How to add new pc to the existing WorkGroup



MitsueHS
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
I am currently running a wireless network. GAteway Desktop (wired), its
printer, and a Dell laptop with wireless adapter. I use Linksys's modem and
router.
I managed to installed USB wireless G adapter in my new Dell desktop.
What I can't figure out is what's the next step to add this new Dell desktop
in the current workgroup.
Many information sources say I can do Network Setup using Window XP, but
isn't it to creat a whole new network from scratch? I mean I already have a
networking going on with one desktop and one laptop. So the following the
direction of Window XP Network Setup Wizzard doesn't seem right.
Please someone help me with this? Thank YOu very much.

Steve Winograd [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
In article <AD0C49A5-9981-493F-91F0-8FEF8BFB8B69@microsoft.com>,
"MitsueHS" <MitsueHS@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>I am currently running a wireless network. GAteway Desktop (wired), its
>printer, and a Dell laptop with wireless adapter. I use Linksys's modem and
>router.
>I managed to installed USB wireless G adapter in my new Dell desktop.
>What I can't figure out is what's the next step to add this new Dell desktop
>in the current workgroup.
>Many information sources say I can do Network Setup using Window XP, but
>isn't it to creat a whole new network from scratch? I mean I already have a
>networking going on with one desktop and one laptop. So the following the
>direction of Window XP Network Setup Wizzard doesn't seem right.
>Please someone help me with this? Thank YOu very much.

The Network Setup Wizard configures a computer to connect to a new or
existing network. Run the Wizard on the Dell desktop.

If the Wizard asks how the computer connects to the Internet, tell it
"through a residential gateway" (router). If the Wizard says that it
found a shared Internet connection, tell it to use the existing shared
Internet connection.

Specify the same workgroup name that the other computers already use.
The Wizard will make all the right settings.
--
Best Wishes,
Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)

Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com

MitsueHS
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
Many Thanks Steve! You have no idea how happy I was to see your reply there.
I was so lost. I have been reading all sorts of information, but I have NEVER
come across information on "how to expand a current network by addition of a
new pc to the workgroup."
Well, I haven't tried what you said here, but I am sure it should work. I am
too tired from staying up late reading so much so I will try the Wizzard in
the morning. Thanks Again, Steve, You were very helpful.

"Steve Winograd [MVP]" wrote:

> In article <AD0C49A5-9981-493F-91F0-8FEF8BFB8B69@microsoft.com>,
> "MitsueHS" <MitsueHS@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >I am currently running a wireless network. GAteway Desktop (wired), its
> >printer, and a Dell laptop with wireless adapter. I use Linksys's modem and
> >router.
> >I managed to installed USB wireless G adapter in my new Dell desktop.
> >What I can't figure out is what's the next step to add this new Dell desktop
> >in the current workgroup.
> >Many information sources say I can do Network Setup using Window XP, but
> >isn't it to creat a whole new network from scratch? I mean I already have a
> >networking going on with one desktop and one laptop. So the following the
> >direction of Window XP Network Setup Wizzard doesn't seem right.
> >Please someone help me with this? Thank YOu very much.
>
> The Network Setup Wizard configures a computer to connect to a new or
> existing network. Run the Wizard on the Dell desktop.
>
> If the Wizard asks how the computer connects to the Internet, tell it
> "through a residential gateway" (router). If the Wizard says that it
> found a shared Internet connection, tell it to use the existing shared
> Internet connection.
>
> Specify the same workgroup name that the other computers already use.
> The Wizard will make all the right settings.
> --
> Best Wishes,
> Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)
>
> Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
> for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
> addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.
>
> Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>

Steve Winograd [MVP]
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
In article <40948B83-64B7-4D3B-B6AB-DB47C5991A88@microsoft.com>,
"MitsueHS" <MitsueHS@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>> >I am currently running a wireless network. GAteway Desktop (wired), its
>> >printer, and a Dell laptop with wireless adapter. I use Linksys's modem and
>> >router.
>> >I managed to installed USB wireless G adapter in my new Dell desktop.
>> >What I can't figure out is what's the next step to add this new Dell desktop
>> >in the current workgroup.
>> >Many information sources say I can do Network Setup using Window XP, but
>> >isn't it to creat a whole new network from scratch? I mean I already have a
>> >networking going on with one desktop and one laptop. So the following the
>> >direction of Window XP Network Setup Wizzard doesn't seem right.
>> >Please someone help me with this? Thank YOu very much.
>>
>> The Network Setup Wizard configures a computer to connect to a new or
>> existing network. Run the Wizard on the Dell desktop.
>>
>> If the Wizard asks how the computer connects to the Internet, tell it
>> "through a residential gateway" (router). If the Wizard says that it
>> found a shared Internet connection, tell it to use the existing shared
>> Internet connection.
>>
>> Specify the same workgroup name that the other computers already use.
>> The Wizard will make all the right settings.
>
>Many Thanks Steve! You have no idea how happy I was to see your reply there.
>I was so lost. I have been reading all sorts of information, but I have NEVER
>come across information on "how to expand a current network by addition of a
>new pc to the workgroup."
>Well, I haven't tried what you said here, but I am sure it should work. I am
>too tired from staying up late reading so much so I will try the Wizzard in
>the morning. Thanks Again, Steve, You were very helpful.

