WinMedia 10 plays videos "jumpy" and out of sync with with the aud



XP Gorillaz Fan
07-09-2005, 10:58 PM
It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram, huh? That's
what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's sake. Is
anyone else getting this problem?

V Green
07-09-2005, 10:58 PM
Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.

"XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram, huh?
That's
> what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's sake. Is
> anyone else getting this problem?

XP Gorillaz Fan
07-09-2005, 10:58 PM
what is kinda odd tho, is when I was using W2k Pro and MP9 on the same
system, it worked fine. That's why I thought it was a tweaking issue. I would
just go back to MP9, but I don't want to lose my napster files quite yet...

"V Green" wrote:

> Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
> a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.
>
> "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> > It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram, huh?
> That's
> > what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's sake. Is
> > anyone else getting this problem?
>
>
>

V Green
07-09-2005, 10:58 PM
Makes sense, though.

Every version of WMP that comes out uses more
CPU than the last to do the same thing and adds
more useless crap to further slow things down.

What might help your problem is another player
altogether, one written for performance, not for
DRM.

http://www.doom9.org/

downloads>>players


"XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:EE277322-0147-4218-B5F7-2023C2EC6142@microsoft.com...
> what is kinda odd tho, is when I was using W2k Pro and MP9 on the same
> system, it worked fine. That's why I thought it was a tweaking issue. I
would
> just go back to MP9, but I don't want to lose my napster files quite
yet...
>
> "V Green" wrote:
>
> > Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
> > a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.
> >
> > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message
> > news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> > > It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram, huh?
> > That's
> > > what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's sake.
Is
> > > anyone else getting this problem?
> >
> >
> >

XP Gorillaz Fan
07-09-2005, 10:59 PM
That's so awesome dude! Thanx a bunch! I didn't actually get one from that
site cuz it was all dvd/divx/etc players, and I don't have a dvdrom. I did
find WinAmp's video player tho, and it seems to work fine. The resampling is
a little... "off." Let's say that. It get's hella pixelated in full screen,
but it plays really well!! I can't believe I didn't think of that sooner...

"V Green" wrote:

> Makes sense, though.
>
> Every version of WMP that comes out uses more
> CPU than the last to do the same thing and adds
> more useless crap to further slow things down.
>
> What might help your problem is another player
> altogether, one written for performance, not for
> DRM.
>
> http://www.doom9.org/
>
> downloads>>players
>
>
> "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:EE277322-0147-4218-B5F7-2023C2EC6142@microsoft.com...
> > what is kinda odd tho, is when I was using W2k Pro and MP9 on the same
> > system, it worked fine. That's why I thought it was a tweaking issue. I
> would
> > just go back to MP9, but I don't want to lose my napster files quite
> yet...
> >
> > "V Green" wrote:
> >
> > > Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
> > > a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.
> > >
> > > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> message
> > > news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> > > > It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram, huh?
> > > That's
> > > > what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's sake.
> Is
> > > > anyone else getting this problem?
> > >
> > >
> > >
>
>
>

V Green
07-09-2005, 10:59 PM
Might try this:

start>>run>>mplayer2

This will bring up old Media Player 6.4, which
is waaayyy less of a resource hog. See what happens.

Also might try:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=82303&package_id=84358

media player classic. Heard lots of good things about this, but
have never needed to try it.


"XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:ACE2FAEF-4B8A-41DA-8061-0C998DCDF64E@microsoft.com...
> That's so awesome dude! Thanx a bunch! I didn't actually get one from that
> site cuz it was all dvd/divx/etc players, and I don't have a dvdrom. I did
> find WinAmp's video player tho, and it seems to work fine. The resampling
is
> a little... "off." Let's say that. It get's hella pixelated in full
screen,
> but it plays really well!! I can't believe I didn't think of that
sooner...
>
> "V Green" wrote:
>
> > Makes sense, though.
> >
> > Every version of WMP that comes out uses more
> > CPU than the last to do the same thing and adds
> > more useless crap to further slow things down.
> >
> > What might help your problem is another player
> > altogether, one written for performance, not for
> > DRM.
> >
> > http://www.doom9.org/
> >
> > downloads>>players
> >
> >
> > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
message
> > news:EE277322-0147-4218-B5F7-2023C2EC6142@microsoft.com...
> > > what is kinda odd tho, is when I was using W2k Pro and MP9 on the same
> > > system, it worked fine. That's why I thought it was a tweaking issue.
I
> > would
> > > just go back to MP9, but I don't want to lose my napster files quite
> > yet...
> > >
> > > "V Green" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
> > > > a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.
> > > >
> > > > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> > message
> > > > news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> > > > > It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram,
huh?
> > > > That's
> > > > > what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's
sake.
> > Is
> > > > > anyone else getting this problem?
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> >
> >
> >

