Sysprep 2.0 Error message



Jeff Kenny
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer to
20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this computer
to the other computers.

On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of the
programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.

I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and expanding
the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer file.
So far everything is OK.

My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and have
even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
error message I keep receiving is:

There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
system.

Unable to continue.

The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.

So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I have
disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic Updates.
None of these have changed the message I receive.

Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
error if needed.

I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for your
help.

Linda Peterson
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
for Xp images with sysprep 2 after setup manager, I use...

start/run/cmd
cd sysprep
sysprep.bat -pnp /forceshutdown

"Jeff Kenny" <jdkdomain@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:F0722462-D0B8-4042-AB58-9553DABE117A@microsoft.com...
> I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer
to
> 20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this
computer
> to the other computers.
>
> On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
> SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of
the
> programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.
>
> I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and
expanding
> the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
> directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer file.
> So far everything is OK.
>
> My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and
have
> even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
> error message I keep receiving is:
>
> There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
> system.
>
> Unable to continue.
>
> The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.
>
> So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I
have
> disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic
Updates.
> None of these have changed the message I receive.
>
> Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
> error if needed.
>
> I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for
your
> help.

Jeff Kenny
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
That did not work. There is no .bat files in the sysprep directory, and
using the
-pnp option did not change the error message I receive.

"Linda Peterson" wrote:

> for Xp images with sysprep 2 after setup manager, I use...
>
> start/run/cmd
> cd sysprep
> sysprep.bat -pnp /forceshutdown
>
> "Jeff Kenny" <jdkdomain@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:F0722462-D0B8-4042-AB58-9553DABE117A@microsoft.com...
> > I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer
> to
> > 20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this
> computer
> > to the other computers.
> >
> > On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
> > SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of
> the
> > programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.
> >
> > I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and
> expanding
> > the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
> > directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer file.
> > So far everything is OK.
> >
> > My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and
> have
> > even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
> > error message I keep receiving is:
> >
> > There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
> > system.
> >
> > Unable to continue.
> >
> > The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.
> >
> > So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I
> have
> > disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic
> Updates.
> > None of these have changed the message I receive.
> >
> > Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
> > error if needed.
> >
> > I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for
> your
> > help.
>
>
>

Jeff Kenny
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
BTW - the computer I am attempting to complete this operation on is a Dell PC
with Windows already installed. Am I correct to say that this would be
considered an OEM version, and therefore unable to work with Sysprep?

"Jeff Kenny" wrote:

> I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer to
> 20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this computer
> to the other computers.
>
> On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
> SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of the
> programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.
>
> I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and expanding
> the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
> directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer file.
> So far everything is OK.
>
> My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and have
> even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
> error message I keep receiving is:
>
> There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
> system.
>
> Unable to continue.
>
> The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.
>
> So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I have
> disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic Updates.
> None of these have changed the message I receive.
>
> Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
> error if needed.
>
> I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for your
> help.

WM
07-10-2005, 02:16 AM
Correct.
"Jeff Kenny" <jdkdomain@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:D234592A-FEB4-41D3-9066-4C23F52B47C3@microsoft.com...
> BTW - the computer I am attempting to complete this operation on is a Dell
> PC
> with Windows already installed. Am I correct to say that this would be
> considered an OEM version, and therefore unable to work with Sysprep?
>
> "Jeff Kenny" wrote:
>
>> I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer
>> to
>> 20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this
>> computer
>> to the other computers.
>>
>> On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
>> SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of
>> the
>> programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.
>>
>> I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and
>> expanding
>> the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
>> directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer
>> file.
>> So far everything is OK.
>>
>> My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and
>> have
>> even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
>> error message I keep receiving is:
>>
>> There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
>> system.
>>
>> Unable to continue.
>>
>> The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.
>>
>> So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I
>> have
>> disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic
>> Updates.
>> None of these have changed the message I receive.
>>
>> Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
>> error if needed.
>>
>> I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for
>> your
>> help.

Jeff Kenny
07-10-2005, 02:17 AM
OK - then can anyone tell me what a good process would be to setup a single
computer to clone over to 19 other OEM computers without using sysprep? I
have 5 application to install on each computer, then once they are installed,
I need to get patch updates that also need to be applicaed to most of these
programs. Understanding that I only have 20 computers, due to the amount of
time it takes to setup a single PC with all these programs and updates, it
could take me the better part of a month to get all 20 computers up and
running. We are a small company and I am the only one responsible for doing
this work.

I am looking for a solution that will take the guess work of making sure all
the programs and patches are installed on each computer. Sorry for the rant,
but it seems like Microsoft is making it hard for us than it should be.

Thanks for your help.

"WM" wrote:

> Correct.
> "Jeff Kenny" <jdkdomain@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:D234592A-FEB4-41D3-9066-4C23F52B47C3@microsoft.com...
> > BTW - the computer I am attempting to complete this operation on is a Dell
> > PC
> > with Windows already installed. Am I correct to say that this would be
> > considered an OEM version, and therefore unable to work with Sysprep?
> >
> > "Jeff Kenny" wrote:
> >
> >> I am using Sysprep to setup the ability to clone the setup of a computer
> >> to
> >> 20 other new computers. I will be using Norton Ghost to clone this
> >> computer
> >> to the other computers.
> >>
> >> On the computer I am cloning, I have installed a fresh copy of Windows XP
> >> SP2 with all available updates from Microsoft. I have also loaded all of
> >> the
> >> programs that I want installed on the other computers as well.
> >>
> >> I have gone thru the process of creating the Sysprep directory and
> >> expanding
> >> the files from the Deploy.cab file on the Windows XP SP2 CD into this
> >> directory. I have also run the setupmgr program to create my answer
> >> file.
> >> So far everything is OK.
> >>
> >> My problem comes when I run Sysprep. I have tried various switches and
> >> have
> >> even downloaded the most recent version from the Microsoft website. The
> >> error message I keep receiving is:
> >>
> >> There is an incompatibility between this tool and the current operating
> >> system.
> >>
> >> Unable to continue.
> >>
> >> The box header indicates I am using version 2.0.
> >>
> >> So far, here is what I have tried. I am logged in as Administrator, I
> >> have
> >> disabled the Firewall, Automatic Updates, Anti-Virus and Automatic
> >> Updates.
> >> None of these have changed the message I receive.
> >>
> >> Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong? I have a print screen of the
> >> error if needed.
> >>
> >> I appriciate any assistance you can provide. Thank you in advance for
> >> your
> >> help.
>
>
>


Sysprep 2.0 Error message