(IE6) Search button doesn't! :o(



GerryP777
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
This button used to work fine but now (although it appears the same), it
never finds anything e.g. if you ask it to search for "planet free", it says
"The page cannot be displayed" and put "http://planet%20free/" into the
address.
I regularly use NAV and Spybot and occasionally others so I'm hoping I
don't have any nasty BHO/hijackers etc.
Any ideas what's happening ? Thanks, Gerry :o)

Jon Kennedy
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
This may be caused by spyware/malware that's gotten installed on
your system. Use Ad-Aware and/or Spybot Search & Destroy to remove it.

Ad-Aware: http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
Spybot: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html
Good sites on how to install and use Spybot -
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/tutorial/index.html
http://tomcoyote.com/SPYBOT/index1.php

Also download a winsock repair tool, to have just in case cleaning up
anything found breaks it -

Winsock repair tools:
LSPFix- all versions of Windows http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.zip
Winsock2 Fix- Win98, ME
http://www.bu.edu/pcsc/internetaccess/winsock2fix.html
LavaSoft- all versions of Windows-
http://digital-solutions.co.uk/lavasoft/whndnfix.zip

More information here:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/Darnit.htm
http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/ - runs a little script when loading page to
check for common parasites

If no joy, in IE go to Tools...Internet Options...Advanced tab, Browsing
section, uncheck "Enable third-party browser extensions", click Apply, click
Okay, reboot. If that solves your problem, then more troubleshooting is
needed to find out exactly which program, or Browser Helper Object (BHO) is
causing this problem. You don't want to leave it at that, as some BHOs are
useful or necessary - like Adobe Acrobat for reading .pdf files or an
essential component of Norton AV. Get BHODemon -
http://www.definitivesolutions.com/bhodemon.htm - read all about BHOs.
Disable all items, and then gradually replace one or two at a time to narrow
down the culprit.

Or if you have IE 6 SP-2 you can do this within the browser:
How to manage Internet Explorer add-ons in Windows XP Service Pack 2
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;883256

If all the above fails, then the problem could be something new that the
spyware cleaners above don't have in their databases yet. In that case....
HijackThis direct download:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/files/hijackthis.zip
Tutorial on how to use HijackThis:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/htlogtutorial.html
Then post it's output log to the forum here for analysis and feedback by the
parasite experts:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/forums/
Or the other HijackThis Logs forums listed here:
http://www.spywareinfo.com/~merijn/forums.html

Or try this program to get some of the most nasty malware:
CWShredder direct download:
http://aumha.org/downloads/cwshredder.zip

An alternate resource for all of this and more:
http://www.aumha.org/secure.htm

After making sure your system is clear via the above, here's a page that has
..reg files to reset your IE search settings to their defaults (and more
troubleshooting as well):
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/answers4.htm#search_engine

--

Jon R. Kennedy
Charlotte, NC, USA
jkennedy2@carolina.rr.com

"GerryP777" <GerryP777@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:CD8CE345-D02F-4F59-868F-E889B7CCA9C0@microsoft.com...
> This button used to work fine but now (although it appears the same), it
> never finds anything e.g. if you ask it to search for "planet free", it
> says
> "The page cannot be displayed" and put "http://planet%20free/" into the
> address.
> I regularly use NAV and Spybot and occasionally others so I'm hoping I
> don't have any nasty BHO/hijackers etc.
> Any ideas what's happening ? Thanks, Gerry :o)

GerryP777
07-09-2005, 10:03 PM
Hi Jon,

Wow! That was an extensive answer -- thanks (and sorry to take so much of
your time). I'll work my way through your suggestions.
btw: I do already regularly run NAV and SpyBot (also occasionally
CWShredder and HijackThis) and they haven't found it. I've not used AdAware
- is that a freebie?
I'll try the other things. Thanks, Gerry :o)

"GerryP777" wrote:

> This button used to work fine but now (although it appears the same), it
> never finds anything e.g. if you ask it to search for "planet free", it says
> "The page cannot be displayed" and put "http://planet%20free/" into the
> address.
> I regularly use NAV and Spybot and occasionally others so I'm hoping I
> don't have any nasty BHO/hijackers etc.
> Any ideas what's happening ? Thanks, Gerry :o)


(IE6) Search button doesn't! :o(