activation in VPC



Roland GUNN
07-10-2005, 03:15 AM
Hello,
Is there any issue to activate windows server 2003 on VPC
4.0 sp1 by ussing internet connexion?
In a lab, I have to activate Windows Server 2003, but,
indications I have says to do it using phone call...

Mike Brannigan [MSFT]
07-10-2005, 03:15 AM
"Roland GUNN" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:2a5e01c557e2$72832570$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> Hello,
> Is there any issue to activate windows server 2003 on VPC
> 4.0 sp1 by ussing internet connexion?
> In a lab, I have to activate Windows Server 2003, but,
> indications I have says to do it using phone call...

If your VPC is set up to access the internet then yes you can just activate
as normal.
Remember however that each VPC is regarded as a real PC for licensing so if
you have just installed your copy of Windows XP again into VPC that you are
using on your desktop that is a breach of the licensing and you will not be
allowed to activate.
You must properly license each VPC just like a real PC.

--

Regards,

Mike
--
Mike Brannigan [Microsoft]

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no
rights

Please note I cannot respond to e-mailed questions, please use these
newsgroups

"Roland GUNN" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:2a5e01c557e2$72832570$a401280a@phx.gbl...
> Hello,
> Is there any issue to activate windows server 2003 on VPC
> 4.0 sp1 by ussing internet connexion?
> In a lab, I have to activate Windows Server 2003, but,
> indications I have says to do it using phone call...


activation in VPC