No Audio With Media Center TV



Dave
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Hi there,

I have a Toshiba Satellite that came preinstalled with XP Meida Center
Edition. It came with a TV tuner adapter built in and I have my cable TV
hooked directly into this system. The trouble I am having is this: WHen I
switch on the TV, I get the picture just fine, but no audio. However, when I
am switched to a channel I don't recieve, basically garble, I do get the
static white noise. I have looked in my audio settings on the PC and nothing
is muted, and yes, I have checked the advanced settings and made sure the
hidden audio properties are visible. I have gone through the media center
settings and checked the audio settings and they are right as far as I know.
All other audio on the laptop works just fine. Any Help would be
appreciated. Thanks.

Dave

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
What kind of cable connects the satellite box and the notebook?
--
Cari (MS-MVP)
Printing & Imaging



"Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:82B60008-56F9-4765-8CB8-40D629EAD94E@microsoft.com...
> Hi there,
>
> I have a Toshiba Satellite that came preinstalled with XP Meida Center
> Edition. It came with a TV tuner adapter built in and I have my cable TV
> hooked directly into this system. The trouble I am having is this: WHen
> I
> switch on the TV, I get the picture just fine, but no audio. However,
> when I
> am switched to a channel I don't recieve, basically garble, I do get the
> static white noise. I have looked in my audio settings on the PC and
> nothing
> is muted, and yes, I have checked the advanced settings and made sure the
> hidden audio properties are visible. I have gone through the media center
> settings and checked the audio settings and they are right as far as I
> know.
> All other audio on the laptop works just fine. Any Help would be
> appreciated. Thanks.
>
> Dave
>
>

Dave
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
There may be a misunderstanding here. There isn't a satelliute box, the
Notebook is a Toshiba Satellite. It is very recent and was preinstalled with
Win XP Media Center Edition. The Notebook has a built in Toshiba Proprietary
TV Capture Card. I have hooked my cable tv cable into this proprietary
connection and though I get the picture perfectly, there is no audio. Now,
am I correct in assuming that I shouldn't need anything else here??? It is
boggling that I get audio with everything else and not the TV. I checked the
Media Center settings and the audio is set to stereo (as in stereo speakers)
and nothing is muted, so as you can tell, it is frustrating to no end.

Thanks for your time.
Dave

"Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> What kind of cable connects the satellite box and the notebook?
> --
> Cari (MS-MVP)
> Printing & Imaging
>
>
>
> "Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:82B60008-56F9-4765-8CB8-40D629EAD94E@microsoft.com...
> > Hi there,
> >
> > I have a Toshiba Satellite that came preinstalled with XP Meida Center
> > Edition. It came with a TV tuner adapter built in and I have my cable TV
> > hooked directly into this system. The trouble I am having is this: WHen
> > I
> > switch on the TV, I get the picture just fine, but no audio. However,
> > when I
> > am switched to a channel I don't recieve, basically garble, I do get the
> > static white noise. I have looked in my audio settings on the PC and
> > nothing
> > is muted, and yes, I have checked the advanced settings and made sure the
> > hidden audio properties are visible. I have gone through the media center
> > settings and checked the audio settings and they are right as far as I
> > know.
> > All other audio on the laptop works just fine. Any Help would be
> > appreciated. Thanks.
> >
> > Dave
> >
> >
>
>
>
>

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
There is no misunderstanding.... which sort of cable are you using.... an
S-Video cable for example carried ONLY VIDEO, no audio - and audio imputs
separately to the Line In of the soundcard. If it's a standard RF cable,
this carries both video and audio.

If it's a composite cable, (yellow end) it carries video only. The audio
will come through the standard red and white part of the cable... again into
the Line In or Audio In of the soundcard... or in your case, the built in
soundchip.

