waky waky



jim
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.

I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?

Chuck
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
>connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
>bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
>its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
>
>I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?

Jim,

What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
scripted? Here's one possibility:
<http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
<http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

jim
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
Thanks chuck, I will check that out. I am using AMD's magic paket utility
v1.0.5.0

"Chuck" wrote:

> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
> >
> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
>
> Jim,
>
> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
> scripted? Here's one possibility:
> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>

jim
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
Google not much help.

"Chuck" wrote:

> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
> >
> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
>
> Jim,
>
> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
> scripted? Here's one possibility:
> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>

Chuck
07-10-2005, 02:51 AM
On Fri, 13 May 2005 08:28:06 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>"Chuck" wrote:
>
>> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>>
>> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
>> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
>> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
>> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
>> >
>> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
>>
>> Jim,
>>
>> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
>> scripted? Here's one possibility:
>> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
>> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>

>Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
>Google not much help.
>

Jim,

That's the thing about freeware. Not a lot of documentation. Just the standard
command line /? help.

C:\>wolcmd /?
Wake On Lan Command Line...

Usage: wolcmd [mac address] [ipaddress] [subnet mask] [port number]

i.e. wolcmd 009027a322fc 195.188.159.20 255.255.255.0 8900

Copyright Depicus (Brian Slack) 1966-2002

Looks like you call it from the command prompt, so it's scriptable. So just
write you a .cmd file, with one instruction, per above.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

jim
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Fri, 13 May 2005 08:28:06 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >
> >> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
> >> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
> >> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
> >> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
> >> >
> >> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
> >>
> >> Jim,
> >>
> >> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
> >> scripted? Here's one possibility:
> >> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
> >> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
>
> >Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
> >Google not much help.
> >
>
> Jim,
>
> That's the thing about freeware. Not a lot of documentation. Just the standard
> command line /? help.
>
> C:\>wolcmd /?
> Wake On Lan Command Line...
>
> Usage: wolcmd [mac address] [ipaddress] [subnet mask] [port number]
>
> i.e. wolcmd 009027a322fc 195.188.159.20 255.255.255.0 8900
>
> Copyright Depicus (Brian Slack) 1966-2002
>
> Looks like you call it from the command prompt, so it's scriptable. So just
> write you a .cmd file, with one instruction, per above.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.


Chuck, Got the help? to work. Used note pad and wrote the script as
indicated and renamed the file .cmd. Now I don't know what to do. I can't
see how you incorporate the script with wolcmd.exe.
>

Chuck
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
On Sun, 15 May 2005 17:11:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>
>
>"Chuck" wrote:
>
>> On Fri, 13 May 2005 08:28:06 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>>
>> >"Chuck" wrote:
>> >
>> >> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>> >>
>> >> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
>> >> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
>> >> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
>> >> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
>> >> >
>> >> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
>> >>
>> >> Jim,
>> >>
>> >> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
>> >> scripted? Here's one possibility:
>> >> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
>> >> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
>>
>> >Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
>> >Google not much help.
>> >
>>
>> Jim,
>>
>> That's the thing about freeware. Not a lot of documentation. Just the standard
>> command line /? help.
>>
>> C:\>wolcmd /?
>> Wake On Lan Command Line...
>>
>> Usage: wolcmd [mac address] [ipaddress] [subnet mask] [port number]
>>
>> i.e. wolcmd 009027a322fc 195.188.159.20 255.255.255.0 8900
>>
>> Copyright Depicus (Brian Slack) 1966-2002
>>
>> Looks like you call it from the command prompt, so it's scriptable. So just
>> write you a .cmd file, with one instruction, per above.

>Chuck, Got the help? to work. Used note pad and wrote the script as
>indicated and renamed the file .cmd. Now I don't know what to do. I can't
>see how you incorporate the script with wolcmd.exe.

Jim,

I'm not sure where you're confused. If the script has a line "wolcmd..." in it,
then that's all you have to do.

The question now isn't what to do, but what do you want to do?

Put the new .cmd file somewhere convenient, and set it up to be run:
1) Double click on it in Windows Explorer.
2) Create a shortcut, and put the shortcut on your desktop (or wherever).
3) Create an entry in Task Scheduler.

It's your choice. Or did I misunderstand your original question?

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

jim
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Sun, 15 May 2005 17:11:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >
> >
> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >
> >> On Fri, 13 May 2005 08:28:06 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >> >
> >> >> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >> >>
> >> >> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
> >> >> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
> >> >> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
> >> >> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
> >> >> >
> >> >> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
> >> >>
> >> >> Jim,
> >> >>
> >> >> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
> >> >> scripted? Here's one possibility:
> >> >> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
> >> >> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
> >>
> >> >Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
> >> >Google not much help.
> >> >
> >>
> >> Jim,
> >>
> >> That's the thing about freeware. Not a lot of documentation. Just the standard
> >> command line /? help.
> >>
> >> C:\>wolcmd /?
> >> Wake On Lan Command Line...
> >>
> >> Usage: wolcmd [mac address] [ipaddress] [subnet mask] [port number]
> >>
> >> i.e. wolcmd 009027a322fc 195.188.159.20 255.255.255.0 8900
> >>
> >> Copyright Depicus (Brian Slack) 1966-2002
> >>
> >> Looks like you call it from the command prompt, so it's scriptable. So just
> >> write you a .cmd file, with one instruction, per above.
>
> >Chuck, Got the help? to work. Used note pad and wrote the script as
> >indicated and renamed the file .cmd. Now I don't know what to do. I can't
> >see how you incorporate the script with wolcmd.exe.
>
> Jim,
>
> I'm not sure where you're confused. If the script has a line "wolcmd..." in it,
> then that's all you have to do.
>
> The question now isn't what to do, but what do you want to do?
>
> Put the new .cmd file somewhere convenient, and set it up to be run:
> 1) Double click on it in Windows Explorer.
> 2) Create a shortcut, and put the shortcut on your desktop (or wherever).
> 3) Create an entry in Task Scheduler.
>
> It's your choice. Or did I misunderstand your original question?
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.

