Installing Codecs



CalZon65
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
I always hate to post what usually turns out to be a very silly question, but
after almost four hours of painful research, I am absolutely at the end of my
rope and don’t know where else to turn.

I use a VoIP program called Ventrilo that supports multiple codecs including
Lernout & Hauspie 8000Hz, 16bit, which from what I have learned, used to be
included with Windows ME and Windows 2000. But I use Windows XP Pro and the
L&H codec is no longer included in Windows.

I did, however, find the L&H codec I think I need which is filename
(LHACM.ACM). From what I have read, I thought I all I had to do was place
this ACM file in my Windows\System32 folder and that’s it. I am now thinking
that I need to somehow “register” or “install” the codec in Windows.

After I moved the codec to Windows\System32 I checked my Audio Codecs
Properties under Sound, Video and Game Controllers in my Device Manager. The
L&H codec is not listed with all the other codecs, but then I didn’t suspect
it would be listed unless there is some background process constantly
checking for the presence of ACM files, which would be kind of silly, and
that is why I think there must be another step I am missing to properly
“activate” a codec. I did read some stuff in the FAQ about running Add
Hardware, but that didn't apply.

Can anyone give me some help on this problem?

theplectrum
07-09-2005, 09:53 PM
"CalZon65" <CalZon65@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:17119CE0-15A9-4348-964C-D27F0F4AC3EE@microsoft.com...
>I always hate to post what usually turns out to be a very silly question,
>but
> after almost four hours of painful research, I am absolutely at the end of
> my
> rope and don't know where else to turn.
>
> I use a VoIP program called Ventrilo that supports multiple codecs
> including
> Lernout & Hauspie 8000Hz, 16bit, which from what I have learned, used to
> be
> included with Windows ME and Windows 2000. But I use Windows XP Pro and
> the
> L&H codec is no longer included in Windows.
>
> I did, however, find the L&H codec I think I need which is filename
> (LHACM.ACM). From what I have read, I thought I all I had to do was place
> this ACM file in my Windows\System32 folder and that's it. I am now
> thinking
> that I need to somehow "register" or "install" the codec in Windows.
>
> After I moved the codec to Windows\System32 I checked my Audio Codecs
> Properties under Sound, Video and Game Controllers in my Device Manager.
> The
> L&H codec is not listed with all the other codecs, but then I didn't
> suspect
> it would be listed unless there is some background process constantly
> checking for the presence of ACM files, which would be kind of silly, and
> that is why I think there must be another step I am missing to properly
> "activate" a codec. I did read some stuff in the FAQ about running Add
> Hardware, but that didn't apply.
>
> Can anyone give me some help on this problem?

You need to edit system.ini via Start > Run > type msconfig > Enter > select
system.ini and insert. See these sites for clues.

http://tinyurl.com/c9tk2

Cheers,
Jerry


Installing Codecs