Activation



Sirgeez
07-10-2005, 03:20 AM
My motherboard and cpu burnt out in my computer so I have to replace them
with a different board and cpu. I still have the original hard drive that has
XP loaded and has been activated for almost a year.

My Question is will I have to re-activate XP once I load up? If so will I
be able to use the same key. The key is a OEM version. I do not plan on
formatting the hd or reinstalling.

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 03:20 AM
Changing a Motherboard or Moving a Hard Drive with XP Installed
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/moving_xp.html

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

Windows Product Activation (WPA) on Windows XP
http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Sirgeez" wrote:

| My motherboard and cpu burnt out in my computer so I have to replace them
| with a different board and cpu. I still have the original hard drive that has
| XP loaded and has been activated for almost a year.
|
| My Question is will I have to re-activate XP once I load up? If so will I
| be able to use the same key. The key is a OEM version. I do not plan on
| formatting the hd or reinstalling.

Jupiter Jones [MVP]
07-10-2005, 03:20 AM
What kind of OEM?
If it is OEM such as Gateway, Dell, HP etc, the motherboard may need to be
from the same manufacturer or you may not be able to install activate.
If generic OEM such as often is sold with a piece of hardware, you should
have minimal issues except a Repair installation will probably be necessary
because of the hardware changes:
http://www3.telus.net/dandemar/repaxp.htm

Activation will probably be necessary in either case because of the hardware
changes:
http://aumha.org/win5/a/wpa.htm

--
Jupiter Jones [MVP]
http://www3.telus.net/dandemar
http://www.dts-l.org


"Sirgeez" <Sirgeez@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FD96619E-8235-4477-9737-CB3B0D1B2F0A@microsoft.com...
> My motherboard and cpu burnt out in my computer so I have to replace them
> with a different board and cpu. I still have the original hard drive that
> has
> XP loaded and has been activated for almost a year.
>
> My Question is will I have to re-activate XP once I load up? If so will I
> be able to use the same key. The key is a OEM version. I do not plan on
> formatting the hd or reinstalling.


Activation