Chuck, First-Thanks for the help writing my first script!!! Here is a copy
of what I wrote with the numbers changed for security.
Wolcmd 22-44-9z-t8-v4-2h 143.854.0.102 955.955.955.0 8900
There is one space between entries. I used port 8900 cuz I can't see any
reason not to. I have target rig set to wake on magic packet but no waky
with the new script. It does wake using AMD's magic paket. I have
configured my firewall to allow the outgoing packet.
SO a couple more questions. Is this a magic packet sender?
Is selecting a certain port critical?
By the way I started checking out your site. Looks like I'm going to spend
some time there. Nice.

Jim

Chuck
07-10-2005, 02:52 AM
On Mon, 16 May 2005 07:35:14 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>
>
>"Chuck" wrote:
>
>> On Sun, 15 May 2005 17:11:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>>
>> >
>> >
>> >"Chuck" wrote:
>> >
>> >> On Fri, 13 May 2005 08:28:06 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>> >>
>> >> >"Chuck" wrote:
>> >> >
>> >> >> On Thu, 12 May 2005 07:41:01 -0700, jim <jim@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>> >> >>
>> >> >> >Have lan up and running swell between 2 rigs connected by router. Router
>> >> >> >connected to cable modem. One running xp home the other xp pro. Have set in
>> >> >> >bios to wake. Can wake by using "Magic Paket" and entering mac address, but
>> >> >> >its a pain in da butt to have to enter mac address each time I want waky.
>> >> >> >
>> >> >> >I am looking for a one click way to waky other rig. Am I dreaming?
>> >> >>
>> >> >> Jim,
>> >> >>
>> >> >> What program are you using to send the magic packet? Can that program be
>> >> >> scripted? Here's one possibility:
>> >> >> <http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11041961?nav=10>, which leads to:
>> >> >> <http://freesco.fplanet.hu/download/files/wolcmd.zip>
>> >>
>> >> >Chuck, I found wolcmd and dl it. Can't figure out what to do with it.
>> >> >Google not much help.
>> >> >
>> >>
>> >> Jim,
>> >>
>> >> That's the thing about freeware. Not a lot of documentation. Just the standard
>> >> command line /? help.
>> >>
>> >> C:\>wolcmd /?
>> >> Wake On Lan Command Line...
>> >>
>> >> Usage: wolcmd [mac address] [ipaddress] [subnet mask] [port number]
>> >>
>> >> i.e. wolcmd 009027a322fc 195.188.159.20 255.255.255.0 8900
>> >>
>> >> Copyright Depicus (Brian Slack) 1966-2002
>> >>
>> >> Looks like you call it from the command prompt, so it's scriptable. So just
>> >> write you a .cmd file, with one instruction, per above.
>>
>> >Chuck, Got the help? to work. Used note pad and wrote the script as
>> >indicated and renamed the file .cmd. Now I don't know what to do. I can't
>> >see how you incorporate the script with wolcmd.exe.
>>
>> Jim,
>>
>> I'm not sure where you're confused. If the script has a line "wolcmd..." in it,
>> then that's all you have to do.
>>
>> The question now isn't what to do, but what do you want to do?
>>
>> Put the new .cmd file somewhere convenient, and set it up to be run:
>> 1) Double click on it in Windows Explorer.
>> 2) Create a shortcut, and put the shortcut on your desktop (or wherever).
>> 3) Create an entry in Task Scheduler.
>>
>> It's your choice. Or did I misunderstand your original question?
>>
>> --
>> Cheers,
>> Chuck
>> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
>> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
>> My email is AT DOT
>> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>
>Chuck, First-Thanks for the help writing my first script!!! Here is a copy
>of what I wrote with the numbers changed for security.
> Wolcmd 22-44-9z-t8-v4-2h 143.854.0.102 955.955.955.0 8900
>There is one space between entries. I used port 8900 cuz I can't see any
>reason not to. I have target rig set to wake on magic packet but no waky
>with the new script. It does wake using AMD's magic paket. I have
>configured my firewall to allow the outgoing packet.
>SO a couple more questions. Is this a magic packet sender?
>Is selecting a certain port critical?
>By the way I started checking out your site. Looks like I'm going to spend
>some time there. Nice.
>
>Jim

Jim,

From what I understand about WOL traffic is that it's Layer 2, ie MAC address,
significant. I don't know why IP address would be encouraged, let alone port #
(port number is a TCP address component, not used by all IP protocols).

Instead of editing the script over and over, try typing the command into a
command window til you get it working.

Try just "Wolcmd 22-44-9z-t8-v4-2h" first, one would hope that the MAC address
would be sufficient. Then try "Wolcmd 22449zt8v42h", as the dashes are not
actually a component of the address, just a formatting aide. Also, there's some
variation on the order of the MAC address characters that varies, IIRC, between
what displays on the network card itself, and what shows in "ipconfig".

And make sure that WOL is enabled in the BIOS, and Windows is set to "Allow this
device to bring the computer out of standby".

If that doesn't work, then try the ip address, but get the correct subnet mask
from "ipconfig /all". Your mask "955.955.955.0" is dodgy, try "255.255.255.0".

Thanks for the comments about my website - it's a work in progress. Get a
newsfeed reader for best results.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.


waky waky