran@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:0A24492B-DF7C-43F8-B63E-AFD8C0C2D5D0@microsoft.com...
>I have had search from addressbar enabled from start and I do not have any
> toolbars or search sites. It still doesent work. I feel that I have missed
> something obvious. Do you hav this feature up and running??


Something similar. I don't use TweakUI but I do use Quick Search.exe
(from the IE5 Web Accessories)


What happens if you just use Search from the Address bar
with ? (i.e., standard question mark, find or go command prefix)?

If you have access to another machine or partition which is working
normally you could compare its registry accesses with your problem
system's registry accesses using RegMon (freeware from SysInternals.)
Include filter would be iexplore


Good luck

Robert
---

Kallemyran
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
No luck! I give up! The time spent on this problem is unproportional to the
reward I could get from the search feature. Thanks for your time and help.
Best Regard
Thomas

"Robert Aldwinckle" wrote:

> "Kallemyran" <Kallemyran@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:0A24492B-DF7C-43F8-B63E-AFD8C0C2D5D0@microsoft.com...
> >I have had search from addressbar enabled from start and I do not have any
> > toolbars or search sites. It still doesent work. I feel that I have missed
> > something obvious. Do you hav this feature up and running??
>
>
> Something similar. I don't use TweakUI but I do use Quick Search.exe
> (from the IE5 Web Accessories)
>
>
> What happens if you just use Search from the Address bar
> with ? (i.e., standard question mark, find or go command prefix)?
>
> If you have access to another machine or partition which is working
> normally you could compare its registry accesses with your problem
> system's registry accesses using RegMon (freeware from SysInternals.)
> Include filter would be iexplore
>
>
> Good luck
>
> Robert
> ---
>
>
>

Zilbandy
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
"Kallemyran" <Kallemyran@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>No luck! I give up! The time spent on this problem is unproportional to the
>reward I could get from the search feature. Thanks for your time and help.
>Best Regard

If you are still following this thread, you might search for a browser
called "Slim Browser". It uses the IE engine, but provides a search
bar, programmable to any search engine (I have mine set to Google). It
also has tabbed browsing plus extra options. It's not a bad
alternative to IE, and, it's free.


Re: Search features for IE in TweakUI