Re: home network issues



Ray
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Tue, 10 May 2005 16:26:03 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >
> >
> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >
> >> On Tue, 10 May 2005 15:10:04 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >>
> >> >
> >> >
> >> >"Chuck" wrote:
> >> >
> >> >> On Tue, 10 May 2005 13:36:06 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >> >>
> >> >> >
> >> >> >
> >> >> >"Ray" wrote:
> >> >> >
> >> >> >>
> >> >> >>
> >> >> >> "Chuck" wrote:
> >> >> >>
> >> >> >> > On Tue, 10 May 2005 10:36:04 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >"Chuck" wrote:
> >> >> >> > >
> >> >> >> > >> On Mon, 9 May 2005 21:42:05 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >I have 2 home computers networked together with a router. The main most
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >powerfull computer(A) is running XP home sp2 while the old less powerfull one
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >(B) is running xp professional I can see them both in the work group but it
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >will not let me access B.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >I get this message when I try" \\Old is not accessible. you might not have
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >permission to use this resource. Contact the administrator of this server to
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >find out if you have access permisions.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >The network path was not found.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >Any ideas???
> >> >> >> > >> >> > >Ray
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > Ray,
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > The browser is a very common cause of problems like yours.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking about
> >> >> >> > >> >> > Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > You can download Browstat from either:
> >> >> >> > >> >> > <http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
> >> >> >> > >> >> > <http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the downloaded
> >> >> >> > >> >> > file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a command
> >> >> >> > >> >> > window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same master
> >> >> >> > >> >> > browser.
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
> >> >> >> > >> >> > http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
> >> >> >> > >> >> > http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
> >> >> >> > >> >> > http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
> >> >> >> > >> >> > http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
> >> >> >> > >> >> > <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
> >> >> >> > >> >> > <http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>
> >> >> >> > >> >> >
> >> >> >> > >> >> > If no help yet, provide ipconfig information for each computer, as a start.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 1) Start - Run - "cmd".
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 2) Type "ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt" into the command window.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 4) Open file c:\ipconfig.txt from Notepad.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
> >> >> >> > >> >> > 6) Identify operating system (by name, version, and Service Pack level) with
> >> >> >> > >> >> > each ipconfig listing.
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > <SNIP>
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > Ray,
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > By the other program that you couldn't get working, did you mean browstat? What
> >> >> >> > error did you get from it?
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > Let's try and enumerate your symptoms, so we can diagnose them. We may end up
> >> >> >> > coming back to browstat though.
> >> >> >> >
> >> >> >> > Take the following code (everything inside the "#####"). (Please verify
> >> >> >> > computer names and ip addresses).
> >> >> >> >
>
> <SNIP>
>
> >> >>
> >> >> >> chuck,
> >> >> >> heres the info
> >> >>
> >> >> <SNIP>
> >> >>
> >> >> >NEWNEWNEWNEWNEW
> >> >> >
> >> >> >i have run browstat on both and on the old2 computer browsing is not active
> >> >> >and the Master name cannot be determined from getadapterstatus.
> >> >> >
> >> >> >Ray
> >> >>
> >> >> Ray,
> >> >>
> >> >> So far, I see a total lack of connectivity from "MAINCOMPUTER to OLD2. It will
> >> >> be good to see the results of CDiag run on OLD2, can I expect that to be coming
> >> >> soon?
> >> >>
> >> >> Also, were you to post the results of "browstat status" run on both computers,
> >> >> your efforts would not be wasted.
> >> >>
> >> >> Do you have a personal firewall (ICF / WF, or third party) on either computer?
> >> >> If so, you need to configure them for file sharing. Firewall configurations are
> >> >> a very common cause of connectivity, (network) browser, and file sharing,
> >> >> problems. What AntiVirus product do you use?
> >> >>
> >> >> As of right now, noting ability to access the internet, I can rule out
> >> >> connectivity problems with MAINCOMPUTER. Other than that, I can't be sure.
> >> >> With suggested additional diagnostics, that may change.
> >>
> >> >Chuck,
> >> >heres the cdiag for OLD2
> >>
> >> <SNIP>
> >>
> >> >I have run browstat on both and I am not sure how to copy paste from the
> >> >command line results .
> >> >the browstat results from OLD2 is in an earlier post. I am running Norton on
> >> >OLD2 and McAfee firewall plus from maincomputer.
> >> >thanks,Ray
> >>
> >> Ray,
> >>
> >> From both computers please:
> >> 1) Start - Run - "cmd".
> >> 2) Type "browstat status >c:\browstat.txt" into the command window.
> >> 3) Open Notepad, make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
> >> 4) Open file c:\browstat.txt from Notepad.
> >> 5) Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next post.
> >>
> >> You have total lack of connectivity between the two computers (other than
> >> apparent browser enumeration one way), though neither has any problems getting
> >> to the internet. Both computers are connected thru a NAT router (make and model
> >> might help here), so both should be on a LAN.
> >>
> >> Node types Hybrid and Unknown are compatible, so "Network path not found" is not
> >> an address resolution problem. That agrees with the CDiag outputs. This almost
> >> has to be a firewall problem.
> >>
> >> Is Norton part of NIS or NPF? McAfee firewall plus is a candidate for the
> >> problem. You have to configure personal firewalls properly, or un install them,
> >> completely, using all instructions from the vendor. Norton / Symantec, and
> >> McAfee, are both known for this problem - don't believe me, check some other
> >> posts here.
> >>
> >> You say that you can see OLD2 from MAINCOMPUTER, but can't access it. How about
> >> MAINCOMPUTER from OLD2 - what symptoms there?
> >>
> >> --
> >> Cheers,
> >> Chuck
> >> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> >> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> >> My email is AT DOT
> >> actual address pchuck sonic net.
> >>
> >
> >Chuck,
> >here is the browstat from OLD2
> >
> >
> >Status for domain MSHOME on transport
> >\Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{0F018C76-4795-4BF8-BFEB-3025CE5777F1}
> > Browsing is NOT active on domain.
> > Master name cannot be determined from GetAdapterStatus.
> >
> >and from Maincomputer
> >
> >
> >
> >Status for domain MSHOME on transport
> >\Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{79197843-7FCB-4FC4-964C-2E029596B50A}
> > Browsing is NOT active on domain.
> > Master name cannot be determined from GetAdapterStatus.
> >
> >both are running through a Linksys wireless g broadband router
> >both are on a LAN
> >from OLD@ I cant even get into the workgroup Mshome it says it isnt
> >accesible and says the list of servers cannot be found
> >I am not sure of the answer toyour Norton question...
> >Ray
>
> Ray,
>
> One of the computers has to be running the browser, and both computers have to
> be properly connected, with no interfering firewalls, for you too see each
> computer from the other. The "Browsing is NOT active on domain." message on
> both computers makes this unlikely.
>
> Are you running both Client for Microsoft Networks, and File and Printer Sharing
> for Microsoft Networks (Local Area Connection - Properties), on each computer?
> Do you have shares setup on each?
>
> Are you running NetBIOS Over TCP/IP (Local Area Connection - Properties - TCP/IP
> - Properties - Advanced - WINS) on each computer?
>
> Make sure the browser service is running on one computer. Control Panel -
> Administrative Tools - Services. Verify that the Computer Browser, and the
> TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper, services both show with Status = Started. On the other
> computer, verify that the TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service, only, shows with Status
> = Started.
>
> If this doen't help, I'm going to ask that you contact me by email, so you can
> email me some attachments that are binary in nature and can't be posted here.
> We have to identify the firewalls that are causing your problems.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>
Chuck,
I followed all of the procedures you told me of and I looked at all the
firewall programs and adjusted them as I felt would help, after re booting
both computers...voila!!...a working network. I appreciate all of your
knowledge and help. I also appreciate you teaching me a little about
networking as we went along. I hope you enjoy what you do because you are
obviously good at it. If I have any more questions I hope you are available
to answer them.If you have no objections I would like to keep your email and
contact you if I need to. Thank you again,

