different levels of administrator accounts?



iddy
07-10-2005, 01:45 AM
Hi, I'm trying to load a program from a cd. when setup starts to run I get
an error message telling me to install from an administrator account as the
account I'm using is not authorised to make changes to files because its not
an administrator account.

There are only two user accounts set up and both are administrators. I can
create new user accounts and load other programs from both.

Are these accounts set up correctly? Are there different levels for admin
accounts?

The cd worked on another computer using XP and I also tried going into the
default administrator account through Safe Mode.

Please Help!!

(I cannot get through to the help line for the computer supplier)

Thanks
Linda

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 01:45 AM
Hi,

There should be no difference in administrator accounts. Try right-clicking
the setup file, use "run as" and enter any admin account name and password.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"iddy" <iddy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:26224B6F-C17E-43EA-93FB-CC971CADD1AC@microsoft.com...
> Hi, I'm trying to load a program from a cd. when setup starts to run I
> get
> an error message telling me to install from an administrator account as
> the
> account I'm using is not authorised to make changes to files because its
> not
> an administrator account.
>
> There are only two user accounts set up and both are administrators. I
> can
> create new user accounts and load other programs from both.
>
> Are these accounts set up correctly? Are there different levels for admin
> accounts?
>
> The cd worked on another computer using XP and I also tried going into
> the
> default administrator account through Safe Mode.
>
> Please Help!!
>
> (I cannot get through to the help line for the computer supplier)
>
> Thanks
> Linda
>

iddy
07-10-2005, 01:46 AM
Still no luck, program still tells me to install from an admin account even
though the account I'm using is an admin account

"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> There should be no difference in administrator accounts. Try right-clicking
> the setup file, use "run as" and enter any admin account name and password.
>
> --
> Best of Luck,
>
> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
> Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
> www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>
> "iddy" <iddy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:26224B6F-C17E-43EA-93FB-CC971CADD1AC@microsoft.com...
> > Hi, I'm trying to load a program from a cd. when setup starts to run I
> > get
> > an error message telling me to install from an administrator account as
> > the
> > account I'm using is not authorised to make changes to files because its
> > not
> > an administrator account.
> >
> > There are only two user accounts set up and both are administrators. I
> > can
> > create new user accounts and load other programs from both.
> >
> > Are these accounts set up correctly? Are there different levels for admin
> > accounts?
> >
> > The cd worked on another computer using XP and I also tried going into
> > the
> > default administrator account through Safe Mode.
> >
> > Please Help!!
> >
> > (I cannot get through to the help line for the computer supplier)
> >
> > Thanks
> > Linda
> >
>
>
>

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 01:46 AM
Hi,

Try using the "run as" option and literally enter "administrator" and the
password for that account. This happens often with older software.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"iddy" <iddy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C124FE89-87E3-479E-B35A-C6D5A6637E54@microsoft.com...
> Still no luck, program still tells me to install from an admin account
> even
> though the account I'm using is an admin account
>
> "Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> There should be no difference in administrator accounts. Try
>> right-clicking
>> the setup file, use "run as" and enter any admin account name and
>> password.
>>
>> --
>> Best of Luck,
>>
>> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
>> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
>> Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
>> www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
>> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>>
>> "iddy" <iddy@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:26224B6F-C17E-43EA-93FB-CC971CADD1AC@microsoft.com...
>> > Hi, I'm trying to load a program from a cd. when setup starts to run
>> > I
>> > get
>> > an error message telling me to install from an administrator account as
>> > the
>> > account I'm using is not authorised to make changes to files because
>> > its
>> > not
>> > an administrator account.
>> >
>> > There are only two user accounts set up and both are administrators. I
>> > can
>> > create new user accounts and load other programs from both.
>> >
>> > Are these accounts set up correctly? Are there different levels for
>> > admin
>> > accounts?
>> >
>> > The cd worked on another computer using XP and I also tried going into
>> > the
>> > default administrator account through Safe Mode.
>> >
>> > Please Help!!
>> >
>> > (I cannot get through to the help line for the computer supplier)
>> >
>> > Thanks
>> > Linda
>> >
>>
>>
>>


different levels of administrator accounts?