Networking, XP home, '... Not accessible ...' etc



vIQleS
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
I have two computers (HP, New) and a laptop (NEC), one switch (/hub), an ADSL
modem (/router) xp home on both computers and (I think) xp pro on the laptop.
I can connect the HP to the Laptop and vice versa with no problems.

Neither the HP or the Laptop will connect to the new machine properly. All
three machines can connect to the internet with no problems. (all devices
plug into the hub inc the modem, I only have three cables at the mo, so it's
two computers at a time and the modem.)

Everyone is in the same workgroup. IPs are dynamic (I think the modem does
this, as it only seems to work with the modem connected)). I can see the new
computer in the workgroup from the HP, but get the 'not accessible' error
when I try to open it. I _can't_ see the HP from the new computer.

Ping:

HP:
Localhost - Yes
HP - yes
New - not found
10.1.1.5 (HP) - Yes
10.1.1.4 (new) - timed out

New:
Localhost - yes
admin1 - timed out
HP - couldn't find host
10.1.1.5 (HP) - yes
10.1.1.4 (new) - Timed out

I have just realized that I have dns servers setup for the internet
connection - could this be affecting the ping result?

I have tried the sugestions that i have found in other posts with similar
problems and it hasn't fixed anything.

I can't access the resources (shares etc) over the network.

Any ideas?

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
On Wed, 18 May 2005 17:43:18 -0700, vIQleS <vIQleS@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>I have two computers (HP, New) and a laptop (NEC), one switch (/hub), an ADSL
>modem (/router) xp home on both computers and (I think) xp pro on the laptop.
> I can connect the HP to the Laptop and vice versa with no problems.
>
>Neither the HP or the Laptop will connect to the new machine properly. All
>three machines can connect to the internet with no problems. (all devices
>plug into the hub inc the modem, I only have three cables at the mo, so it's
>two computers at a time and the modem.)
>
>Everyone is in the same workgroup. IPs are dynamic (I think the modem does
>this, as it only seems to work with the modem connected)). I can see the new
>computer in the workgroup from the HP, but get the 'not accessible' error
>when I try to open it. I _can't_ see the HP from the new computer.
>
>Ping:
>
>HP:
>Localhost - Yes
>HP - yes
>New - not found
>10.1.1.5 (HP) - Yes
>10.1.1.4 (new) - timed out
>
>New:
>Localhost - yes
>admin1 - timed out
>HP - couldn't find host
>10.1.1.5 (HP) - yes
>10.1.1.4 (new) - Timed out
>
>I have just realized that I have dns servers setup for the internet
>connection - could this be affecting the ping result?

>I have tried the sugestions that i have found in other posts with similar
>problems and it hasn't fixed anything.
>
>I can't access the resources (shares etc) over the network.
>
>Any ideas?

The error "access denied" / "not accessible" can have several causes.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/getting-access-denied-in-network.html>

The asymmetrical see(can't open) / can't see condition is very likely a master
browser conflict.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>

Start here if you want to diagnose the problem:
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/getting-access-denied-in-network.html#WhatToDoNow>

Hoping that the above articles (some of which I wrote today) won't duplicate
your efforts so far, I suggest you read thru them. I think you will find them
useful.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

vIQleS
07-10-2005, 01:53 AM
Kind of - It's interesting and informative, but i can't see an answer to my
specific problem - that of only one computer not participating on the
network. I think i need a list of things to check on the new computer..

I was kind of hoping that someone would have had a similar problem and know
exactly how to fix it.. :-)

"Chuck" wrote:

> On Wed, 18 May 2005 17:43:18 -0700, vIQleS <vIQleS@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>
> >I have two computers (HP, New) and a laptop (NEC), one switch (/hub), an ADSL
> >modem (/router) xp home on both computers and (I think) xp pro on the laptop.
> > I can connect the HP to the Laptop and vice versa with no problems.
> >
> >Neither the HP or the Laptop will connect to the new machine properly. All
> >three machines can connect to the internet with no problems. (all devices
> >plug into the hub inc the modem, I only have three cables at the mo, so it's
> >two computers at a time and the modem.)
> >
> >Everyone is in the same workgroup. IPs are dynamic (I think the modem does
> >this, as it only seems to work with the modem connected)). I can see the new
> >computer in the workgroup from the HP, but get the 'not accessible' error
> >when I try to open it. I _can't_ see the HP from the new computer.
> >
> >Ping:
> >
> >HP:
> >Localhost - Yes
> >HP - yes
> >New - not found
> >10.1.1.5 (HP) - Yes
> >10.1.1.4 (new) - timed out
> >
> >New:
> >Localhost - yes
> >New - timed out
> >HP - couldn't find host
> >10.1.1.5 (HP) - yes
> >10.1.1.4 (new) - Timed out
> >
> >I have just realized that I have dns servers setup for the internet
> >connection - could this be affecting the ping result?
>
> >I have tried the sugestions that i have found in other posts with similar
> >problems and it hasn't fixed anything.
> >
> >I can't access the resources (shares etc) over the network.
> >
> >Any ideas?
>
> The error "access denied" / "not accessible" can have several causes.
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/getting-access-denied-in-network.html>
>
> The asymmetrical see(can't open) / can't see condition is very likely a master
> browser conflict.
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>
>
> Start here if you want to diagnose the problem:
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/getting-access-denied-in-network.html#WhatToDoNow>
>
> Hoping that the above articles (some of which I wrote today) won't duplicate
> your efforts so far, I suggest you read thru them. I think you will find them
> useful.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:53 AM
On Thu, 19 May 2005 22:56:02 -0700, vIQleS <vIQleS@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>Kind of - It's interesting and informative, but i can't see an answer to my
>specific problem - that of only one computer not participating on the
>network. I think i need a list of things to check on the new computer..
>
>I was kind of hoping that someone would have had a similar problem and know
>exactly how to fix it.. :-)

Lots of folks have reported your problem, and this is how they fixed it.

From your earlier post:
"I can see the new computer in the workgroup from the HP, but get the 'not
accessible' error when I try to open it. I _can't_ see the HP from the new
computer."

This is a classic symptom of a browser conflict. Verify the diagnosis.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/browstat-utility-from-microsoft.html>

After you diagnose the problem, fix it.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.


Networking, XP home, '... Not accessible ...' etc