Server Error ‘HTTP/1.1 500’



Amy
07-10-2005, 02:20 AM
I have recently upgraded from WinXP Home to WinXP Pro in order to set up my
system for using VB Studio on a site hosted by Earthlink; and this has
created what seems to be a related set of server problems. Before contacting
Microsoft, I paid a rent-a-geek to spend a few hours retracing my steps to
eliminate the possibility of my missing anything obvious. He says there must
be some corrupted file deep in the heart of the OS.

The upgrade proceeded from a complete re-install of the factory OEM WinXP
Home that came installed on my Fujitsu computer. I then immediately installed
a legit upgrade to WinXP Pro, which brought in SP2. I then allowed the new OS
to upgrade itself at the Microsoft site, and installed a Norton protection
package, and the Aluria malware system.

Next, I loaded IIS, TCP/IP, and FrontPage Extensions. Then I loaded VB
Studio, FrontPage 2000, and used the wizard to bring the new system into my
MS Windows Network, which is governed by a Cisco router. All this software is
legit, and went it in without difficulty. Now I have what seems to be a
related set of problems:

- VB will not let me open a new Web Application owing to Internal Server
Error ‘HTTP/1.1 500’.

- FrontPage will not complete publication of my website from my remote host
to My Webs. The Html comes down, but not all of the subsidiary folders. I did
get the site down using Adobe software and FTP. FrontPage then does fine
accessing the newly-created local site.

- Microsoft Windows Network has not been accessible by the upgraded
computer. Access is denied owing to “permissions”. The error message notes
“The list of servers for this network is not currently available”. Other
computers on the network can see this computer, but not its contents. This
computer sees itself, but not its contents, nor other computers on the
network.

All the applications apparently time-out while waiting to access some process.

This computer’s internet connection often fails and regenerates, while its
broadband connection remains excellent, and other computers connected to the
router remain solid.

The TCP/IP Test comes back normal:

32-Bit Winsock
127.0.0.1
Host name: NAUTILUS
IP address: 192.168.1.100
local host (127.0.0.1)

I once had networking problems that were resolved by removing and
re-installing certain communication server software. I would be willing to
try that, but would need some guidance as to how to proceed.

Eric Dropps
07-10-2005, 02:20 AM
You mentioned something about a Norton Protection package---I would remove
it, and see if that helps.

Norton breaks just as many computers as it claims to "Protect"

If you cant uninstall it, Symantec has a downloadable program that removes
it forcefully (the uninstaller does not work ~50% of the time)

-Eric

"Amy" <Amy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:919FDD62-839B-41B5-9DB5-25A2CEA22730@microsoft.com...
>
> I have recently upgraded from WinXP Home to WinXP Pro in order to set up
> my
> system for using VB Studio on a site hosted by Earthlink; and this has
> created what seems to be a related set of server problems. Before
> contacting
> Microsoft, I paid a rent-a-geek to spend a few hours retracing my steps to
> eliminate the possibility of my missing anything obvious. He says there
> must
> be some corrupted file deep in the heart of the OS.
>
> The upgrade proceeded from a complete re-install of the factory OEM WinXP
> Home that came installed on my Fujitsu computer. I then immediately
> installed
> a legit upgrade to WinXP Pro, which brought in SP2. I then allowed the new
> OS
> to upgrade itself at the Microsoft site, and installed a Norton protection
> package, and the Aluria malware system.
>
> Next, I loaded IIS, TCP/IP, and FrontPage Extensions. Then I loaded VB
> Studio, FrontPage 2000, and used the wizard to bring the new system into
> my
> MS Windows Network, which is governed by a Cisco router. All this software
> is
> legit, and went it in without difficulty. Now I have what seems to be a
> related set of problems:
>
> - VB will not let me open a new Web Application owing to Internal Server
> Error 'HTTP/1.1 500'.
>
> - FrontPage will not complete publication of my website from my remote
> host
> to My Webs. The Html comes down, but not all of the subsidiary folders. I
> did
> get the site down using Adobe software and FTP. FrontPage then does fine
> accessing the newly-created local site.
>
> - Microsoft Windows Network has not been accessible by the upgraded
> computer. Access is denied owing to "permissions". The error message notes
> "The list of servers for this network is not currently available". Other
> computers on the network can see this computer, but not its contents. This
> computer sees itself, but not its contents, nor other computers on the
> network.
>
> All the applications apparently time-out while waiting to access some
> process.
>
> This computer's internet connection often fails and regenerates, while its
> broadband connection remains excellent, and other computers connected to
> the
> router remain solid.
>
> The TCP/IP Test comes back normal:
>
> 32-Bit Winsock
> 127.0.0.1
> Host name: NAUTILUS
> IP address: 192.168.1.100
> local host (127.0.0.1)
>
> I once had networking problems that were resolved by removing and
> re-installing certain communication server software. I would be willing to
> try that, but would need some guidance as to how to proceed.
>
>

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-10-2005, 02:20 AM
If your Norton Protect contains the Norton (Symantec Firewall), you'll need
to configure all websites to be accessed by each software package needing
access. In other words, you need to properly configure you Firewall for the
proper access to websites.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"Amy" <Amy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:919FDD62-839B-41B5-9DB5-25A2CEA22730@microsoft.com...
>
> I have recently upgraded from WinXP Home to WinXP Pro in order to set up
> my
> system for using VB Studio on a site hosted by Earthlink; and this has
> created what seems to be a related set of server problems. Before
> contacting
> Microsoft, I paid a rent-a-geek to spend a few hours retracing my steps to
> eliminate the possibility of my missing anything obvious. He says there
> must
> be some corrupted file deep in the heart of the OS.
>
> The upgrade proceeded from a complete re-install of the factory OEM WinXP
> Home that came installed on my Fujitsu computer. I then immediately
> installed
> a legit upgrade to WinXP Pro, which brought in SP2. I then allowed the new
> OS
> to upgrade itself at the Microsoft site, and installed a Norton protection
> package, and the Aluria malware system.
>
> Next, I loaded IIS, TCP/IP, and FrontPage Extensions. Then I loaded VB
> Studio, FrontPage 2000, and used the wizard to bring the new system into
> my
> MS Windows Network, which is governed by a Cisco router. All this software
> is
> legit, and went it in without difficulty. Now I have what seems to be a
> related set of problems:
>
> - VB will not let me open a new Web Application owing to Internal Server
> Error 'HTTP/1.1 500'.
>
> - FrontPage will not complete publication of my website from my remote
> host
> to My Webs. The Html comes down, but not all of the subsidiary folders. I
> did
> get the site down using Adobe software and FTP. FrontPage then does fine
> accessing the newly-created local site.
>
> - Microsoft Windows Network has not been accessible by the upgraded
> computer. Access is denied owing to "permissions". The error message notes
> "The list of servers for this network is not currently available". Other
> computers on the network can see this computer, but not its contents. This
> computer sees itself, but not its contents, nor other computers on the
> network.
>
> All the applications apparently time-out while waiting to access some
> process.
>
> This computer's internet connection often fails and regenerates, while its
> broadband connection remains excellent, and other computers connected to
> the
> router remain solid.
>
> The TCP/IP Test comes back normal:
>
> 32-Bit Winsock
> 127.0.0.1
> Host name: NAUTILUS
> IP address: 192.168.1.100
> local host (127.0.0.1)
>
> I once had networking problems that were resolved by removing and
> re-installing certain communication server software. I would be willing to
> try that, but would need some guidance as to how to proceed.
>
>


Server Error ‘HTTP/1.1 500’