Re: Remote Assistance Broken



Marty
07-09-2005, 10:48 PM
I am trying to solve a problem where remote assistance only works if the
computer requesting assistance has the firewall turned off. It does not
matter if the firewall is Norton InternetSecurity _or_ ZoneAlarm (we
never use both at once). Once the firewall is shut down we have no
problems connecting with me controlling his PC. On my PC, I do not need
to shut down Norton InternetSecurity Firewall. One odd thing is that
once connected, Norton InternetSecurity Firewall can be turned back on.
Turning on ZoneAlarm disconnects the remote computer.

Are there specific Norton Firewall settings causing this? Both
computers are configured the to "Permit All" for MS Remote Desktop
Connection and MS Remote Desktop Help Session Manager and to Automatic
for MS Messenger.

Will reinstalling SP2 solve this problem?

Is this the Windows XP Service Pack 2 Network Installation Package for
IT Professionals and Developers? Are there any tricks to reinstalling
this over Win XP Home that already has SP2 installed?


Marty

----- Original Message -----
From: "Jonathan Kay [MVP]" <msnewsreplies@jonathankay.com>
Sent: Friday, April 01, 2005 2:36:27 PM
Subject: Remote Assistance Broken
> Hi Richard,
>
> It's the exact same bits.
> ____________________________________________
> Jonathan Kay
> Microsoft MVP - Windows Messenger/MSN Messenger
> Associate Expert
> http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone/
> Messenger Resources - http://messenger.jonathankay.com
> All posts unless otherwise specified are (c) 2005 Jonathan Kay.
> You *must* contact me for redistribution rights.
>
> "Richard_Cantin" <Richard_Cantin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:EBD04EFC-BBCC-4363-BFC0-FDEBA76DAE77@microsoft.com...
>
>>I have ordered and received the SP2 upograde CD.
>>
>>I have the same problem described with Remote Assistance.
>>
>>Does anyone know if re-installing SP2 from the CD is the same as downloading
>>the 266Mb file (something i do not want to do if I do not have to).
>>
>>RIchard
>>
>>"Mike_K" wrote:
>>
>>
>>>Paul,
>>>I can't thank you enough.
>>>For weeks I have read everything I could find about "remote assistance"
>>>problems.
>>>I udated my PnP NAT/Router firmware, I placed my PC in the DMZ, I manually
>>>opened ports, I installed "Active Ports", I disconnected my router,I turned
>>>off the XP firewall, I got my mom to drop her dial up and get cable - nothing
>>>worked.
>>>
>>>I read your post earlier today and tried it.
>>>I downloaded the 266MB SP2 file -not through windows upldate this time-
>>>I reinstalled SP2 from the downloaded file on both my systems and now Remote
>>>Assistance works!
>>>
>>>Any Idea how we let the Microsoft folks know that their Automatic Updates
>>>have a problem?
>>>
>>>-Mike
>>>
>>>"Paul Westwell" wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>>Yes,
>>>>
>>>>See below....
>>>>
>>>>I finally fixed this, I notice a number of other people were suffering the
>>>>same problem so hopefully someone else will benefit from my pain!
>>>>
>>>>I determined the problem was nothing to do with my router and only occurred
>>>>when the request was made to one of my 4 PC's not from it.
>>>>
>>>>Re-installing SP2 was the answer, initially I installed it on all 4 machines
>>>>from the Windows Update, this time I downloaded to 250Mb file from the
>>>>Microsoft website and just ran the install again without removing the
>>>>existing SP2.
>>>>
>>>>That fixed them all one by one!
>>>>
>>>>Hope this helps someone.
>>>>
>>>>Paul
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>"Hondo1821" <hermes@lineone.net> wrote in message
>>>>news:1102432434.843405.218400@f14g2000cwb.googlegroups.com...
>>>>
>>>>>Did you ever resolve this problem? I have the same issue.
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>
>


Re: Remote Assistance Broken