Control Panel - Performance and Maintenance



LA
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance and
Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate "Performance and
Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as there where it
is??????? Thanks, LA

Kake
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
I can't help as I am after the exact same information. The reason I need this
information is to enable or disable "Remote Assistance"... this very
irritating when a Microsoft help area asks one to select an icon that doesn't
exist. Any clues would be appreciated... thanks

"LA" wrote:

> I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance and
> Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate "Performance and
> Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as there where it
> is??????? Thanks, LA

Nepatsfan
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
There are other ways to reach System Properties.

1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the drop
down menu.

2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same time.
The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
keyboard.

FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on the left
titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see "Performance
and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
setting.

--
Nepatsfan
"LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
>I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance
>and
> Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate
> "Performance and
> Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as there
> where it
> is??????? Thanks, LA

Kake
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Thanks Nepatsfan... for this advice, very useful... As it happens it finally
took me to an area which I'd visited before... I was hoping to find some
startling info, never mind... thanks again

"Nepatsfan" wrote:

> There are other ways to reach System Properties.
>
> 1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the drop
> down menu.
>
> 2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same time.
> The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
> The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
> keyboard.
>
> FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on the left
> titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see "Performance
> and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
> Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
> setting.
>
> --
> Nepatsfan
> "LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
> >I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance
> >and
> > Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate
> > "Performance and
> > Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as there
> > where it
> > is??????? Thanks, LA
>
>
>

Nepatsfan
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
If you're having a problem running Remote Assistance, you might
want to post your question to this newsgroup:

http://support.microsoft.com/newsgroups/newsReader.aspx?lang=en&cr=US&dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely&sloc=en-us

From what I've seen there are two areas that cause the most
problems with Remote Assistance. First is a misconfigured
firewall. If you're using the built in Windows XP firewall, you
need to allow Remote Assistance on the Exceptions page. Second is
trying to use email to initiate the RA session when one or both
of the computers are behind a router. I've found it a lot easier
to use Windows Messenger in this situation.

If you post a question to the remote group make sure you mention
if the computers are using firewall programs or routers.

--
Nepatsfan
"Kake" <Kake@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F5F15081-C23C-4009-947E-2F86DF9B1C3F@microsoft.com...
> Thanks Nepatsfan... for this advice, very useful... As it
> happens it finally
> took me to an area which I'd visited before... I was hoping to
> find some
> startling info, never mind... thanks again
>
> "Nepatsfan" wrote:
>
>> There are other ways to reach System Properties.
>>
>> 1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the drop
>> down menu.
>>
>> 2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same time.
>> The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
>> The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
>> keyboard.
>>
>> FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on the
>> left
>> titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see
>> "Performance
>> and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
>> Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
>> setting.
>>
>> --
>> Nepatsfan
>> "LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
>> >I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance
>> >and
>> > Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate
>> > "Performance and
>> > Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as
>> > there
>> > where it
>> > is??????? Thanks, LA
>>
>>
>>

Kake
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Thanks again Nepatsfan,
I will pursue your suggestions... this'll take a few days cos I'm in
Australia and my brother who's computer I wish to drive, is in the England. I
note your comment about Windows Messenger and we have at least reached that
interaction successfully... the hiccup is that upon receiving a "Remote
Assist" [RA], and my acceptance thereof, the systems drops and advises me
that I either {1} do not have RA on my system or that {2} I have it disabled
it. Item {1} is definitely not correct as I do have RA. For Item {2}, because
I will be the "Helper" I have the relevant options, in RA, unchecked... I
point out though that I have tried all combinations of checked and unchecked
boxes and the result is always the same.
Thanks again... I will post again once we pursued this matter further.
Ciao -- Kake

"Nepatsfan" wrote:

