RE: doom 3 running choppy



JChall
07-09-2005, 10:40 PM
Hey Kham.
I had the same sort of problem for a while on my old system. It was caused
by a combination of undetected spyware and a minor virus i had picked up from
somewhere. Make sure all your virus definitions are updated and that you try
running two-three different types of spyware removal tools as they each only
pick up a certain amount of spyware crap. Also make sure you are running the
latest drivers for your video card and also the latest version of Doom 3
itself.
Hope this all helps.

"Kham" wrote:

> all of a sudden doom 3 started running very choppy, it was fine yesterday.
> I've already re-installed it. any help?
>
> --
> http://www.msforums.org/
> http://www.fragmax.com/
> http://www.gamingforums.ca/
>
>
>

Yves Leclerc
07-09-2005, 10:40 PM
Clear out all/any temp files also.


"JChall" <JChall@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E85A6BBA-944E-48B7-87AB-69361F4FD185@microsoft.com...
> Hey Kham.
> I had the same sort of problem for a while on my old system. It was caused
> by a combination of undetected spyware and a minor virus i had picked up
> from
> somewhere. Make sure all your virus definitions are updated and that you
> try
> running two-three different types of spyware removal tools as they each
> only
> pick up a certain amount of spyware crap. Also make sure you are running
> the
> latest drivers for your video card and also the latest version of Doom 3
> itself.
> Hope this all helps.
>
> "Kham" wrote:
>
>> all of a sudden doom 3 started running very choppy, it was fine
>> yesterday.
>> I've already re-installed it. any help?
>>
>> --
>> http://www.msforums.org/
>> http://www.fragmax.com/
>> http://www.gamingforums.ca/
>>
>>
>>

Thomas Kuck
07-09-2005, 10:40 PM
There is a very handy program available to clear out this kind of 'left
overs': Ccleaner (I believe the first c stand for crap) at
www.ccleaner.com. Got a few other very good features.

Yves Leclerc wrote:

>Clear out all/any temp files also.
>
>
>"JChall" <JChall@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>news:E85A6BBA-944E-48B7-87AB-69361F4FD185@microsoft.com...
>
>
>>Hey Kham.
>>I had the same sort of problem for a while on my old system. It was caused
>>by a combination of undetected spyware and a minor virus i had picked up
>>from
>>somewhere. Make sure all your virus definitions are updated and that you
>>try
>>running two-three different types of spyware removal tools as they each
>>only
>>pick up a certain amount of spyware crap. Also make sure you are running
>>the
>>latest drivers for your video card and also the latest version of Doom 3
>>itself.
>>Hope this all helps.
>>
>>"Kham" wrote:
>>
>>
>>
>>>all of a sudden doom 3 started running very choppy, it was fine
>>>yesterday.
>>>I've already re-installed it. any help?
>>>
>>>--
>>>http://www.msforums.org/
>>>http://www.fragmax.com/
>>>http://www.gamingforums.ca/
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>
>
>
>


RE: doom 3 running choppy