setting up network help



mike
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
i am trying to setup a home network with a bas computer in the basement and a
laptop in my room, everytime i try and set it up the laptop is the only
thing showing up in my workgroup? and i keep going around in circles no
matter what i do ne help would be appriciated

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
On Tue, 17 May 2005 10:12:08 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>i am trying to setup a home network with a bas computer in the basement and a
>laptop in my room, everytime i try and set it up the laptop is the only
>thing showing up in my workgroup? and i keep going around in circles no
>matter what i do ne help would be appriciated

Mike,

Some details about your network would help here.

Does the laptop connect to the base computer at all? Are you running Ethernet,
or wireless? If wireless, is there a router in the basement, or just a wireless
card on the base computer?

If you have a problem with the two computers not connecting at all, this would
be a wireless problem. If the two computers are connecting, but you can't do
file sharing, that's another issue altogether.

If you put the laptop in the basement next to the base computer, do you get
better results?

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

mike
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Tue, 17 May 2005 10:12:08 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>
> >i am trying to setup a home network with a bas computer in the basement and a
> >laptop in my room, everytime i try and set it up the laptop is the only




>
> Mike,
>
> Some details about your network would help here.
>
> Does the laptop connect to the base computer at all? Are you running Ethernet,
> or wireless? If wireless, is there a router in the basement, or just a wireless
> card on the base computer?
>
> If you have a problem with the two computers not connecting at all, this would
> be a wireless problem. If the two computers are connecting, but you can't do
> file sharing, that's another issue altogether.
>
> If you put the laptop in the basement next to the base computer, do you get
> better results?
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>


i am running wireless. both computer connect with no problem and i get very
good connection while up in the room. i can share files from the laptop but i
cant seem to get my host computer which goes through a linksys router to show
up on the network.the host which has all my fiels,printer and documents

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
On Tue, 17 May 2005 12:26:02 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>
>
>"Chuck" wrote:
>
>> On Tue, 17 May 2005 10:12:08 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
>> wrote:
>>
>> >i am trying to setup a home network with a bas computer in the basement and a
>> >laptop in my room, everytime i try and set it up the laptop is the only
>
>
>
>
>>
>> Mike,
>>
>> Some details about your network would help here.
>>
>> Does the laptop connect to the base computer at all? Are you running Ethernet,
>> or wireless? If wireless, is there a router in the basement, or just a wireless
>> card on the base computer?
>>
>> If you have a problem with the two computers not connecting at all, this would
>> be a wireless problem. If the two computers are connecting, but you can't do
>> file sharing, that's another issue altogether.
>>
>> If you put the laptop in the basement next to the base computer, do you get
>> better results?
>>
>> --
>> Cheers,
>> Chuck
>> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
>> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
>> My email is AT DOT
>> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>>
>
>
>i am running wireless. both computer connect with no problem and i get very
>good connection while up in the room. i can share files from the laptop but i
>cant seem to get my host computer which goes through a linksys router to show
>up on the network.the host which has all my fiels,printer and documents

OK, if it's not a connectivity problem, then the browser is a very common cause
of problems like yours.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>

The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking about
Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305

You can download Browstat from either:
<http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
<http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>

Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the downloaded
file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a command
window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same master
browser.