So I reiterate my original question... what type of cable are you connecting
to the notebook? Does the 'cable tv' come straight from the wall (ie basic
analog cable) or from a cable box... (ie digital downconverted to analog)
--
Cari (MS-MVP)
Printing & Imaging



"Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E5A8D3AF-58F6-48A2-BEE2-DEA0BCE44D7C@microsoft.com...
> There may be a misunderstanding here. There isn't a satelliute box, the
> Notebook is a Toshiba Satellite. It is very recent and was preinstalled
> with
> Win XP Media Center Edition. The Notebook has a built in Toshiba
> Proprietary
> TV Capture Card. I have hooked my cable tv cable into this proprietary
> connection and though I get the picture perfectly, there is no audio.
> Now,
> am I correct in assuming that I shouldn't need anything else here??? It
> is
> boggling that I get audio with everything else and not the TV. I checked
> the
> Media Center settings and the audio is set to stereo (as in stereo
> speakers)
> and nothing is muted, so as you can tell, it is frustrating to no end.
>
> Thanks for your time.
> Dave
>
> "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>

Dave
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
OK, Thanks Cari. It is standard Cable, I assume standard RF Cable. It
doesn't have the seperate jacks. Just the one cable, so if I plugged it into
my TV, that is the only cable that plugs in. So, yes, Analog Cable. I hope
this helps!

Thanks for your time.
Dave

"Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> There is no misunderstanding.... which sort of cable are you using.... an
> S-Video cable for example carried ONLY VIDEO, no audio - and audio imputs
> separately to the Line In of the soundcard. If it's a standard RF cable,
> this carries both video and audio.
>
> If it's a composite cable, (yellow end) it carries video only. The audio
> will come through the standard red and white part of the cable... again into
> the Line In or Audio In of the soundcard... or in your case, the built in
> soundchip.
>
> So I reiterate my original question... what type of cable are you connecting
> to the notebook? Does the 'cable tv' come straight from the wall (ie basic
> analog cable) or from a cable box... (ie digital downconverted to analog)
> --
> Cari (MS-MVP)
> Printing & Imaging
>
>
>
> "Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:E5A8D3AF-58F6-48A2-BEE2-DEA0BCE44D7C@microsoft.com...
> > There may be a misunderstanding here. There isn't a satelliute box, the
> > Notebook is a Toshiba Satellite. It is very recent and was preinstalled
> > with
> > Win XP Media Center Edition. The Notebook has a built in Toshiba
> > Proprietary
> > TV Capture Card. I have hooked my cable tv cable into this proprietary
> > connection and though I get the picture perfectly, there is no audio.
> > Now,
> > am I correct in assuming that I shouldn't need anything else here??? It
> > is
> > boggling that I get audio with everything else and not the TV. I checked
> > the
> > Media Center settings and the audio is set to stereo (as in stereo
> > speakers)
> > and nothing is muted, so as you can tell, it is frustrating to no end.
> >
> > Thanks for your time.
> > Dave
> >
> > "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
> >
>
>
>
>

Cari \(MS-MVP\)
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Just standard RF should carry audio and video... but you may have to tell
the MCE that you are using standard cable connection. You are trying to
capture within the MCE application aren't you?
--
Cari (MS-MVP)
Printing & Imaging



"Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F875E055-4B7F-4EE0-887D-DD7DD8EED740@microsoft.com...
> OK, Thanks Cari. It is standard Cable, I assume standard RF Cable. It
> doesn't have the seperate jacks. Just the one cable, so if I plugged it
> into
> my TV, that is the only cable that plugs in. So, yes, Analog Cable. I
> hope
> this helps!
>
> Thanks for your time.
> Dave
>
> "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>
>> There is no misunderstanding.... which sort of cable are you using.... an
>> S-Video cable for example carried ONLY VIDEO, no audio - and audio imputs
>> separately to the Line In of the soundcard. If it's a standard RF cable,
>> this carries both video and audio.
>>
>> If it's a composite cable, (yellow end) it carries video only. The audio
>> will come through the standard red and white part of the cable... again
>> into
>> the Line In or Audio In of the soundcard... or in your case, the built in
>> soundchip.
>>
>> So I reiterate my original question... what type of cable are you
>> connecting
>> to the notebook? Does the 'cable tv' come straight from the wall (ie
>> basic
>> analog cable) or from a cable box... (ie digital downconverted to analog)
>> --
>> Cari (MS-MVP)
>> Printing & Imaging
>>
>>
>>
>> "Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:E5A8D3AF-58F6-48A2-BEE2-DEA0BCE44D7C@microsoft.com...
>> > There may be a misunderstanding here. There isn't a satelliute box,
>> > the
>> > Notebook is a Toshiba Satellite. It is very recent and was
>> > preinstalled
>> > with
>> > Win XP Media Center Edition. The Notebook has a built in Toshiba
>> > Proprietary
>> > TV Capture Card. I have hooked my cable tv cable into this proprietary
>> > connection and though I get the picture perfectly, there is no audio.
>> > Now,
>> > am I correct in assuming that I shouldn't need anything else here???
>> > It
>> > is
>> > boggling that I get audio with everything else and not the TV. I
>> > checked
>> > the
>> > Media Center settings and the audio is set to stereo (as in stereo
>> > speakers)
>> > and nothing is muted, so as you can tell, it is frustrating to no end.
>> >
>> > Thanks for your time.
>> > Dave
>> >
>> > "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
>> >
>>
>>
>>
>>
>

