motherboard exchange



nigel
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i have
to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible without
re installing XP from scratch

Will Denny
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Hi

The new mobo should have all the relevant software with it. After
installing the new mobo, you will have to perform a 'Repair' install of XP.
The following article by Michael Stevens will show you how:

"How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install"
http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

You won't have to install XP from scratch.

--

Will Denny
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
Please reply to the News Groups


"nigel" <nigel@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6EC94F4E-2DA0-40EA-BADF-433BA9B648B1@microsoft.com...
>i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i
>have
> to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible
> without
> re installing XP from scratch

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Changing a Motherboard or Moving a Hard Drive with XP Installed
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/moving_xp.html

How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

[Courtesy of MS-MVP Michael Stevens]

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"nigel" wrote:

| i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i have
| to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible without
| re installing XP from scratch


---
avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
Tested on: 5/15/2005 12:48:11 PM
avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
http://www.avast.com

Andrew E.
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
You'd be wasting youre time on a repair of xp,with a new board one must
do a clean new installation of xp,a repair might work if the chipsets are
iden-
tical.

"nigel" wrote:

> i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i have
> to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible without
> re installing XP from scratch

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
You'll be wasting your time if you listen to
the poor advice offered by "Andrew E." !!!

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Andrew E." wrote:

| You'd be wasting youre time on a repair of xp,with a new board one must
| do a clean new installation of xp,a repair might work if the chipsets are
| iden-
| tical.
|
| "nigel" wrote:
|
| > i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i have
| > to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible without
| > re installing XP from scratch


---
avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
Tested on: 5/15/2005 4:57:05 PM
avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
http://www.avast.com

Phillips
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
You can play around w/ repair, but your best shot is a clean install - since
is best to install hardware applications (Intel chipset, for ex) first.
You'll probably have to call MS if you installed/changed less than 4 months
ago.
Michael

"nigel" <nigel@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6EC94F4E-2DA0-40EA-BADF-433BA9B648B1@microsoft.com...
>i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i
>have
> to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible
> without
> re installing XP from scratch

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Andrew E. <eckrichco@msn.com> wrote:

> You'd be wasting youre time on a repair of xp,with a new board one must
> do a clean new installation of xp,a repair might work if the chipsets are
>iden-
> tical.
>

Balderdash. Hogwash. Malarkey.

A Repair Install will handle any repeat any motherboard change for a
non-BIOS locked version of Windows XP.


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
"nigel" <nigel@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>i need to upgrade my motherboard, can i just do a straight swap or do i have
>to un install the original motherboard drivers first. is it possible without
>re installing XP from scratch

If your Windows XP is a BIOS locked OEM version then you cannot
replace the motherboard except with one that comes from the
manufacturer/assembler of your computer.

You can check for this possibility as follows:

1. Open Control Panel - System - General and check the product I.D.
code for your version in the "Registered to" section of the Window..
This is a 20 character value split into 4 segments. If the second
segment of this code is OEM then you have an OEM version of Windows XP
and you need to perform the second check. If the second segment is a
3 digit numeric value then you have a retail or volume licensed
version of Windows XP and there are no licensing related concerns
about replacing the motherboard.

2. Use Start - All Programs - Accessories - System Tools and check
for an "Activate Windows" item on the menu. If you have an OEM
version of Windows XP (per item 1 above) and there is no "Activate
Windows" entry in the System Tools menu then you have a BIOS locked
OEM version of Windows XP and you will not be able to reactivate this
version on a motherboard that is not from the manufacturer/assembler
of your computer.

CAUTION: If you have previously replaced the motherboard in this
computer (prior to 1 March 2005) and it is an OEM version of Windows
XP from a major company then you may have the "Activate Windows" entry
on the System Tools menu even though you do have a BIOS locked OEM
version.

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm


motherboard exchange