For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

mike
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Tue, 17 May 2005 12:26:02 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>
> >
> >
> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >
> >> On Tue, 17 May 2005 10:12:08 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
> >> wrote:
> >>
> >> >i am trying to setup a home network with a bas computer in the basement and a
> >> >laptop in my room, everytime i try and set it up the laptop is the only
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >>
> >> Mike,
> >>
> >> Some details about your network would help here.
> >>
> >> Does the laptop connect to the base computer at all? Are you running Ethernet,
> >> or wireless? If wireless, is there a router in the basement, or just a wireless
> >> card on the base computer?
> >>
> >> If you have a problem with the two computers not connecting at all, this would
> >> be a wireless problem. If the two computers are connecting, but you can't do
> >> file sharing, that's another issue altogether.
> >>
> >> If you put the laptop in the basement next to the base computer, do you get
> >> better results?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Cheers,
> >> Chuck
> >> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> >> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> >> My email is AT DOT
> >> actual address pchuck sonic net.
> >>
> >
> >
> >i am running wireless. both computer connect with no problem and i get very
> >good connection while up in the room. i can share files from the laptop but i
> >cant seem to get my host computer which goes through a linksys router to show
> >up on the network.the host which has all my fiels,printer and documents
>
> OK, if it's not a connectivity problem, then the browser is a very common cause
> of problems like yours.
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>
>
> The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking about
> Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
>
> You can download Browstat from either:
> <http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
> <http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>
>
> Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the downloaded
> file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a command
> window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same master
> browser.
>
> For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>


i don't think its the browser i was able to shae and map my hd and doucments
on my laptop on to the host computer but i want it the other way around thats
where my problem is, when i frist set it up i was able to get my music from
the host to the laptop then i triend to set it up to print then thats where
my problems starting happening and bow i just can't get my host to show up..
and just when i think i got it i get access denied

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
On Tue, 17 May 2005 12:58:12 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>i don't think its the browser i was able to shae and map my hd and doucments
>on my laptop on to the host computer but i want it the other way around thats
>where my problem is, when i frist set it up i was able to get my music from
>the host to the laptop then i triend to set it up to print then thats where
>my problems starting happening and bow i just can't get my host to show up..
>and just when i think i got it i get access denied

Mike,

Well, it's your dime. The browser conflict will result in an "...access denied"
error. There are other cause for the message, too, but with the computers not
showing up properly in the workgroup (Network Neighborhood?), AND "access
denied", and a laptop involved, makes the browser situation a very likely start.
Read the nitecruzr article if you like.

Provide ipconfig information for each computer, as a start.
1) Start - Run - "cmd".
2) Type "ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt" into the command window.
3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
4) Open file c:\ipconfig.txt from Notepad.
5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
6) Identify operating system (by name, version, and Service Pack level) with
each ipconfig listing.
7) Please don't munge or omit any detail, as a case like yours will best be
resolved with details.

Also provide browstat information for each computer.
1) Start - Run - "cmd".
2) Type "browstat status >c:\browstat.txt" into the command window.
3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
4) Open file c:\browstat.txt from Notepad.
5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

mike
07-10-2005, 01:52 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Tue, 17 May 2005 12:58:12 -0700, "mike" <mike@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>
> >i don't think its the browser i was able to shae and map my hd and doucments
> >on my laptop on to the host computer but i want it the other way around thats
> >where my problem is, when i frist set it up i was able to get my music from
> >the host to the laptop then i triend to set it up to print then thats where
> >my problems starting happening and bow i just can't get my host to show up..
> >and just when i think i got it i get access denied
>
> Mike,
>
> Well, it's your dime. The browser conflict will result in an "...access denied"
> error. There are other cause for the message, too, but with the computers not
> showing up properly in the workgroup (Network Neighborhood?), AND "access
> denied", and a laptop involved, makes the browser situation a very likely start.
> Read the nitecruzr article if you like.
>
> Provide ipconfig information for each computer, as a start.
> 1) Start - Run - "cmd".
> 2) Type "ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt" into the command window.
> 3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
> 4) Open file c:\ipconfig.txt from Notepad.
> 5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
> 6) Identify operating system (by name, version, and Service Pack level) with
> each ipconfig listing.
> 7) Please don't munge or omit any detail, as a case like yours will best be
> resolved with details.
>
> Also provide browstat information for each computer.
> 1) Start - Run - "cmd".
> 2) Type "browstat status >c:\browstat.txt" into the command window.
> 3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
> 4) Open file c:\browstat.txt from Notepad.
> 5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>

aprriciate all your help i will give it a shot later night thanks chuck


setting up network help