Never came across such an issue... Can anyone help???



Saajan
07-10-2005, 03:15 AM
Well.. This is quite long, so please bear with me. I have tried to explain
everything in detail in the best possible way I can.

I was troubleshooting one of my friend's laptop who is using Windows XP
Professional with Service Pack 1. His desktop wallpaper has been changed to a
screenshot of windows blue screen error which said problem caused by
malware/adwares. The display settings have been disabled. I tried running ad
aware and spybot with updated definitions and that didnt help. I tried
changing the wallpaper using the group policy editor. That didnt help either.
And after I took him off from the company's domain (which I had to) and log
in to the local computer, it doesn't even show any of the desktop icons, task
bar or properties forcing us to believe that it is actually a blue screen
error. I tried logging in as other user, then it shows the deault XP
wallpaper, but still not any of the icons or properties. I tried few of the
options like the group policy editor using the task manager>new task option
unsuccessfully. Now that is the only way I am able to gain access to this
computer. I have tried almost all the options, deleted all other profiles,
etc. I am not able to launch explorer.exe or iexplore.exe using the task
manager>new task. And am able to see the desktop icons as well while I access
it this way. So basically, something is just preventing the deskop from
appearing. I tried installing Srvice Pack 2 by burning it on a CD, but
surprisingly that file doesn't show on the CD on this laptop whereas in all
other PCs it does. So I had to finally resort to the good old way of
re-installing XP Pro after spending ages to resolve this issue. I feel
someone has hacked into his computer and played around. I was using a new XP
CD with Service Pack 2 and was trying to upgrade. I couldn't run boot setup
as the laptop didn't have a boot from cd option. So I tried disabling the
hard drive, but then it said operating system failed. So I ran setup from CD
using task manager>new task. It launches the installation and very soon says
that a previous software installation was not completed and exits the setup.
I tried removing the Symantec antivirus using System Mechanic Pro, but still
the same problem persists. Now what do I do? I shouldn't be loosing any of
his data. How do I install XP now as I am not able to run the setup from the
CD or boot from the disk and install. Please note that this laptop doesn't
have an internal CD drive, so I had to use HP external CD writer (of which I
had great trouble installing the drivers and to get it working).

I feel this is highly unusual. Can anyone help me with this? Any help will
be highly appreciated. Thank you for your patience.

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 03:15 AM
Saajan <Saajan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>Well.. This is quite long, so please bear with me. I have tried to explain
>everything in detail in the best possible way I can.
>
>I was troubleshooting one of my friend's laptop who is using Windows XP
>Professional with Service Pack 1. His desktop wallpaper has been changed to a
>screenshot of windows blue screen error which said problem caused by
>malware/adwares. The display settings have been disabled. I tried running ad
>aware and spybot with updated definitions and that didnt help. I tried
>changing the wallpaper using the group policy editor. That didnt help either.
>And after I took him off from the company's domain (which I had to) and log
>in to the local computer, it doesn't even show any of the desktop icons, task
>bar or properties forcing us to believe that it is actually a blue screen
>error. I tried logging in as other user, then it shows the deault XP
>wallpaper, but still not any of the icons or properties. I tried few of the
>options like the group policy editor using the task manager>new task option
>unsuccessfully. Now that is the only way I am able to gain access to this
>computer. I have tried almost all the options, deleted all other profiles,
>etc. I am not able to launch explorer.exe or iexplore.exe using the task
>manager>new task. And am able to see the desktop icons as well while I access
>it this way. So basically, something is just preventing the deskop from
>appearing. I tried installing Srvice Pack 2 by burning it on a CD, but
>surprisingly that file doesn't show on the CD on this laptop whereas in all
>other PCs it does. So I had to finally resort to the good old way of
>re-installing XP Pro after spending ages to resolve this issue. I feel
>someone has hacked into his computer and played around. I was using a new XP
>CD with Service Pack 2 and was trying to upgrade. I couldn't run boot setup
>as the laptop didn't have a boot from cd option. So I tried disabling the
>hard drive, but then it said operating system failed. So I ran setup from CD
>using task manager>new task. It launches the installation and very soon says
>that a previous software installation was not completed and exits the setup.
>I tried removing the Symantec antivirus using System Mechanic Pro, but still
>the same problem persists. Now what do I do? I shouldn't be loosing any of
>his data. How do I install XP now as I am not able to run the setup from the
>CD or boot from the disk and install. Please note that this laptop doesn't
>have an internal CD drive, so I had to use HP external CD writer (of which I
>had great trouble installing the drivers and to get it working).
>
>I feel this is highly unusual. Can anyone help me with this? Any help will
>be highly appreciated. Thank you for your patience.


