Setting Up Two Dial-Up Accounts



Treeman
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
I am trying to configure two dial-up accounts, both for Earthlink. This
laptop with XP Home will be used in WA State (home) as well as Florida.
(school)
I understand that this is dependant on the access numbers for each
state that Earthlink provides, as well as the tcp/ip configuration from
them.
I'm just wondering how to make it easy for this freshman to toggle
between the two seperate dial-up accounts & e-mail.
Thanks,
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870443894

Steve Winograd [MVP]
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
In article <Treeman.1paf4b@no-mx.msusenet.com>, Treeman
<Treeman.1paf4b@no-mx.msusenet.com> wrote:
>I am trying to configure two dial-up accounts, both for Earthlink. This
>laptop with XP Home will be used in WA State (home) as well as Florida.
>(school)
>I understand that this is dependant on the access numbers for each
>state that Earthlink provides, as well as the tcp/ip configuration from
>them.
>I'm just wondering how to make it easy for this freshman to toggle
>between the two seperate dial-up accounts & e-mail.
>Thanks,
>Treeman

In the Network Connections folder, use "Create a new connection" to
create and configure the two accounts, giving each one a different
name.

Create a shortcut for each connection by dragging it to the desktop
using the left mouse button.

To connect to the Internet, click the appropriate shortcut.
--
Best Wishes,
Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)

Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com

Treeman
07-10-2005, 01:53 AM
Thank you Steve, you da man! :D
Treeman


--
Treeman


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870443894

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-10-2005, 01:53 AM
Why create 2 accounts, use the one and just choose a local access number for
the area you are in when connecting - i.e. when I'm in Boston, I use a local
number for MSN in Boston, when in D.C., I use a local number for MSN in
D.C., when in Atlanta, a local number for MSN in Atlanta, although lately
I've been connecting broadband as most hotels have broadband in the room.
Chances are his/her college will have broadband also, eliminating the
dial-up portion of the access anyway.
This philosophy will be true for any major ISP, MSN, Earthlink, AOL,
Netscape, Net Zero, etc...

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"Treeman" <Treeman.1paf4b@no-mx.msusenet.com> wrote in message
news:Treeman.1paf4b@no-mx.msusenet.com...
>
> I am trying to configure two dial-up accounts, both for Earthlink. This
> laptop with XP Home will be used in WA State (home) as well as Florida.
> (school)
> I understand that this is dependant on the access numbers for each
> state that Earthlink provides, as well as the tcp/ip configuration from
> them.
> I'm just wondering how to make it easy for this freshman to toggle
> between the two seperate dial-up accounts & e-mail.
> Thanks,
> Treeman
>
>
> --
> Treeman
>
>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Treeman's Profile: http://www.msusenet.com/member.php?userid=1260
> View this thread: http://www.msusenet.com/t-1870443894
>


Setting Up Two Dial-Up Accounts