XP Gorillaz Fan
07-09-2005, 10:59 PM
Ok, this is what I got when I tried the mplayer2 thing. It was trying to
download something that looked like WinMedia 9 (don't remember the exact
file), so I clicked no, cuz I didn't want 9 to install. Got this error msg
right after:

Your security settings do not allow the new decompressor to be installed. To
fix, set your browser's security settings for the Internet zone to Medium or
lower. (Error=80040200)

So whatever, went back and installed the thing (MS Verification BS), and it
ran better than 10 did, a whole lot better... so that's another option!

From Sourceforge.net, I didn't realize what it was until I installed it.
I've already tried using it b4, it worx for audio files... it's killer for
audio, actually. I think that's the one that can play mp3, wav, wmv, ra,
maybe acc... can't remember. But they must use the same type of video codec
as 10 cuz it got all jumpy again. It stayed synched with the music, but
looked terrible...

Cheers to you! You led me to two answers that work perfectly! The WinAmp
vid/tv plugins are damn cool. You kinda need to have 5.9 Pro, but that's no
prob... Still need to work on the hardware tho, nah mean?


"V Green" wrote:

> Might try this:
>
> start>>run>>mplayer2
>
> This will bring up old Media Player 6.4, which
> is waaayyy less of a resource hog. See what happens.
>
> Also might try:
>
> http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=82303&package_id=84358
>
> media player classic. Heard lots of good things about this, but
> have never needed to try it.
>
>
> "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:ACE2FAEF-4B8A-41DA-8061-0C998DCDF64E@microsoft.com...
> > That's so awesome dude! Thanx a bunch! I didn't actually get one from that
> > site cuz it was all dvd/divx/etc players, and I don't have a dvdrom. I did
> > find WinAmp's video player tho, and it seems to work fine. The resampling
> is
> > a little... "off." Let's say that. It get's hella pixelated in full
> screen,
> > but it plays really well!! I can't believe I didn't think of that
> sooner...
> >
> > "V Green" wrote:
> >
> > > Makes sense, though.
> > >
> > > Every version of WMP that comes out uses more
> > > CPU than the last to do the same thing and adds
> > > more useless crap to further slow things down.
> > >
> > > What might help your problem is another player
> > > altogether, one written for performance, not for
> > > DRM.
> > >
> > > http://www.doom9.org/
> > >
> > > downloads>>players
> > >
> > >
> > > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> message
> > > news:EE277322-0147-4218-B5F7-2023C2EC6142@microsoft.com...
> > > > what is kinda odd tho, is when I was using W2k Pro and MP9 on the same
> > > > system, it worked fine. That's why I thought it was a tweaking issue.
> I
> > > would
> > > > just go back to MP9, but I don't want to lose my napster files quite
> > > yet...
> > > >
> > > > "V Green" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Not enough horsepower. Even old WM8 required
> > > > > a P3-550 at 512 x 384 and 29.97 fps to play properly.
> > > > >
> > > > > "XP Gorillaz Fan" <XPGorillazFan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
> > > message
> > > > > news:C0ECED42-51D4-48F2-970C-375F45FE3E64@microsoft.com...
> > > > > > It's probably because I'm using a p2 366 with only 256 ms of ram,
> huh?
> > > > > That's
> > > > > > what I thought, but just had to check... Ya know for posterity's
> sake.
> > > Is
> > > > > > anyone else getting this problem?
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > >
> > >
> > >
>
>
>


WinMedia 10 plays videos "jumpy" and out of sync with with the aud