You're welcome. Please post a reply after you've run the Wizard and
let us know how it went. Everything should just work. If not, I'm
sure that someone can help you solve any problems.

Do you know about XP's "System Restore" feature? It lets you take a
snapshot of the current system state before you make a change. Then,
if something goes wrong, you can undo it and return the system to the
way it was before the change. I recommend running System Restore
before every significant system change (running the Network Setup
Wizard, installing a new program, installing new hardware, etc). For
details, click Start | Help and Support and search for "System
Restore".
--
Best Wishes,
Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)

Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com

MitsueHS
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
Another question!
I have tried wireless Network set up Wizzad. Well, my question is how do I
manually set up other computers and devices after I am done with set up
wizzard on this new pc. I don't have USB flash drive, but I can get one if I
know how to use it. So I would like to know how to set up other devices like
my other desktop(wired gateway desktop pc), and lap top (wireless)
"manually," but I figured it's just too complicated for me to do at this
moment (when I am so ignorant of everything!). So would someone please
explain to me how this USB flash drive thing work?
* I Just found out my husband has one USB flash drive in his drawer so I
could use it. But please someone explain what to do with it to set up
wireless network?
I have to plug it into "wired desktop" and my wireless laptop and everything
gets done automatically? I bet NOT. What about the printer that's connected
to the wired desktop. Do I have to use this flash drive,too? How about the
router? According to XP wireless set up wizzard, when you do set up manually,
you have to do something to the router and other devices! So I suppose you
have to do the same when using USB flash drive method?
Gee, I am so lost. I can hardly stand this. I have a degree in Math for Gods
sake. SO I am not exactly an idiot, but I sure am when it comes to
networking.
Help needed. Oh, you are not going to be talking Down to me if you explain
things step by step!! I really appreciate step by step method here.
Otherwise, I have to go on posting questions over and over!!!
Thanks

"Steve Winograd [MVP]" wrote:

> In article <40948B83-64B7-4D3B-B6AB-DB47C5991A88@microsoft.com>,
> "MitsueHS" <MitsueHS@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >> >I am currently running a wireless network. GAteway Desktop (wired), its
> >> >printer, and a Dell laptop with wireless adapter. I use Linksys's modem and
> >> >router.
> >> >I managed to installed USB wireless G adapter in my new Dell desktop.
> >> >What I can't figure out is what's the next step to add this new Dell desktop
> >> >in the current workgroup.
> >> >Many information sources say I can do Network Setup using Window XP, but
> >> >isn't it to creat a whole new network from scratch? I mean I already have a
> >> >networking going on with one desktop and one laptop. So the following the
> >> >direction of Window XP Network Setup Wizzard doesn't seem right.
> >> >Please someone help me with this? Thank YOu very much.
> >>
> >> The Network Setup Wizard configures a computer to connect to a new or
> >> existing network. Run the Wizard on the Dell desktop.
> >>
> >> If the Wizard asks how the computer connects to the Internet, tell it
> >> "through a residential gateway" (router). If the Wizard says that it
> >> found a shared Internet connection, tell it to use the existing shared
> >> Internet connection.
> >>
> >> Specify the same workgroup name that the other computers already use.
> >> The Wizard will make all the right settings.
> >
> >Many Thanks Steve! You have no idea how happy I was to see your reply there.
> >I was so lost. I have been reading all sorts of information, but I have NEVER
> >come across information on "how to expand a current network by addition of a
> >new pc to the workgroup."
> >Well, I haven't tried what you said here, but I am sure it should work. I am
> >too tired from staying up late reading so much so I will try the Wizzard in
> >the morning. Thanks Again, Steve, You were very helpful.
>
> You're welcome. Please post a reply after you've run the Wizard and
> let us know how it went. Everything should just work. If not, I'm
> sure that someone can help you solve any problems.
>
> Do you know about XP's "System Restore" feature? It lets you take a
> snapshot of the current system state before you make a change. Then,
> if something goes wrong, you can undo it and return the system to the
> way it was before the change. I recommend running System Restore
> before every significant system change (running the Network Setup
> Wizard, installing a new program, installing new hardware, etc). For
> details, click Start | Help and Support and search for "System
> Restore".
> --
> Best Wishes,
> Steve Winograd, MS-MVP (Windows Networking)
>
> Please post any reply as a follow-up message in the news group
> for everyone to see. I'm sorry, but I don't answer questions
> addressed directly to me in E-mail or news groups.
>
> Microsoft Most Valuable Professional Program
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com
>


How to add new pc to the existing WorkGroup