Constantly Acquiring Network Address



Pam
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online) as
only a dsl modem.

That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is connected,
or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan connection
status is 'acquiring network address'.

I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
acquiring network address.

Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet card -
but device manager tells me that it is working fine.

Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a card
unnecessarily?

Robert L [MS-MVP]
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
assuming you have two NICs in the computer, one connecting to the dsl and another connecting to the lan, do you have DHCP in the LAN?
For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.

Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online) as
only a dsl modem.

That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is connected,
or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan connection
status is 'acquiring network address'.

I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
acquiring network address.

Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet card -
but device manager tells me that it is working fine.

Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a card
unnecessarily?

peter
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Directly connected to the versalink via ethernet or USB?
What do you mean by "lan connection"? Do you have several PCs connected into
a LAN? DSL router also use the term LAN although you may only have 1 PC. So
it is unclear what your configuration is.

The only thing "acquiring network address" means to me is a DHCP client is
trying to get an IP from a DHCP server. So if your DSL connection is working
via the ethernet, then it makes no sense, because it already has an IP. So
I'm guessing you are connecting to the versalink via USB?


"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online)
> as
> only a dsl modem.
>
> That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
> connected,
> or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
> connection
> status is 'acquiring network address'.
>
> I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> acquiring network address.
>
> Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
> card -
> but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>
> Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
> card
> unnecessarily?
>
>

Pam
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
I'll check out the how to site - but to answer your questions: no, one NIC in
the computer. Right now the only physical connections are dsl line to Westell
Versalink DSL modem/router/gateway and one computer to the
Versalink(ethernet).

The only thing I'm trying to do is access the router on 192.168.1.1 to
access the set up program. The dsl connection works fine, as I am using it
currently but when I enter 192.168.1.1 in the address bar I get page not
found.



"Robert L [MS-MVP]" wrote:

> assuming you have two NICs in the computer, one connecting to the dsl and another connecting to the lan, do you have DHCP in the LAN?
> For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.
>
> Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.
>
> "Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online) as
> only a dsl modem.
>
> That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is connected,
> or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan connection
> status is 'acquiring network address'.
>
> I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> acquiring network address.
>
> Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet card -
> but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>
> Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a card
> unnecessarily?
>
>

Pam
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
Peter, please note my response to Robert L.

I'm directly connected to versalink via ethernet.
Yes, currently it's not much of a lan - it's one computer to the versalink.
I was being quite literal in referring to what I see via control
panel/network connections - there is an entry for broadband connection
(status = connected) and an entry named Local Area Connection (Device = my
nic, status = acquiring network address where I would normally see
'Connected')

My goal configuration is Versalink used as dsl modem only. Linksys used as
gateway/router - because I will get better wireless range from the Linksys.
Need to access the Versalink set up to disable wireless and firewall.

"peter" wrote:

> Directly connected to the versalink via ethernet or USB?
> What do you mean by "lan connection"? Do you have several PCs connected into
> a LAN? DSL router also use the term LAN although you may only have 1 PC. So
> it is unclear what your configuration is.
>
> The only thing "acquiring network address" means to me is a DHCP client is
> trying to get an IP from a DHCP server. So if your DSL connection is working
> via the ethernet, then it makes no sense, because it already has an IP. So
> I'm guessing you are connecting to the versalink via USB?
>
>
> "Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> > I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> > networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online)
> > as
> > only a dsl modem.
> >
> > That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
> > connected,
> > or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
> > connection
> > status is 'acquiring network address'.
> >
> > I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> > connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> > acquiring network address.
> >
> > Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
> > card -
> > but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
> >
> > Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
> > card
> > unnecessarily?
> >
> >
>
>
>

Ross Moody
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
This may or may not be germane to your Westell modem. I have a Linksys
router and Westell modem and Bellsouth as my DSL ISP. My Westell modem must
be set to "Bridged Ethernet Configuration" mode to work properly. See
http://dslreports.com/faq/6405 . Also http://dslreports.com/faq/6323 . You
should first call either Linksys or your ISP provider to see if it applies
to you.
Ross

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online)
> as
> only a dsl modem.
>
> That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
> connected,
> or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
> connection
> status is 'acquiring network address'.
>
> I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> acquiring network address.
>
> Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
> card -
> but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>
> Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
> card
> unnecessarily?
>
>

Robert L [MS-MVP]
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
if the computer has just one NIC and you want to have the LAN, the both computers should connect to the router and router conenct to the modem. The key is both machines must be the same subnet.
For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.

Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.

Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:B921BA83-0DCA-4965-BA93-40F1C9B3A55A@microsoft.com...
I'll check out the how to site - but to answer your questions: no, one NIC in
the computer. Right now the only physical connections are dsl line to Westell
Versalink DSL modem/router/gateway and one computer to the
Versalink(ethernet).

The only thing I'm trying to do is access the router on 192.168.1.1 to
access the set up program. The dsl connection works fine, as I am using it
currently but when I enter 192.168.1.1 in the address bar I get page not
found.



