Enabling Hyperthreading



Joe Roberts
07-10-2005, 02:40 AM
I recently built a new computer, installed WinXP w/SP2 integrated. Got
the computer up and running and it would lock up randomly. After
troublshooting the problem, I found that my P4E 3.4Ghz processor was only
running at 2.8Ghz...because of a motherboard issue, and only using a
multiplier of 14 with the processor...instead of the correct 17 multiplier. I
Upgraded my motherboard (GA-8KNXP) bios, now it correctly runs at
3.4Ghz...BUT I checked to see if Hyperthreading was working correctly, and it
isn't. I enable it in my bios, but nothing.

I reinstalled WinXP, but I chose the "Upgrade" option...not a complete
wipe and reinstall because if I don't have to, I don't want to reinstall and
update all the other apps I installed. My question is...if I do a wipe and
full reinstall of Win XP will this fix the HT problem. Another question
is...is there any other way to fix this problem if a complete wipe will fix
it? ANY and ALL help is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 02:40 AM
"Joe Roberts" <JoeRoberts@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote:

> I recently built a new computer, installed WinXP w/SP2 integrated. Got
>the computer up and running and it would lock up randomly. After
>troublshooting the problem, I found that my P4E 3.4Ghz processor was only
>running at 2.8Ghz...because of a motherboard issue, and only using a
>multiplier of 14 with the processor...instead of the correct 17 multiplier. I
>Upgraded my motherboard (GA-8KNXP) bios, now it correctly runs at
>3.4Ghz...BUT I checked to see if Hyperthreading was working correctly, and it
>isn't. I enable it in my bios, but nothing.
>
> I reinstalled WinXP, but I chose the "Upgrade" option...not a complete
>wipe and reinstall because if I don't have to, I don't want to reinstall and
>update all the other apps I installed. My question is...if I do a wipe and
>full reinstall of Win XP will this fix the HT problem. Another question
>is...is there any other way to fix this problem if a complete wipe will fix
>it? ANY and ALL help is GREATLY appreciated. Thanks

First open Control Panel - System - Hardware - Device Manager. Expand
the Processors category, right-click on the entry for your processor,
and select Uninstall. Immediately shut down and restart Windows. It
should redetect the processor and configure it correctly this time.

If that doesn't resolve the issue try doing a Repair Install as per
the instructions at http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm

Good luck


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Joe Roberts
07-10-2005, 02:41 AM
"Ron Martell" wrote:

> First open Control Panel - System - Hardware - Device Manager. Expand
> the Processors category, right-click on the entry for your processor,
> and select Uninstall. Immediately shut down and restart Windows. It
> should redetect the processor and configure it correctly this time.
>
> If that doesn't resolve the issue try doing a Repair Install as per
> the instructions at http://michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
>
> Good luck
>
>
> Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
> --
> Microsoft MVP
> On-Line Help Computer Service
> http://onlinehelp.bc.ca
>
> In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
> http://aumha.org/alex.htm
>

When I open up the device manager, there is no category named as
processors...If I expand "Computer" it says MPS Uniprocessor PC... but
that's all I've found...and yes I chose to view hidden devices....doing so
actually revealed an option named NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node, with a sup
device named NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node, and it is disabled...I tried
enabling it for the hell of it, and it says the driver isn't installed, and I
cannot find the driver for it. Unless this is involved with the HT problem,
I'm not worried about it... :) Any help is always greatly appreciated. And
thank you for this suggestion. I thought I knew a lot about computers, and
that much is true...I guess I just don't know a lot about Windows XP... :oÞ

-Joe-

Chelsea
07-10-2005, 02:41 AM
Joe how did you check that hyper-threading was enabled?

System Bios?
Intel Hyperthreading Utility?
Task Manager?

Leave the hidden devices well alone-you will make things worse!


Chelsea

Joe Roberts
07-10-2005, 02:41 AM
"Chelsea" wrote:

> Joe how did you check that hyper-threading was enabled?
>
> System Bios?
> Intel Hyperthreading Utility?
> Task Manager?
>
> Leave the hidden devices well alone-you will make things worse!
>
>
> Chelsea
>
>
I checked my bios, Hyperthreading is enabled. I downloaded and used the HT
Utility from Intel, it says CPU passed, Chipset passed, bios Exclamation
point.....The task manager only shows one processor in the performance tab.
I just flashed my bios to the highest version, F13(beta) it WAS at F12... My
motherboard is a Giga-Byte GA-8KNXP Rev 1.x (I think it's 1.5, can't
remember)

frodo@theshire.org
07-10-2005, 02:42 AM
you have the uniprocessor HAL loaded; you need to make sure the bios is
setup correctly, then do a repair install to get the HAL changed to the
multiprocessor version. You may need to FORCE the HAL selection by
pressing F5 when it prompts you to press F6. I suggest you do a little
google research on this issue before proceeding. start here:

http://www.theeldergeek.com/clean_installation_of_windows_xp.htm

halfway down he talks about using the F5 method.


Enabling Hyperthreading