Hopefully the laptop does have a 3.5 diskette drive.

1. Backup the user's data files, configuration settings etc. by using
the Files and Settings Transfer Wizard in XP and then burn the
resulting file to a CD or copy it to a network drive. See MVP Gary
Woodruff's article on using FASTW at
http://www.aumha.org/win5/a/fast.htm


2. Get copy/wipe from www.bootitng.com and run it to totally wipe the
hard drive.

3. Reinstall Windows XP. You will probably need to the the boot
diskette set from http://support.microsoft.com?kbid=310994 in order to
do this.

Note: Test the boot disks and make sure you can use the CDROM drive
before you wipe the hard drive.

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Saajan
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Well, that is where the problem lies. The laptop doesn't have a floppy drive
either. And am unable to burn any cds or copy the data to network drive as I
have taken it off from the network. Remember I can't even get the desktop. I
can only access the contents of this pc using the task manager. And the BIOS
doesn't have a boot from cd option. Under the boot section, cd is first and
then the hard drive. As it didn't boot from cd, I tried disabling hard drive
and then it said the error hard disk not found. But it still it never tries
to boot from cd. I am able to run the xp setup from task manager, but the
setup fails as i mentioned earlier. I used a xp professional oem cd with
service pack 2. Any other suggestions please?

AlanD
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Saajan wrote:

> Well, that is where the problem lies. The laptop doesn't have a floppy drive
> either. And am unable to burn any cds or copy the data to network drive as I
> have taken it off from the network. Remember I can't even get the desktop. I
> can only access the contents of this pc using the task manager. And the BIOS
> doesn't have a boot from cd option. Under the boot section, cd is first and
> then the hard drive. As it didn't boot from cd, I tried disabling hard drive
> and then it said the error hard disk not found. But it still it never tries
> to boot from cd. I am able to run the xp setup from task manager, but the
> setup fails as i mentioned earlier. I used a xp professional oem cd with
> service pack 2. Any other suggestions please?

Even if it won't boot from the CD, can you run "D:\setup.exe" from the Start
button to run the version of setup on the CD?

AlanD

Saajan
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
AlanD, thanks for replying first of all. Well, I guess you haven't read my
previous messages. I am not able to get the start menu or anything. The only
way I am able to gain access to the contents of this laptop is through the
task manager. This way I tried running the setup and it launches the setup,
but terminates midway saying that a previous installation of some other
sofware was not completed. Well, i tried removing few other software that
could have caused the conflict, but that didn't resolve either. Any other
suggestions please? Tanks again for all those who replied.

NoNoBadDog!
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Have you tried booting with a Knoppix CD? If you could do that, you will
have access to the HDD and can modify the temp setup folders from there.

Bobby

"Saajan" <Saajan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:9489CB82-C22E-4AB8-94EC-CF9C722672E4@microsoft.com...
> AlanD, thanks for replying first of all. Well, I guess you haven't read my
> previous messages. I am not able to get the start menu or anything. The
> only
> way I am able to gain access to the contents of this laptop is through the
> task manager. This way I tried running the setup and it launches the
> setup,
> but terminates midway saying that a previous installation of some other
> sofware was not completed. Well, i tried removing few other software that
> could have caused the conflict, but that didn't resolve either. Any other
> suggestions please? Tanks again for all those who replied.

Saajan
07-10-2005, 03:16 AM
Wow.. that sounds interesting. But how and where do I get it? Never heard
about this. Can you please tell me more? But then again, do you think it will
make the windows setup run properly after that? Thanks a lot for replying!

"NoNoBadDog!" wrote:

> Have you tried booting with a Knoppix CD? If you could do that, you will
> have access to the HDD and can modify the temp setup folders from there.
>
> Bobby
>
> "Saajan" <Saajan@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:9489CB82-C22E-4AB8-94EC-CF9C722672E4@microsoft.com...
> > AlanD, thanks for replying first of all. Well, I guess you haven't read my
> > previous messages. I am not able to get the start menu or anything. The
> > only
> > way I am able to gain access to the contents of this laptop is through the
> > task manager. This way I tried running the setup and it launches the
> > setup,
> > but terminates midway saying that a previous installation of some other
> > sofware was not completed. Well, i tried removing few other software that
> > could have caused the conflict, but that didn't resolve either. Any other
> > suggestions please? Tanks again for all those who replied.
>
>
>


Never came across such an issue... Can anyone help???