> If you're having a problem running Remote Assistance, you might
> want to post your question to this newsgroup:
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/newsgroups/newsReader.aspx?lang=en&cr=US&dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely&sloc=en-us
>
> From what I've seen there are two areas that cause the most
> problems with Remote Assistance. First is a misconfigured
> firewall. If you're using the built in Windows XP firewall, you
> need to allow Remote Assistance on the Exceptions page. Second is
> trying to use email to initiate the RA session when one or both
> of the computers are behind a router. I've found it a lot easier
> to use Windows Messenger in this situation.
>
> If you post a question to the remote group make sure you mention
> if the computers are using firewall programs or routers.
>
> --
> Nepatsfan
> "Kake" <Kake@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:F5F15081-C23C-4009-947E-2F86DF9B1C3F@microsoft.com...
> > Thanks Nepatsfan... for this advice, very useful... As it
> > happens it finally
> > took me to an area which I'd visited before... I was hoping to
> > find some
> > startling info, never mind... thanks again
> >
> > "Nepatsfan" wrote:
> >
> >> There are other ways to reach System Properties.
> >>
> >> 1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the drop
> >> down menu.
> >>
> >> 2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same time.
> >> The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
> >> The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
> >> keyboard.
> >>
> >> FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on the
> >> left
> >> titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see
> >> "Performance
> >> and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
> >> Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
> >> setting.
> >>
> >> --
> >> Nepatsfan
> >> "LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
> >> >I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance
> >> >and
> >> > Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate
> >> > "Performance and
> >> > Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as
> >> > there
> >> > where it
> >> > is??????? Thanks, LA
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>

Kake
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Hi Nepatsfanagain,
I managed to get a successful "Remote Assistance" session with my bro in
UK... this was achieved by disabling "Zone Alarm" on my and my bro's
computers and then enabling MS Windows Firewall... and all this before
attempting to start MS Windows Messenger. It then went like a dream... thanks
again.
Regards Kake

"Kake" wrote:

> Thanks again Nepatsfan,
> I will pursue your suggestions... this'll take a few days cos I'm in
> Australia and my brother who's computer I wish to drive, is in the England. I
> note your comment about Windows Messenger and we have at least reached that
> interaction successfully... the hiccup is that upon receiving a "Remote
> Assist" [RA], and my acceptance thereof, the systems drops and advises me
> that I either {1} do not have RA on my system or that {2} I have it disabled
> it. Item {1} is definitely not correct as I do have RA. For Item {2}, because
> I will be the "Helper" I have the relevant options, in RA, unchecked... I
> point out though that I have tried all combinations of checked and unchecked
> boxes and the result is always the same.
> Thanks again... I will post again once we pursued this matter further.
> Ciao -- Kake
>
> "Nepatsfan" wrote:
>
> > If you're having a problem running Remote Assistance, you might
> > want to post your question to this newsgroup:
> >
> > http://support.microsoft.com/newsgroups/newsReader.aspx?lang=en&cr=US&dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely&sloc=en-us
> >
> > From what I've seen there are two areas that cause the most
> > problems with Remote Assistance. First is a misconfigured
> > firewall. If you're using the built in Windows XP firewall, you
> > need to allow Remote Assistance on the Exceptions page. Second is
> > trying to use email to initiate the RA session when one or both
> > of the computers are behind a router. I've found it a lot easier
> > to use Windows Messenger in this situation.
> >
> > If you post a question to the remote group make sure you mention
> > if the computers are using firewall programs or routers.
> >
> > --
> > Nepatsfan
> > "Kake" <Kake@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:F5F15081-C23C-4009-947E-2F86DF9B1C3F@microsoft.com...
> > > Thanks Nepatsfan... for this advice, very useful... As it
> > > happens it finally
> > > took me to an area which I'd visited before... I was hoping to
> > > find some
> > > startling info, never mind... thanks again
> > >
> > > "Nepatsfan" wrote:
> > >
> > >> There are other ways to reach System Properties.
> > >>
> > >> 1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the drop
> > >> down menu.
> > >>
> > >> 2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same time.
> > >> The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
> > >> The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
> > >> keyboard.
> > >>
> > >> FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on the
> > >> left
> > >> titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see
> > >> "Performance
> > >> and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
> > >> Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
> > >> setting.
> > >>
> > >> --
> > >> Nepatsfan
> > >> "LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > >> news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
> > >> >I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click Performance
> > >> >and
> > >> > Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to locate
> > >> > "Performance and
> > >> > Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as
> > >> > there
> > >> > where it
> > >> > is??????? Thanks, LA
> > >>
> > >>
> > >>
> >
> >
> >

Nepatsfan
07-10-2005, 02:03 AM
Glad to hear you were able to get RA running.

