Can't see network computers



Laser
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. It has a wireless connection to my
NetGear FWG114P wireless router. From the laptop, I can connect to the
internet but cannot see any of the other computers on my network (and they
can't see the laptop. In fact the network does not show up in My Network
Places.

I have turned off all firewalls and checked the wireless connection under
<network connections> <wireless connections> the network "name" is listed
and is correct.. All computers on the network are XP Pro SP2 but the laptop
is XP Home SP2.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance



Laser

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
On Sat, 14 May 2005 12:19:24 -0700, "Laser" <laserfrk_remove_@hotmail.com>
wrote:

>I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. It has a wireless connection to my
>NetGear FWG114P wireless router. From the laptop, I can connect to the
>internet but cannot see any of the other computers on my network (and they
>can't see the laptop. In fact the network does not show up in My Network
>Places.
>
>I have turned off all firewalls and checked the wireless connection under
><network connections> <wireless connections> the network "name" is listed
>and is correct.. All computers on the network are XP Pro SP2 but the laptop
>is XP Home SP2.
>
>Any help would be appreciated.
>
>Thanks in advance
>
>
>
>Laser


The browser is a very common cause of problems like yours.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>

The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking about
Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305

You can download Browstat from either:
<http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
<http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>

Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the downloaded
file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a command
window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same master
browser.

For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Laser
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Thanks for the help, I disabled the Browser as suggested but same problem
exists.

Any other suggestions

Thanks,

Laser



"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
news:clkc81tcvag8r0lsmbhjl5p0klnnqk1cgh@4ax.com...
> On Sat, 14 May 2005 12:19:24 -0700, "Laser" <laserfrk_remove_@hotmail.com>
> wrote:
>
>>I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. It has a wireless connection to my
>>NetGear FWG114P wireless router. From the laptop, I can connect to the
>>internet but cannot see any of the other computers on my network (and they
>>can't see the laptop. In fact the network does not show up in My Network
>>Places.
>>
>>I have turned off all firewalls and checked the wireless connection under
>><network connections> <wireless connections> the network "name" is listed
>>and is correct.. All computers on the network are XP Pro SP2 but the
>>laptop
>>is XP Home SP2.
>>
>>Any help would be appreciated.
>>
>>Thanks in advance
>>
>>
>>
>>Laser
>
>
> The browser is a very common cause of problems like yours.
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>
>
> The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking
> about
> Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
>
> You can download Browstat from either:
> <http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
> <http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>
>
> Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the
> downloaded
> file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a
> command
> window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same
> master
> browser.
>
> For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from
> experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
On Sat, 14 May 2005 15:30:20 -0700, "Laser" <laserfrk_remove_@hotmail.com>
wrote:

>"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
>news:clkc81tcvag8r0lsmbhjl5p0klnnqk1cgh@4ax.com...
>> On Sat, 14 May 2005 12:19:24 -0700, "Laser" <laserfrk_remove_@hotmail.com>
>> wrote:
>>
>>>I have a Dell Inspiron 6000 laptop. It has a wireless connection to my
>>>NetGear FWG114P wireless router. From the laptop, I can connect to the
>>>internet but cannot see any of the other computers on my network (and they
>>>can't see the laptop. In fact the network does not show up in My Network
>>>Places.
>>>
>>>I have turned off all firewalls and checked the wireless connection under
>>><network connections> <wireless connections> the network "name" is listed
>>>and is correct.. All computers on the network are XP Pro SP2 but the
>>>laptop
>>>is XP Home SP2.
>>>
>>>Any help would be appreciated.
>>>
>>>Thanks in advance
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>Laser
>>
>>
>> The browser is a very common cause of problems like yours.
>> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>
>>
>> The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking
>> about
>> Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
>>
>> You can download Browstat from either:
>> <http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
>> <http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>
>>
>> Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the
>> downloaded
>> file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a
>> command
>> window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same
>> master
>> browser.
>>
>> For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
>> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
>> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
>> <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>

>Thanks for the help, I disabled the Browser as suggested but same problem
>exists.
>
>Any other suggestions
>
>Thanks,
>
>Laser

Let's start by examining your LAN.

Provide ipconfig information for each computer, as a start.
1) Start - Run - "cmd".
2) Type "ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt" into the command window.
3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
4) Open file c:\ipconfig.txt from Notepad.
5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
6) Identify operating system (by name, version, and Service Pack level) with
each ipconfig listing.
7) Please don't munge or omit any detail, as a case like yours will best be
resolved with details.

Next, install browstat (per above), and run it, again on each computer.
1) Start - Run - "cmd".
2) Type "browstat status >c:\browstat.txt" into the command window.
3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
4) Open file c:\browstat.txt from Notepad.
5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Dan~
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I had this problem once, in My Network Places, on the left under 'Network
Tasks' Click on 'View workgroup Computers' and wait a long time and keep
refreshing, eventually they will come up, if not, restart ALL pc's then try
again.

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
On Sat, 14 May 2005 18:26:02 -0700, "Dan~" <Dan@discussions.microsoft.com>
wrote:

>I had this problem once, in My Network Places, on the left under 'Network
>Tasks' Click on 'View workgroup Computers' and wait a long time and keep
>refreshing, eventually they will come up, if not, restart ALL pc's then try
>again.

That's a master browser conflict. Restart all the computers' enough times,
eventually the browsers all hopefully manage to elect just one master browser.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Laser
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Chuck & Dan

After listing at all the computers (and IP addresses) using a program called
Look At LAN., I notice that somehow the LAN had (over the course of a day)
assigned the laptop 3 different IP address. I followed Dan's suggestion and
rebooted all the computers including the router and that appears to have
worked however it still seams to take a long time for the network to be
recognized.

My question is there a way to clear all the assigned IP addresses (from a
single computer) without having to go around and rebooting every system?


Thanks for you help, you guys are awesome.

Laser




"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
news:vnad811j3lng17jjoo0b04n3ersfl4qgor@4ax.com...
> On Sat, 14 May 2005 18:26:02 -0700, "Dan~" <Dan@discussions.microsoft.com>
> wrote:
>
>>I had this problem once, in My Network Places, on the left under 'Network
>>Tasks' Click on 'View workgroup Computers' and wait a long time and keep
>>refreshing, eventually they will come up, if not, restart ALL pc's then
>>try
>>again.
>
> That's a master browser conflict. Restart all the computers' enough
> times,
> eventually the browsers all hopefully manage to elect just one master
> browser.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from
> experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.


Can't see network computers