Dave
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
Hi Cari, Yeah, it is standard. I have set the MCE to standard Cable and
that does not help. I have switched the audio settings to no end, not that
there are a lot to switch to begin with. This did work properly up until a
few months ago. I am not trying to capture, per se, but just watch TV
through the laptop. Like I said, it used to work, now it doesn't. I didn't
make any changes, it just stopped playing sounds. Anyway, Hope this sheds
some insight on the situation.

Thanks,
Dave

"Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:

> Just standard RF should carry audio and video... but you may have to tell
> the MCE that you are using standard cable connection. You are trying to
> capture within the MCE application aren't you?
> --
> Cari (MS-MVP)
> Printing & Imaging
>
>
>
> "Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:F875E055-4B7F-4EE0-887D-DD7DD8EED740@microsoft.com...
> > OK, Thanks Cari. It is standard Cable, I assume standard RF Cable. It
> > doesn't have the seperate jacks. Just the one cable, so if I plugged it
> > into
> > my TV, that is the only cable that plugs in. So, yes, Analog Cable. I
> > hope
> > this helps!
> >
> > Thanks for your time.
> > Dave
> >
> > "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
> >
> >> There is no misunderstanding.... which sort of cable are you using.... an
> >> S-Video cable for example carried ONLY VIDEO, no audio - and audio imputs
> >> separately to the Line In of the soundcard. If it's a standard RF cable,
> >> this carries both video and audio.
> >>
> >> If it's a composite cable, (yellow end) it carries video only. The audio
> >> will come through the standard red and white part of the cable... again
> >> into
> >> the Line In or Audio In of the soundcard... or in your case, the built in
> >> soundchip.
> >>
> >> So I reiterate my original question... what type of cable are you
> >> connecting
> >> to the notebook? Does the 'cable tv' come straight from the wall (ie
> >> basic
> >> analog cable) or from a cable box... (ie digital downconverted to analog)
> >> --
> >> Cari (MS-MVP)
> >> Printing & Imaging
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >> "Dave" <Dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:E5A8D3AF-58F6-48A2-BEE2-DEA0BCE44D7C@microsoft.com...
> >> > There may be a misunderstanding here. There isn't a satelliute box,
> >> > the
> >> > Notebook is a Toshiba Satellite. It is very recent and was
> >> > preinstalled
> >> > with
> >> > Win XP Media Center Edition. The Notebook has a built in Toshiba
> >> > Proprietary
> >> > TV Capture Card. I have hooked my cable tv cable into this proprietary
> >> > connection and though I get the picture perfectly, there is no audio.
> >> > Now,
> >> > am I correct in assuming that I shouldn't need anything else here???
> >> > It
> >> > is
> >> > boggling that I get audio with everything else and not the TV. I
> >> > checked
> >> > the
> >> > Media Center settings and the audio is set to stereo (as in stereo
> >> > speakers)
> >> > and nothing is muted, so as you can tell, it is frustrating to no end.
> >> >
> >> > Thanks for your time.
> >> > Dave
> >> >
> >> > "Cari (MS-MVP)" wrote:
> >> >
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >>
> >
>
>
>
>


No Audio With Media Center TV