--
Nepatsfan
"Kake" <Kake@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:04327477-4B13-4E22-8FC0-C2A5A282BD29@microsoft.com...
> Hi Nepatsfanagain,
> I managed to get a successful "Remote Assistance" session with
> my bro in
> UK... this was achieved by disabling "Zone Alarm" on my and my
> bro's
> computers and then enabling MS Windows Firewall... and all this
> before
> attempting to start MS Windows Messenger. It then went like a
> dream... thanks
> again.
> Regards Kake
>
> "Kake" wrote:
>
>> Thanks again Nepatsfan,
>> I will pursue your suggestions... this'll take a few days cos
>> I'm in
>> Australia and my brother who's computer I wish to drive, is in
>> the England. I
>> note your comment about Windows Messenger and we have at least
>> reached that
>> interaction successfully... the hiccup is that upon receiving
>> a "Remote
>> Assist" [RA], and my acceptance thereof, the systems drops and
>> advises me
>> that I either {1} do not have RA on my system or that {2} I
>> have it disabled
>> it. Item {1} is definitely not correct as I do have RA. For
>> Item {2}, because
>> I will be the "Helper" I have the relevant options, in RA,
>> unchecked... I
>> point out though that I have tried all combinations of checked
>> and unchecked
>> boxes and the result is always the same.
>> Thanks again... I will post again once we pursued this matter
>> further.
>> Ciao -- Kake
>>
>> "Nepatsfan" wrote:
>>
>> > If you're having a problem running Remote Assistance, you
>> > might
>> > want to post your question to this newsgroup:
>> >
>> > http://support.microsoft.com/newsgroups/newsReader.aspx?lang=en&cr=US&dg=microsoft.public.windowsxp.work_remotely&sloc=en-us
>> >
>> > From what I've seen there are two areas that cause the most
>> > problems with Remote Assistance. First is a misconfigured
>> > firewall. If you're using the built in Windows XP firewall,
>> > you
>> > need to allow Remote Assistance on the Exceptions page.
>> > Second is
>> > trying to use email to initiate the RA session when one or
>> > both
>> > of the computers are behind a router. I've found it a lot
>> > easier
>> > to use Windows Messenger in this situation.
>> >
>> > If you post a question to the remote group make sure you
>> > mention
>> > if the computers are using firewall programs or routers.
>> >
>> > --
>> > Nepatsfan
>> > "Kake" <Kake@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> > news:F5F15081-C23C-4009-947E-2F86DF9B1C3F@microsoft.com...
>> > > Thanks Nepatsfan... for this advice, very useful... As it
>> > > happens it finally
>> > > took me to an area which I'd visited before... I was
>> > > hoping to
>> > > find some
>> > > startling info, never mind... thanks again
>> > >
>> > > "Nepatsfan" wrote:
>> > >
>> > >> There are other ways to reach System Properties.
>> > >>
>> > >> 1. Right click My Computer and select Properties from the
>> > >> drop
>> > >> down menu.
>> > >>
>> > >> 2. Hold down the Windows key + the Break key at the same
>> > >> time.
>> > >> The Windows key is usually located between CTRL and ALT.
>> > >> The Break key is usually located at top far right of your
>> > >> keyboard.
>> > >>
>> > >> FYI, in Control Panel look for a line in the column on
>> > >> the
>> > >> left
>> > >> titled "Switch to Category View". You should now see
>> > >> "Performance
>> > >> and Maintenance" listed in the right hand pane.
>> > >> Click "Switch to Classic View" to return to your previous
>> > >> setting.
>> > >>
>> > >> --
>> > >> Nepatsfan
>> > >> "LA" <LA@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> > >> news:5C644809-F8FF-44A2-845F-560877D6EF44@microsoft.com...
>> > >> >I am to : Click Start, click Control Panel, click
>> > >> >Performance
>> > >> >and
>> > >> > Maintenance, and the click System......I am unable to
>> > >> > locate
>> > >> > "Performance and
>> > >> > Maintenance" in my Control Panel. Can you direct me as
>> > >> > there
>> > >> > where it
>> > >> > is??????? Thanks, LA
>> > >>
>> > >>
>> > >>
>> >
>> >
>> >


Control Panel - Performance and Maintenance