DRM Error C00D2752



Mame
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Hello,

I recently added a video card, a second hard drive and repartitioned my
existing drives and now I can't play my drm media files. I downloaded a
couple of the files from my retailer again and they gave the same error
message (they didn't try to aquire a license). I tried restoring the
licenses but that didn't work either. I can't undo the the hardware changes
I made. I can download the files again but how do I reset the licenses? I am
only allowed to download the file 3 times from my retailer and they have
been downloaded once ( a couple have been downloaded twice).

Thank you in advance for your help.

Kind regards,
MdB

Mame
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
I had another go at rectifying the problem using the following KB
article(see link below). I managed to reset the licences without undoing my
hardware changes. The only catch is I have had to contact the support at my
music retailer to get them to reset the account (because of the hardware
changes) When they have done that I will be able to get my licences
re-aquired and play my music.

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=891664

This had me worried for a bit. Seems a lot of effort to get access to
something you paid for in the first place. The only people this is a problem
for is the people who were honest in the first place. Maybe some other
method of security could be employed like finger print recognition (with
individual and family profiles). This way hardware profiles could be
avoided. People should be able to make as many changes to their hardware as
possible without it influencing their digital content - licenses are issued
to people and not computers.

MdB

"Mame" <PLEASEmameduboisREMOVE@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:um4u85JdFHA.220@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Hello,
>
> I recently added a video card, a second hard drive and repartitioned my
> existing drives and now I can't play my drm media files. I downloaded a
> couple of the files from my retailer again and they gave the same error
> message (they didn't try to aquire a license). I tried restoring the
> licenses but that didn't work either. I can't undo the the hardware
> changes I made. I can download the files again but how do I reset the
> licenses? I am only allowed to download the file 3 times from my retailer
> and they have been downloaded once ( a couple have been downloaded twice).
>
> Thank you in advance for your help.
>
> Kind regards,
> MdB
>

Byte
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Contact your "retailer" again and inform them of the error message. I
searched using Google and found several others have the same problem
but not a single one had a resolution for it.
--
Some days you're the windshield,
some days you're the bug.


"Mame" wrote:

> Hello,
>
> I recently added a video card, a second hard drive and repartitioned my
> existing drives and now I can't play my drm media files. I downloaded a
> couple of the files from my retailer again and they gave the same error
> message (they didn't try to aquire a license). I tried restoring the
> licenses but that didn't work either. I can't undo the the hardware changes
> I made. I can download the files again but how do I reset the licenses? I am
> only allowed to download the file 3 times from my retailer and they have
> been downloaded once ( a couple have been downloaded twice).
>
> Thank you in advance for your help.
>
> Kind regards,
> MdB
>
>
>

Mame
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Hi Byte,

I managed to fix my problem using the Knowledge Base Article minus the
undoing of hardware changes. I am just waiting for my music retailer (Sanity
Music Australia) to reset the hardware profile on my account. They must keep
a log of the hardware profile attached to your account when you aquire the
license.

Thanks for you advice.
MdB

"Byte" <Byte@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:BA6E1C1F-CF5F-45A1-B355-44480919E6B1@microsoft.com...
> Contact your "retailer" again and inform them of the error message. I
> searched using Google and found several others have the same problem
> but not a single one had a resolution for it.
> --
> Some days you're the windshield,
> some days you're the bug.
>
>
> "Mame" wrote:
>
>> Hello,
>>
>> I recently added a video card, a second hard drive and repartitioned my
>> existing drives and now I can't play my drm media files. I downloaded a
>> couple of the files from my retailer again and they gave the same error
>> message (they didn't try to aquire a license). I tried restoring the
>> licenses but that didn't work either. I can't undo the the hardware
>> changes
>> I made. I can download the files again but how do I reset the licenses? I
>> am
>> only allowed to download the file 3 times from my retailer and they have
>> been downloaded once ( a couple have been downloaded twice).
>>
>> Thank you in advance for your help.
>>
>> Kind regards,
>> MdB
>>
>>
>>

jason
07-09-2005, 09:54 PM
Windows Media Player made me upgrade from version 9 to version 10 and now my
songs that i paid for won't play. even though I downloaded songs after the
installation of version 10 it still won't play and it says i have the
c00d2752 error. I have tried downloading other players but the same problem
occurs. what do i do?


DRM Error C00D2752