2 work on network, cant get 3rd to work



chole7796
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
We have 3 computers on our network, 2 have XP home, one has XP Pro. We have
successfully gotten the pro and home networked a year or so ago. We have
just added another computer to the network (XP home), went through the
wizard, had the workgroup the same.

It keeps giving us the error when we click on view workgroup computers:
Mshome is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network
resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have
access permissions. The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently
available.

I have went on all three computers, re-entered the names, etc and changed
the workgroup and it still wont work. We have turned the firewall off on all
of them and that didnt work either.

HELP!?!?!?!?! ANYONE?!?!?!?!?!

Chuck
07-10-2005, 01:51 AM
On Wed, 11 May 2005 12:56:08 -0700, chole7796
<chole7796@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

>We have 3 computers on our network, 2 have XP home, one has XP Pro. We have
>successfully gotten the pro and home networked a year or so ago. We have
>just added another computer to the network (XP home), went through the
>wizard, had the workgroup the same.
>
>It keeps giving us the error when we click on view workgroup computers:
>Mshome is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network
>resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if you have
>access permissions. The list of servers for this workgroup is not currently
>available.
>
>I have went on all three computers, re-entered the names, etc and changed
>the workgroup and it still wont work. We have turned the firewall off on all
>of them and that didnt work either.
>
>HELP!?!?!?!?! ANYONE?!?!?!?!?!

I presume that you did set all three computers up on the same workgroup?

The browser is a very common cause of problems like yours.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/04/nt-browser-or-why-cant-i-always-see.html>

The Microsoft Browstat program will show us what browsers (I'm not talking about
Internet Explorer here) you have in your domain / workgroup, at any time.
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305

You can download Browstat from either:
<http://www.dynawell.com/reskit/microsoft/win2000/browstat.zip>
<http://rescomp.stanford.edu/staff/manual/rcc/tools/browstat.zip>

Browstat is very small (40K), and needs no install. Just unzip the downloaded
file, copy browstat.exe to any folder in the Path, and run it from a command
window, by "browstat status". Make sure all computers list the same master
browser.

For more information about the browser subsystem (very intricate), see:
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188305
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=188001
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=231312
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q102878/
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winntas/deploy/prodspecs/ntbrowse.mspx>
<http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/win95/w95brows.mspx>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not necessarily a bad thing - it comes from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.


2 work on network, cant get 3rd to work