DOS Program



Doug Mc
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
I just switched to XP from 98SE.

I have an old DOS Program I need to run infrequently.
I tried to run it under "CMD" but it wouldn't execute.

I got the following error:
"Clipper is not recognized as in internal or external command, operable
program or batch file."

I assume that it can't find the Clipper.exe file???
What do I need to do to be able to run it?

Thanks.

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
Either type the whole path to Clipper.exe, locate Clipper.exe in
%windir%\system32 folder or add the folder that Clipper.exe is in to the
Path.

Maybe all you have to do is type Clipper.exe instead of Clipper.

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:%23ZjypZPgFHA.3616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl,
Doug Mc <DNMcNNOSPAM@ComCast.Net> hunted and pecked:
> I just switched to XP from 98SE.
>
> I have an old DOS Program I need to run infrequently.
> I tried to run it under "CMD" but it wouldn't execute.
>
> I got the following error:
> "Clipper is not recognized as in internal or external command, operable
> program or batch file."
>
> I assume that it can't find the Clipper.exe file???
> What do I need to do to be able to run it?
>
> Thanks.

Ron Martell
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
"Doug Mc" <DNMcNNOSPAM@ComCast.Net> wrote:

>I just switched to XP from 98SE.
>
>I have an old DOS Program I need to run infrequently.
>I tried to run it under "CMD" but it wouldn't execute.
>
>I got the following error:
>"Clipper is not recognized as in internal or external command, operable
>program or batch file."
>
>I assume that it can't find the Clipper.exe file???
>What do I need to do to be able to run it?
>
>Thanks.
>

The DOS app obviously needs Clipper installed (Clipper = old dBaseII
clone?)

You need to duplicate the old DOS setup with respect to the supporting
files and their locations.


Ron Martell Duncan B.C. Canada
--
Microsoft MVP
On-Line Help Computer Service
http://onlinehelp.bc.ca

In memory of a dear friend Alex Nichol MVP
http://aumha.org/alex.htm

Doug Mc
07-10-2005, 02:39 AM
I put it in the Windows folder and it worked fine.
Thanks for the solution
Doug


"Wesley Vogel" <123WVogel955@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:%23B4$FzPgFHA.3232@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Either type the whole path to Clipper.exe, locate Clipper.exe in
> %windir%\system32 folder or add the folder that Clipper.exe is in to the
> Path.
>
> Maybe all you have to do is type Clipper.exe instead of Clipper.
>
> --
> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>
> Wes
> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>
> In news:%23ZjypZPgFHA.3616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl,
> Doug Mc <DNMcNNOSPAM@ComCast.Net> hunted and pecked:
>> I just switched to XP from 98SE.
>>
>> I have an old DOS Program I need to run infrequently.
>> I tried to run it under "CMD" but it wouldn't execute.
>>
>> I got the following error:
>> "Clipper is not recognized as in internal or external command, operable
>> program or batch file."
>>
>> I assume that it can't find the Clipper.exe file???
>> What do I need to do to be able to run it?
>>
>> Thanks.
>

Wesley Vogel
07-10-2005, 02:40 AM
Doug,

Glad you got it worked out. Keep having fun. :-)

--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:OXrSrNRgFHA.3256@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl,
Doug Mc <DNMcNNOSPAM@ComCast.Net> hunted and pecked:
> I put it in the Windows folder and it worked fine.
> Thanks for the solution
> Doug
>
>
> "Wesley Vogel" <123WVogel955@comcast.net> wrote in message
> news:%23B4$FzPgFHA.3232@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> Either type the whole path to Clipper.exe, locate Clipper.exe in
>> %windir%\system32 folder or add the folder that Clipper.exe is in to the
>> Path.
>>
>> Maybe all you have to do is type Clipper.exe instead of Clipper.
>>
>> --
>> Hope this helps. Let us know.
>>
>> Wes
>> MS-MVP Windows Shell/User
>>
>> In news:%23ZjypZPgFHA.3616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl,
>> Doug Mc <DNMcNNOSPAM@ComCast.Net> hunted and pecked:
>>> I just switched to XP from 98SE.
>>>
>>> I have an old DOS Program I need to run infrequently.
>>> I tried to run it under "CMD" but it wouldn't execute.
>>>
>>> I got the following error:
>>> "Clipper is not recognized as in internal or external command, operable
>>> program or batch file."
>>>
>>> I assume that it can't find the Clipper.exe file???
>>> What do I need to do to be able to run it?
>>>
>>> Thanks.


DOS Program