SYSPREP Question



Sarah M
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
When do you need to run sysprep when you image a drive?

Can you build a drive / Copy image to new computer / Run sysprep on new
computer after image is copied to it.

This way the "Build" drive can be customized before coping to new computer
saving time to edit profiles ect...

Thanks for any help.

Michael Niehaus [MS]
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
If the hardware is identical, you can move the image around without running
Sysprep first. (If the hardware is very different, e.g. different mass
storage controllers, you need Sysprep to deal with the differences.) But
don't be running more than one copy at a time - be sure to Sysprep before
deploying.

-Michael Niehaus
Senior Consultant
MCS US Centers of Excellence - Deployment AOS
mniehaus@microsoft.com
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.

"Sarah M" <none@none.com> wrote in message
news:uFRAp$IXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> When do you need to run sysprep when you image a drive?
>
> Can you build a drive / Copy image to new computer / Run sysprep on new
> computer after image is copied to it.
>
> This way the "Build" drive can be customized before coping to new computer
> saving time to edit profiles ect...
>
> Thanks for any help.
>
>
>
>

Qrystems
07-10-2005, 03:17 AM
How do i rub Sysprep on the destination computer. Ihave my opk installed and
management tool configured on the tech computer
Thanks for your help
--
QRS


"Michael Niehaus [MS]" wrote:

> If the hardware is identical, you can move the image around without running
> Sysprep first. (If the hardware is very different, e.g. different mass
> storage controllers, you need Sysprep to deal with the differences.) But
> don't be running more than one copy at a time - be sure to Sysprep before
> deploying.
>
> -Michael Niehaus
> Senior Consultant
> MCS US Centers of Excellence - Deployment AOS
> mniehaus@microsoft.com
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
>
> "Sarah M" <none@none.com> wrote in message
> news:uFRAp$IXFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > When do you need to run sysprep when you image a drive?
> >
> > Can you build a drive / Copy image to new computer / Run sysprep on new
> > computer after image is copied to it.
> >
> > This way the "Build" drive can be customized before coping to new computer
> > saving time to edit profiles ect...
> >
> > Thanks for any help.
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
>
>


SYSPREP Question