How WMP library displays compilations



shane.crowe@gmail.com
07-09-2005, 09:54 PM
Hi all,

I have a question regarding how the Media Player Library (I'm using
version 9) displays compilation CDs.

I use audiograbber to rip CDs->mp3, and when ripping a compilation CD I
use the "compilation" checkbox option in audiograbber.

Here's my problem - in WMP every artist on the compilation appears in
the "Artist" list, which although sensible on the one hand, on the
other hand means that if you have a lot of compilations, you have a lot
of artists with just one song, and your artist list becomes huge.

Is there any way to tell WMP not to fill in the artist field for mp3s
that come from compilations? I'd prefer if my compilations only
appeared in the "Album" list....I tried all the tools->options and the
help, but can't find any information on this.

Any help greatly appreciated !

Shane

Byte
07-09-2005, 09:54 PM
My first suggestion to you is to upgrade to WMP10. DO NOT delete or uninstall
your current version 9. Install it overtop of itself.
Windows Media 9 Series (WMP10 upgrade)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/9series/gettingstarted/download/download.asp

WMP10 Download
http://www.download.com/Windows-Media-Player/3000-2139_4-10315037.html?tag=stbc.gp
--
Some days you're the windshield,
some days you're the bug.


"shane.crowe@gmail.com" wrote:

> Hi all,
>
> I have a question regarding how the Media Player Library (I'm using
> version 9) displays compilation CDs.
>
> I use audiograbber to rip CDs->mp3, and when ripping a compilation CD I
> use the "compilation" checkbox option in audiograbber.
>
> Here's my problem - in WMP every artist on the compilation appears in
> the "Artist" list, which although sensible on the one hand, on the
> other hand means that if you have a lot of compilations, you have a lot
> of artists with just one song, and your artist list becomes huge.
>
> Is there any way to tell WMP not to fill in the artist field for mp3s
> that come from compilations? I'd prefer if my compilations only
> appeared in the "Album" list....I tried all the tools->options and the
> help, but can't find any information on this.
>
> Any help greatly appreciated !
>
> Shane
>
>

shane.crowe@gmail.com
07-09-2005, 09:54 PM
Thanks !
Unfortunately I'm still a windows 2000 person, so WMP 10 is out of
reach. But just for future reference, should I go to the trouble of
changing OS, does WMP 10 get around my query?

Thanks.

Byte
07-09-2005, 09:54 PM
Suggest you post this query in the Windows2K Forum
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/newsgroups/reader.mspx?dg=microsoft.public.win2000.multimedia&lang=en&cr=US
--
Some days you're the windshield,
some days you're the bug.


"shane.crowe@gmail.com" wrote:

> Thanks !
> Unfortunately I'm still a windows 2000 person, so WMP 10 is out of
> reach. But just for future reference, should I go to the trouble of
> changing OS, does WMP 10 get around my query?
>
> Thanks.
>
>


How WMP library displays compilations