"Robert L [MS-MVP]" wrote:

> assuming you have two NICs in the computer, one connecting to the dsl and another connecting to the lan, do you have DHCP in the LAN?
> For more and other information, go to http://howtonetworking.com.
>
> Don't send e-mail or reply to me except you need consulting services. Posting on MS newsgroup will benefit all readers and you may get more help.
>
> Bob Lin, MS-MVP, MCSE & CNE
> How to Setup Windows, Network, Remote Access on http://www.HowToNetworking.com
> Networking, Internet, Routing, VPN Troubleshooting on http://www.ChicagoTech.net
> This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties.
>
> "Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online) as
> only a dsl modem.
>
> That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is connected,
> or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan connection
> status is 'acquiring network address'.
>
> I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> acquiring network address.
>
> Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet card -
> but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>
> Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a card
> unnecessarily?
>
>

GTS
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
It sounds more like a damaged TCP/IP stack than a bad network card although
it wouldn't hurt to remove and reinstall the NIC driver. I suggest running
this in a command prompt (SP2 syntax) - netsh winsock reset catalog
If that fails try WinSock XP Fix from
//www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html

BTW, why do you want to chain routers? This isn't generally a good idea and
needs careful configuration. You could use a switch if you just need to add
more ports than the Versalink has.
__

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online)
> as
> only a dsl modem.
>
> That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
> connected,
> or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
> connection
> status is 'acquiring network address'.
>
> I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> acquiring network address.
>
> Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
> card -
> but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>
> Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
> card
> unnecessarily?
>
>

Pam
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
The reason is because I don't get enough range out of the versalink to cover
my house wirelessly (I haven't even attempted to add that access point to the
picture) and I thought I had to use the versalink for the dsl
connection...your question makes me rethink that assumption.

Thanks, I'll try all these things.

"GTS" wrote:

> It sounds more like a damaged TCP/IP stack than a bad network card although
> it wouldn't hurt to remove and reinstall the NIC driver. I suggest running
> this in a command prompt (SP2 syntax) - netsh winsock reset catalog
> If that fails try WinSock XP Fix from
> //www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html
>
> BTW, why do you want to chain routers? This isn't generally a good idea and
> needs careful configuration. You could use a switch if you just need to add
> more ports than the Versalink has.
> __
>
> "Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
> > I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my home
> > networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon Online)
> > as
> > only a dsl modem.
> >
> > That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
> > connected,
> > or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
> > connection
> > status is 'acquiring network address'.
> >
> > I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
> > connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
> > acquiring network address.
> >
> > Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
> > card -
> > but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
> >
> > Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
> > card
> > unnecessarily?
> >
> >
>
>
>

GTS
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
You're welcome. You do need to use the Versalink for the DSL. I didn't
notice initially that you were talking about a second wireless router (I was
thinking a wired one). Sorry if I confused you.
There are several options for extending your wireless range like a repeater.
If you want to use the wrt54g router as an additional Wireless Access Point
see http://www.ezlan.net/router_AP.html for some advice on configuration.
Good luck.
--

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:5B5CE620-CA11-43BC-8CB7-8D765083B26C@microsoft.com...
> The reason is because I don't get enough range out of the versalink to
> cover
> my house wirelessly (I haven't even attempted to add that access point to
> the
> picture) and I thought I had to use the versalink for the dsl
> connection...your question makes me rethink that assumption.
>
> Thanks, I'll try all these things.
>
> "GTS" wrote:
>
>> It sounds more like a damaged TCP/IP stack than a bad network card
>> although
>> it wouldn't hurt to remove and reinstall the NIC driver. I suggest
>> running
>> this in a command prompt (SP2 syntax) - netsh winsock reset catalog
>> If that fails try WinSock XP Fix from
>> //www.spychecker.com/program/winsockxpfix.html
>>
>> BTW, why do you want to chain routers? This isn't generally a good idea
>> and
>> needs careful configuration. You could use a switch if you just need to
>> add
>> more ports than the Versalink has.
>> __
>>
>> "Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:2F41DF8F-9E7B-4BF1-997A-5130FAB368B5@microsoft.com...
>> > I've been trying - unsuccessfully to configure Linksys wrt54g as my
>> > home
>> > networking router and using westell versalink router (from Verizon
>> > Online)
>> > as
>> > only a dsl modem.
>> >
>> > That point aside, I now have a problem where whichever router is
>> > connected,
>> > or both it doesn't matter, I do not get a lan connection. The lan
>> > connection
>> > status is 'acquiring network address'.
>> >
>> > I am currently connected directly to the versalink, linksys is not
>> > connected, dsl connection is fine and is being used, lan connection is
>> > acquiring network address.
>> >
>> > Verizon tech support thinks there is something wrong with my ethernet
>> > card -
>> > but device manager tells me that it is working fine.
>> >
>> > Can anything think of another answer before I start spending money on a
>> > card
>> > unnecessarily?
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>

peter
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
It could be that the router address is not 192.168.1.1 (perhaps it was
changed), or perhaps it is not using default port 80, in which case you need
to specify the port number (e.g. http://192.168.1.1:8080, if the port is
8080).

There is one way to find the IP. Start a command prompt, and type "ipconfig
/all". The IP for the DHCP server and/or "default gateway" should be the
same as the http server. However, I don't know how to find the port number.

"Pam" <Pam@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:B921BA83-0DCA-4965-BA93-40F1C9B3A55A@microsoft.com...
> The only thing I'm trying to do is access the router on 192.168.1.1 to
> access the set up program. The dsl connection works fine, as I am using it
> currently but when I enter 192.168.1.1 in the address bar I get page not
> found.


Constantly Acquiring Network Address