Ray Jaramillo

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
On Wed, 11 May 2005 16:27:17 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>Chuck,
>I followed all of the procedures you told me of and I looked at all the
>firewall programs and adjusted them as I felt would help, after re booting
>both computers...voila!!...a working network. I appreciate all of your
>knowledge and help. I also appreciate you teaching me a little about
>networking as we went along. I hope you enjoy what you do because you are
>obviously good at it. If I have any more questions I hope you are available
>to answer them.If you have no objections I would like to keep your email and
>contact you if I need to. Thank you again,
>
>Ray Jaramillo

All right, Ray! That's great!

Glad that I could help. You're welcome to email me if you wish.

Any idea which changes you made that helped? What you did may be helpful to
others here.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Ray
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
"Chuck" wrote:

> On Wed, 11 May 2005 16:27:17 -0700, Ray <Ray@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:
>
> >Chuck,
> >I followed all of the procedures you told me of and I looked at all the
> >firewall programs and adjusted them as I felt would help, after re booting
> >both computers...voila!!...a working network. I appreciate all of your
> >knowledge and help. I also appreciate you teaching me a little about
> >networking as we went along. I hope you enjoy what you do because you are
> >obviously good at it. If I have any more questions I hope you are available
> >to answer them.If you have no objections I would like to keep your email and
> >contact you if I need to. Thank you again,
> >
> >Ray Jaramillo
>
> All right, Ray! That's great!
>
> Glad that I could help. You're welcome to email me if you wish.
>
> Any idea which changes you made that helped? What you did may be helpful to
> others here.
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>
I think what finally helped was the tip to go and check the browser sevice
for both computers and do this...

Make sure the browser service is running on one computer. Control Panel -
Administrative Tools - Services. Verify that the Computer Browser, and the
TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper, services both show with Status = Started. On the other
computer, verify that the TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service, only, shows with
Status
= Started.

after that I just tweaked both firewalls to make sure they knew each would
be accessing the other.

I also did this...
Are you running NetBIOS Over TCP/IP (Local Area Connection - Properties -
TCP/IP
- Properties - Advanced - WINS) on each computer?

and made sure they were both set to run NetBIOS.

that did it.
thanks again,
Ray


Re: home network issues