Limited User Access Problem



DynoDLM
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
& Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
alot! Donna

johnsuth@nospam.com.au
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
In <B2DC9214-01CE-40D0-94A0-BDB8D58B2FCA@microsoft.com>, "=?Utf-8?B?RHlub0RMTQ==?=" <DynoDLM@discussions.microsoft.com> writes:
>I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
>Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
>in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
>Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
>want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
>person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
>& Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
>alot! Donna


Read up on cacls.exe and employ it to assign appropriate permissions to the QB files.

A simpler but less secure solution is to install QB in the All Users folder instead of the default folder. Whilst this may allow everyone to access QB (I am assuming this because I don't use this method), it probably also allows everyone to erase your clients financial records.

Hunter1
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
A standard user on the old NT system is the equivalent of a 2000/XP
"Power User", we make all our users on XP Power Users and have had no
problems with QuickBooks. PowerUsers are still locked out of HKLM in the
registry other than read access, can't install devices, etc.etc. so are
effectively still very limited in what they can install and break.
Probly your easiest solution.


DynoDLM wrote:
> I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
> Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
> in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
> Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
> want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
> person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
> & Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
> alot! Donna

DynoDLM
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
Thanks for the response. However, I believe this would be for a "network"
computer situation with domains. The computer I am setting up is a stand
alone and doesn't have separate user folders. I will try reading the
cacls.exe as suggested to see if this pertains to the problem.

"johnsuth@nospam.com.au" wrote:

> In <B2DC9214-01CE-40D0-94A0-BDB8D58B2FCA@microsoft.com>, "=?Utf-8?B?RHlub0RMTQ==?=" <DynoDLM@discussions.microsoft.com> writes:
> >I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
> >Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
> >in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
> >Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
> >want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
> >person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
> >& Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
> >alot! Donna
>
>
> Read up on cacls.exe and employ it to assign appropriate permissions to the QB files.
>
> A simpler but less secure solution is to install QB in the All Users folder instead of the default folder. Whilst this may allow everyone to access QB (I am assuming this because I don't use this method), it probably also allows everyone to erase your clients financial records.
>
>
>

DynoDLM
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
Thanks for the reply but the computer I am setting up is not a network on a
domain--just a stand alone computer, so the only options for setting up user
accounts are 1) Administrator and 2) Limited Access. Can a computer be
changed from a "stand alone" to a network type???

"Hunter1" wrote:

> A standard user on the old NT system is the equivalent of a 2000/XP
> "Power User", we make all our users on XP Power Users and have had no
> problems with QuickBooks. PowerUsers are still locked out of HKLM in the
> registry other than read access, can't install devices, etc.etc. so are
> effectively still very limited in what they can install and break.
> Probly your easiest solution.
>
>
> DynoDLM wrote:
> > I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
> > Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
> > in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
> > Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
> > want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
> > person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
> > & Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
> > alot! Donna
>

Shenan Stanley
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
DynoDLM wrote:
> I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator
> User with Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003.
> However, when logged in the Limited User account it does not allow
> QB to run--states to have Administrator give "Standard" permission
> (or something like that). I do not want client's staff to be able
> to have Admin privileges but need office person to be able to have
> access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word & Excel, tho).
> Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks alot!

johnsuth wrote:
> Read up on cacls.exe and employ it to assign appropriate permissions
> to the QB files.
>
> A simpler but less secure solution is to install QB in the All Users
> folder instead of the default folder. Whilst this may allow
> everyone to access QB (I am assuming this because I don't use this
> method), it probably also allows everyone to erase your clients
> financial records.

DynoDLM wrote:
> Thanks for the response. However, I believe this would be for a
> "network" computer situation with domains. The computer I am setting
> up is a stand alone and doesn't have separate user folders. I will
> try reading the cacls.exe as suggested to see if this pertains to the
> problem.

CACLS will allow you to change the file/directory permissions - which should
be what you need to do. Of course, you could do this with a few
right-clicks too.

