Processor



Jim L
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase order
and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
Thanks

--
Jim,

Bill Martin -- (Remove NOSPAM from address)
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
Jim L wrote:

How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase order and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz... Thanks


With XP open up the "My Computer" icon and click on "View System Information".  The "General" tab of the window that pops up will read out your machine manufacturer, CPU and speed along with RAM and some other things.

Good luck....

Bill

Patti MacLeod
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
Hi Jim L,

Since you're running XP, chances are that your processor clock speed would
be greater than 200Mhz. Right-click on My Computer and then select
Properties. Under the General tab, in the "Computer" section, it should tell
you what type processor and its clock speed.



Regards,

--
Patti MacLeod
Microsoft MVP - Windows Shell/User

"Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase order
> and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
> Thanks
>
> --
> Jim,
>
>

Nepatsfan
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
If you're running Windows XP then your processor is probably well
over that speed.

That said, here's the easiest way to find that information:

Go to Start -> Control Panel -> System.
Near the bottom of the General page you should see information
concerning your processor.

You can also obtain computer info from within the Help and
Support Center. Go to Start -> Help and Support and click on "Use
Tools to view computer information and diagnose problems".
--
Nepatsfan
"Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my
> purchase order and a device I want to add says I need at least
> 200Mhz...
> Thanks
>
> --
> Jim,
>
>

Jim L
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that sound about
right?

"Nepatsfan" <nepatsfan@SBXXXIX.com> wrote in message
news:Ps6dncUOhdVp-h7fRVn-oQ@comcast.com...
> If you're running Windows XP then your processor is probably well over
> that speed.
>
> That said, here's the easiest way to find that information:
>
> Go to Start -> Control Panel -> System.
> Near the bottom of the General page you should see information concerning
> your processor.
>
> You can also obtain computer info from within the Help and Support Center.
> Go to Start -> Help and Support and click on "Use Tools to view computer
> information and diagnose problems".
> --
> Nepatsfan
> "Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
> news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
>> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase
>> order and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
>> Thanks
>>
>> --
>> Jim,
>>
>>
>
>

Patti MacLeod
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
You're welcome, and yes that sounds about right :-)



Regards,

--
Patti MacLeod
Microsoft MVP - Windows Shell/User

"Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:GfKge.1532$LO1.1506@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that sound
about
> right?
>
> "Nepatsfan" <nepatsfan@SBXXXIX.com> wrote in message
> news:Ps6dncUOhdVp-h7fRVn-oQ@comcast.com...
> > If you're running Windows XP then your processor is probably well over
> > that speed.
> >
> > That said, here's the easiest way to find that information:
> >
> > Go to Start -> Control Panel -> System.
> > Near the bottom of the General page you should see information
concerning
> > your processor.
> >
> > You can also obtain computer info from within the Help and Support
Center.
> > Go to Start -> Help and Support and click on "Use Tools to view computer
> > information and diagnose problems".
> > --
> > Nepatsfan
> > "Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
> > news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> >> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase
> >> order and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
> >> Thanks
> >>
> >> --
> >> Jim,
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

R. C. White
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
Hi, Jim.

<Win>+<Break>

There are other ways, but my favorite is to simply hold down the Windows
logo key (between <Ctrl> and <Alt> on most modern keyboards) and the
Pause/Break key (usually in the upper right part of the keyboard). This
pops up the System Properties window in your face. (That's the same window
you get from Control Panel | System, for example.

On that screen, under Computer, you should see information about your
hardware, including the speed of your CPU.

RC
--
R. C. White, CPA
San Marcos, TX
rc@corridor.net
Microsoft Windows MVP

"Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase order
> and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
> Thanks
>
> --
> Jim,

Harry Ohrn
07-09-2005, 09:09 PM
The minimum requirement for the hardware is 200Mhz and you have 1450Mhz a
processor. It looks like your processor exceeds the minimum requirement.

When processors surpass 1000Mhz they are often reported in Gigahertz as
opposed to Megahertz. So your 1450Mhz process can also be identified as
1.45Ghz. Sometimes the value is rounded up in which case the 1.45 could be
listed as 1.5Ghz.

You can learn more about your hardware by going to
Programs->Accessories->System Tools->System Information or by going to
Start->Run and type msinfo32. There are also freeware apps that will give
you even more information. One such tool is Everest
http://www.lavalys.com/products/overview.php?pid=1&lang=en
--

Harry Ohrn MS-MVP [Shell/User]
www.webtree.ca/windowsxp


"Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:GfKge.1532$LO1.1506@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that sound
about
> right?
>
> "Nepatsfan" <nepatsfan@SBXXXIX.com> wrote in message
> news:Ps6dncUOhdVp-h7fRVn-oQ@comcast.com...
> > If you're running Windows XP then your processor is probably well over
> > that speed.
> >
> > That said, here's the easiest way to find that information:
> >
> > Go to Start -> Control Panel -> System.
> > Near the bottom of the General page you should see information
concerning
> > your processor.
> >
> > You can also obtain computer info from within the Help and Support
Center.
> > Go to Start -> Help and Support and click on "Use Tools to view computer
> > information and diagnose problems".
> > --
> > Nepatsfan
> > "Jim L" <pcv@earthlink.net> wrote in message
> > news:4kJge.1499$LO1.248@newsread2.news.atl.earthlink.net...
> >> How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase
> >> order and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
> >> Thanks
> >>
> >> --
> >> Jim,
> >>
> >>
> >
> >
>
>

Gordon
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Jim L wrote:
|| How do I determine how many Mhz my processor has? I lost my purchase
|| order and a device I want to add says I need at least 200Mhz...
|| Thanks

I would guess that if you bought your machine new in the last couple of
years it will be WAY more than 200MHz!


--
Gordon Burgess-Parker
Interim Systems and Management Accounting
www.gbpcomputing.co.uk

Miss Perspicacia Tick
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
Jim L wrote:
> Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that
> sound about right?

How the bloody hell should we know? You're the one sitting in front of your
computer!

I reckon the original message wasn't 200MHz but 200MB - the former is a
measure of frequency (which equates to speed in this sense) the latter
capacity...

I think you're asking the wrong question...




--
In memory of MS MVP Alex Nichol: http://www.dts-l.org/

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
"Miss Perspicacia Tick" <test@test.com> skrev i meddelandet
news:3TQge.36744$a25.9376@fe06.highwinds-media.phx...
> Jim L wrote:
>> Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that
>> sound about right?
>
> How the bloody hell should we know? You're the one sitting in front of
> your computer!
>
> I reckon the original message wasn't 200MHz but 200MB - the former is a
> measure of frequency (which equates to speed in this sense) the latter
> capacity...
>
> I think you're asking the wrong question...
>
> --
> In memory of MS MVP Alex Nichol: http://www.dts-l.org/

And what the hell is it with you!!? Open your eyes and stop being so nasty!

Gunilla

Harry Ohrn
07-09-2005, 09:10 PM
"Miss Perspicacia Tick" <test@test.com> wrote in message
news:3TQge.36744$a25.9376@fe06.highwinds-media.phx...
> Jim L wrote:
>> Thank you all very much. It looks like I have 1495mhz. Does that
>> sound about right?
>
> How the bloody hell should we know? You're the one sitting in front of
> your computer!
>
> I reckon the original message wasn't 200MHz but 200MB - the former is a
> measure of frequency (which equates to speed in this sense) the latter
> capacity...
>
> I think you're asking the wrong question...
>
>

It is not uncommon for hardware devices to list minimum specs.


--

Harry Ohrn MS-MVP [Shell/User]
www.webtree.ca/windowsxp


Processor