Adding a new hard Drive



Andrew J
07-10-2005, 03:17 AM
I have reinstalled XP Home on a 250 Gig drive i also have 2x300 Gig in a
stipped array biut they do not show in my computer. they are listed in Device
Manager under disc drives. They are listed correctly as a stripe.
How do i get them in Controll Panel

JP Breton
07-10-2005, 03:17 AM
How did you create you striped set?



"Andrew J" <Andrew J@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8786A783-7F6A-46B5-B863-2136B7D9DA05@microsoft.com...
>I have reinstalled XP Home on a 250 Gig drive i also have 2x300 Gig in a
> stipped array biut they do not show in my computer. they are listed in
> Device
> Manager under disc drives. They are listed correctly as a stripe.
> How do i get them in Controll Panel

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-10-2005, 03:17 AM
a) Make sure you have loaded the correct drivers for your RAID card.
b) Since they are in Disk Manager, have you tried assigning a drive letter
or does it state they are unformatted? If it says they are unformatted, did
you indeed format them with a utility that allows XP to read them? If not,
and they have no data stored, and you have the correct drivers, then allow
XP to format the partition (drives). It should assign a drive letter
afterwards and you should be able to use it via Explorer. If not, you need
to read the instructions for proper installation/configuration of the RAID
controller card and drives from the manufacturer's web site - the
manufacturer who made the RAID controller that is, as XP doesn't support
RAID configurations natively, it must be either a 3rd party hardware and/or
software or both add-on.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"Andrew J" <Andrew J@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8786A783-7F6A-46B5-B863-2136B7D9DA05@microsoft.com...
>I have reinstalled XP Home on a 250 Gig drive i also have 2x300 Gig in a
> stipped array biut they do not show in my computer. they are listed in
> Device
> Manager under disc drives. They are listed correctly as a stripe.
> How do i get them in Controll Panel

Andrew J
07-10-2005, 03:17 AM
I used the bios utillity that comes with the mother board. it is an ASUS AV8
with 4 SATA Raid sockets one being VIA and the other Promise.
I have since found the problem and sorted it out, it was down to the stipped
aray because when I deleted it to set up 2 single drives (300 gig each) they
was not any format for XP to recognise so i formated them am hey prestow
there were the drives!
many thanks to you anyway
Andrew J

"JP Breton" wrote:

> How did you create you striped set?
>
>
>
> "Andrew J" <Andrew J@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:8786A783-7F6A-46B5-B863-2136B7D9DA05@microsoft.com...
> >I have reinstalled XP Home on a 250 Gig drive i also have 2x300 Gig in a
> > stipped array biut they do not show in my computer. they are listed in
> > Device
> > Manager under disc drives. They are listed correctly as a stripe.
> > How do i get them in Controll Panel
>
>
>


Adding a new hard Drive