In other words, you have a file system on your hard drive known as NTFS.
You installed Quickbooks and obviously Quickbooks was not designed for said
environment in the revision you are installing and did not set the
permissions on the files/folders so that anyone using the computer could
read/execute the stuff in said folders or possibly in the registry. You
will have to manually change these values.

--
Shenan Stanley
MS-MVP
--

DynoDLM
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
Thanks for the reply. I actually "paid" the $35 to Microsoft Tech Support
via telephone and what was done was to create a User account at the
Administrator level then logged into the O/S System Administrator account and
set the above created user's account "quota" level on the hard drive low
enough to not permit user the ability to install and/or download programs but
have access to the C drive in order to run Quickbooks. This way my client's
children and other people are limited to what they can do. Had I originally
set the computer up as a "network" computer instead of a "stand alone" I
could have set up the various levels of users (i.e. Administrator, Power,
Standard) but when configuring a computer to be a stand alone with Windows XP
you only have the 2 choices of Administrator or Limited. Hope this helps
others with similar situations.

"Shenan Stanley" wrote:

> DynoDLM wrote:
> > I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator
> > User with Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003.
> > However, when logged in the Limited User account it does not allow
> > QB to run--states to have Administrator give "Standard" permission
> > (or something like that). I do not want client's staff to be able
> > to have Admin privileges but need office person to be able to have
> > access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word & Excel, tho).
> > Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks alot!
>
> johnsuth wrote:
> > Read up on cacls.exe and employ it to assign appropriate permissions
> > to the QB files.
> >
> > A simpler but less secure solution is to install QB in the All Users
> > folder instead of the default folder. Whilst this may allow
> > everyone to access QB (I am assuming this because I don't use this
> > method), it probably also allows everyone to erase your clients
> > financial records.
>
> DynoDLM wrote:
> > Thanks for the response. However, I believe this would be for a
> > "network" computer situation with domains. The computer I am setting
> > up is a stand alone and doesn't have separate user folders. I will
> > try reading the cacls.exe as suggested to see if this pertains to the
> > problem.
>
> CACLS will allow you to change the file/directory permissions - which should
> be what you need to do. Of course, you could do this with a few
> right-clicks too.
>
> In other words, you have a file system on your hard drive known as NTFS.
> You installed Quickbooks and obviously Quickbooks was not designed for said
> environment in the revision you are installing and did not set the
> permissions on the files/folders so that anyone using the computer could
> read/execute the stuff in said folders or possibly in the registry. You
> will have to manually change these values.
>
> --
> Shenan Stanley
> MS-MVP
> --
>
>
>

Hunter1
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
Never seen XP home (guessing that's what you're talking about?) but
guessing you can still right click on "my computer", go to manage and
then "users and groups" (or something similar to that effect) and put
accounts into the power-user group. Never seen anything like you
describe though.


DynoDLM wrote:
> Thanks for the reply but the computer I am setting up is not a network on a
> domain--just a stand alone computer, so the only options for setting up user
> accounts are 1) Administrator and 2) Limited Access. Can a computer be
> changed from a "stand alone" to a network type???
>
> "Hunter1" wrote:
>
>
>>A standard user on the old NT system is the equivalent of a 2000/XP
>>"Power User", we make all our users on XP Power Users and have had no
>>problems with QuickBooks. PowerUsers are still locked out of HKLM in the
>>registry other than read access, can't install devices, etc.etc. so are
>>effectively still very limited in what they can install and break.
>>Probly your easiest solution.
>>
>>
>>DynoDLM wrote:
>>
>>>I set up a client's computer (stand alone) with a non-Administrator User with
>>>Limited Access. I then installed Quickbooks Pro 2003. However, when logged
>>>in the Limited User account it does not allow QB to run--states to have
>>>Administrator give "Standard" permission (or something like that). I do not
>>>want client's staff to be able to have Admin privileges but need office
>>>person to be able to have access to Quickbooks (they can open and run MS Word
>>>& Excel, tho). Please let me know what I can do to correct this. Thanks
>>>alot! Donna
>>


Limited User Access Problem