Processor Speed



skeletor 16940
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
My genuine Intel processor is rated at 667 mhz. but in the hardware
configuration of Systems it is shown as 345mhz. What is wrong, can I cure
this? Any help or advi ce very much appreciated.

Jerry
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
What are your BIOS settings for front-side bus speed and multiplier?

"skeletor 16940" <skeletor16940@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8727151C-C72F-4E9A-9AAB-DDF44C4DA7CB@microsoft.com...
>
> My genuine Intel processor is rated at 667 mhz. but in the hardware
> configuration of Systems it is shown as 345mhz. What is wrong, can I
> cure
> this? Any help or advi ce very much appreciated.

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
Is it a laptop? If so, does it have an Intel processor? If so again, does
it have "speed step" technology? If all of the above is true, then the
processor is working as advertised - it recognizes the load on the system
and can adjust based on that system load - it is an effort to extend battery
life when running on battery only. Check the BIOS, I believe you can
configure this to run at "full" speed when on wall current power, and to use
"speed step" when running on battery - at least my does.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"skeletor 16940" <skeletor16940@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8727151C-C72F-4E9A-9AAB-DDF44C4DA7CB@microsoft.com...
>
> My genuine Intel processor is rated at 667 mhz. but in the hardware
> configuration of Systems it is shown as 345mhz. What is wrong, can I
> cure
> this? Any help or advi ce very much appreciated.

RoyC
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
On my notebook if I want the processer to run at full speed I go to Power
Options Properties and under Power Schemes I select "Always On" and then my
processer showes full speed.
Roy

"Star Fleet Admiral Q" wrote:

> Is it a laptop? If so, does it have an Intel processor? If so again, does
> it have "speed step" technology? If all of the above is true, then the
> processor is working as advertised - it recognizes the load on the system
> and can adjust based on that system load - it is an effort to extend battery
> life when running on battery only. Check the BIOS, I believe you can
> configure this to run at "full" speed when on wall current power, and to use
> "speed step" when running on battery - at least my does.
>
> --
>
> Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!
>
> http://www.google.com
> Google is your "Friend"
>
> "skeletor 16940" <skeletor16940@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:8727151C-C72F-4E9A-9AAB-DDF44C4DA7CB@microsoft.com...
> >
> > My genuine Intel processor is rated at 667 mhz. but in the hardware
> > configuration of Systems it is shown as 345mhz. What is wrong, can I
> > cure
> > this? Any help or advi ce very much appreciated.
>
>
>


Processor Speed