Analogue Capture Problem



Andy L
07-09-2005, 09:59 PM
New Clean Install of Windows XP with SP2.
When trying to capture analogue video in Windows Movie Maker 2.1 more often
than not it either says "the Video Device is in use, close any programs that
are using it and try again", or comes up with "unknown error". I have XP
Home, NOT Media Edition so the only fix on the MS FAQ doesn't apply, and yes,
I did try it just in case. No other programs are using the video device, at
least none that I know about! Very ocassionaly it seems to work, but there is
no predicting it.

Reading the other posts here there seem to be quite a few video capture
issues with XP SP2. I don't have SP1, this was a brand new retail packed MS
XP Home with SP2...
All and any help gratefully received.

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-09-2005, 09:59 PM
Movie Maker is very fussy about analog video. Did your capture card come
with other capture software you can try?
--
Cari
(MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)

"Andy L" <Andy L@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:3CF6D683-2808-421C-ABE7-89439DCB3346@microsoft.com...
> New Clean Install of Windows XP with SP2.
> When trying to capture analogue video in Windows Movie Maker 2.1 more
> often
> than not it either says "the Video Device is in use, close any programs
> that
> are using it and try again", or comes up with "unknown error". I have XP
> Home, NOT Media Edition so the only fix on the MS FAQ doesn't apply, and
> yes,
> I did try it just in case. No other programs are using the video device,
> at
> least none that I know about! Very ocassionaly it seems to work, but there
> is
> no predicting it.
>
> Reading the other posts here there seem to be quite a few video capture
> issues with XP SP2. I don't have SP1, this was a brand new retail packed
> MS
> XP Home with SP2...
> All and any help gratefully received.
>
>

Andy L
07-09-2005, 09:59 PM
Hi Cari,

Yes it came with Cyberlink Power Director 3DE. Which seems to work, but not
always...
But Movie Maker seems to have better facilities, so I would like to be able
to use it. All said XP has not been a rip roaring success so far for me!
The video capture facility was a bit of a "bonus" as it is incorporated on
my Abit radeon 9600XT-VIO graphics card. Not much of a bonus so far though!
Other system details: Athlon 2400XP, 512Mb RAM, 250Gb SATA hard drive.
Thanks for responding.

Andy.

"Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> Movie Maker is very fussy about analog video. Did your capture card come
> with other capture software you can try?
> --
> Cari
> (MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)
>
> "Andy L" <Andy L@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:3CF6D683-2808-421C-ABE7-89439DCB3346@microsoft.com...
> > New Clean Install of Windows XP with SP2.
> > When trying to capture analogue video in Windows Movie Maker 2.1 more
> > often
> > than not it either says "the Video Device is in use, close any programs
> > that
> > are using it and try again", or comes up with "unknown error". I have XP
> > Home, NOT Media Edition so the only fix on the MS FAQ doesn't apply, and
> > yes,
> > I did try it just in case. No other programs are using the video device,
> > at
> > least none that I know about! Very ocassionaly it seems to work, but there
> > is
> > no predicting it.
> >
> > Reading the other posts here there seem to be quite a few video capture
> > issues with XP SP2. I don't have SP1, this was a brand new retail packed
> > MS
> > XP Home with SP2...
> > All and any help gratefully received.
> >
> >
>
>
>
>

da_test
07-09-2005, 09:59 PM
On Fri, 27 May 2005 13:55:44 -0700, Andy L
<AndyL@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>Hi Cari,
>
>Yes it came with Cyberlink Power Director 3DE. Which seems to work, but not
>always...
>But Movie Maker seems to have better facilities, so I would like to be able
>to use it. All said XP has not been a rip roaring success so far for me!
>The video capture facility was a bit of a "bonus" as it is incorporated on
>my Abit radeon 9600XT-VIO graphics card. Not much of a bonus so far though!
>Other system details: Athlon 2400XP, 512Mb RAM, 250Gb SATA hard drive.
>Thanks for responding.
>
>Andy.

Have you tried virtualdub version 1.6.x, or maybe VirtualVcr ?

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-09-2005, 09:59 PM
You could always capture with PowerDirector, then save the file as DV-AVI
and then import that file into WMM for your editing.
--
Cari
(MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)

"Andy L" <AndyL@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:1BB8F132-2C03-4B48-BC29-A190BAF360F7@microsoft.com...
> Hi Cari,
>
> Yes it came with Cyberlink Power Director 3DE. Which seems to work, but
> not
> always...
> But Movie Maker seems to have better facilities, so I would like to be
> able
> to use it. All said XP has not been a rip roaring success so far for me!
> The video capture facility was a bit of a "bonus" as it is incorporated on
> my Abit radeon 9600XT-VIO graphics card. Not much of a bonus so far
> though!
> Other system details: Athlon 2400XP, 512Mb RAM, 250Gb SATA hard drive.
> Thanks for responding.
>
> Andy.
>
> "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>
>> Movie Maker is very fussy about analog video. Did your capture card come
>> with other capture software you can try?
>> --
>> Cari
>> (MS-MVP Printing & Imaging)
>>
>> "Andy L" <Andy L@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:3CF6D683-2808-421C-ABE7-89439DCB3346@microsoft.com...
>> > New Clean Install of Windows XP with SP2.
>> > When trying to capture analogue video in Windows Movie Maker 2.1 more
>> > often
>> > than not it either says "the Video Device is in use, close any programs
>> > that
>> > are using it and try again", or comes up with "unknown error". I have
>> > XP
>> > Home, NOT Media Edition so the only fix on the MS FAQ doesn't apply,
>> > and
>> > yes,
>> > I did try it just in case. No other programs are using the video
>> > device,
>> > at
>> > least none that I know about! Very ocassionaly it seems to work, but
>> > there
>> > is
>> > no predicting it.
>> >
>> > Reading the other posts here there seem to be quite a few video capture
>> > issues with XP SP2. I don't have SP1, this was a brand new retail
>> > packed
>> > MS
>> > XP Home with SP2...
>> > All and any help gratefully received.
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>
>>
>


Analogue Capture Problem