window firewall



Bruce Wayne
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
I should have included in the last post, that I can't access my firewall
whatsoever!
Can anyone help me with this???
Bruce Wayne

Malke
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
Bruce Wayne wrote:

> I should have included in the last post, that I can't access my
> firewall whatsoever!
> Can anyone help me with this???
> Bruce Wayne

There really isn't enough information about your system and the problem
to give you specific answers. Here are some links that may help:

FIREWALL DEAD, or other network issues:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892350

MS antispyware tool disables Windows Firewall (or to reset firewall):
Start>Run cmd [enter]
netsh winsock reset catalog [enter]
Follow prompts and reboot.

netsh.exe firewall show config
For a more detailed listing:
netsh.exe firewall show config verbose = ENABLE

"Due to an unidentified problem, Windows cannot display Windows Firewall
settings" error, try:
Start>Run regsvr32 hnetcfg.dll [enter]

Malke
--
MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic"

Bruce Wayne
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
Thanks for the info...
I tried it and nothing is different...
After the reboot, clicking onto the Windows Firewall Icon, I get the same
error message.
Incidently, I am running XP Pro, Sp 2, 2800 athalon, 1 gig memory, 320 gigs
hd, I am not sure what else you might need...
Thanks again!
Bruce

"Malke" wrote:

> Bruce Wayne wrote:
>
> > I should have included in the last post, that I can't access my
> > firewall whatsoever!
> > Can anyone help me with this???
> > Bruce Wayne
>
> There really isn't enough information about your system and the problem
> to give you specific answers. Here are some links that may help:
>
> FIREWALL DEAD, or other network issues:
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/892350
>
> MS antispyware tool disables Windows Firewall (or to reset firewall):
> Start>Run cmd [enter]
> netsh winsock reset catalog [enter]
> Follow prompts and reboot.
>
> netsh.exe firewall show config
> For a more detailed listing:
> netsh.exe firewall show config verbose = ENABLE
>
> "Due to an unidentified problem, Windows cannot display Windows Firewall
> settings" error, try:
> Start>Run regsvr32 hnetcfg.dll [enter]
>
> Malke
> --
> MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic"
>

Malke
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
Bruce Wayne wrote:

> Thanks for the info...
> I tried it and nothing is different...
> After the reboot, clicking onto the Windows Firewall Icon, I get the
> same error message.
> Incidently, I am running XP Pro, Sp 2, 2800 athalon, 1 gig memory,
> 320 gigs hd, I am not sure what else you might need...
> Thanks again!
> Bruce
>

Tried "what"? What exactly have you done? Answer these questions:

1. Did the Windows Firewall ever work?
2. If yes, what changed between the time things worked and the time they
didn't?
3. Are you running the Beta MS AntiSpyware program?

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Bruce Wayne
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
What I did was: Start>Run regsvr32 hnetcfg.dll [enter]
I also tried: netsh.exe firewall show config
Then, I did the: regsvr32 hnetcfg.dll
rebooting after everything.
I have "Adaware" on my computer. That is the only one. Unless you consider
the Earthlink spamblocker that is on. I don't have anything else.
As far as what I done since, Nothing really, I added some Video Camcorder
software, but not much else...
the firewall did work when I first booted up the new XP Pro. I really don't
know what happened to it during the SP2 upgrade a bit later...
I really do apprieciate your help!!! Big time!
Bruce Wayne Batman

"Malke" wrote:

> Bruce Wayne wrote:
>
> > Thanks for the info...
> > I tried it and nothing is different...
> > After the reboot, clicking onto the Windows Firewall Icon, I get the
> > same error message.
> > Incidently, I am running XP Pro, Sp 2, 2800 athalon, 1 gig memory,
> > 320 gigs hd, I am not sure what else you might need...
> > Thanks again!
> > Bruce
> >
>
> Tried "what"? What exactly have you done? Answer these questions:
>
> 1. Did the Windows Firewall ever work?
> 2. If yes, what changed between the time things worked and the time they
> didn't?
> 3. Are you running the Beta MS AntiSpyware program?
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
>


window firewall